Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sat May 27, 2017 8:21 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 521 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:55 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:51 pm
Posts: 118
Hi Guys,

I seem to have everything working excluding the graphs. I have a fresh install of Cacti 8.8a with the version 2.2 template in use.

For some reason, a blank graph is generated.

Any ideas?

Thanks guys


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 8:50 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:51 pm
Posts: 118
Bump :). Anyone?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Feb 28, 2013 12:31 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 443
Sorry, can't give you an answer ukzerosniper, BUT, I have got .8.8a running with the alternate advance ping from over at the script/template repository at http://docs.cacti.net/....

But now I have a question of my own... I want to set up a host template which will automatically create advanced ping graphs against certain hosts... (and, BTW, that is all for now).

But to do this I need user Graph Rules, and to do THIS I need to have a Data Query...

Now I HAVE tried searching the Forum for "Advancef Ping Data Query" only to get "Data Query" dropped from the search...

What do I have to do to either import or create a data query I can use for this?

Thanks

_________________
[size=50]No longer a n00by but[/size] not yet an 0ldby

Now Head of Technology at RSCH, back to the prickly subject of Monitorring....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2007 7:02 pm
Posts: 24
Hi, I also couldn't get any graphs. I have cacti 0.8.8a and the advanced ping alternate template.

Do someone have any ideas why?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:04 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2004 1:22 pm
Posts: 443
replying to myself...

Now know what needs to be done to create graphs automatically. Let me know if you want help - its all to do with the Autom8 plugin.

No, I don't know actually - it doesn't work... And can't work from graph ruules, unless I can associate a data query with the ALT Ping graph, which I don't think I can (unless I can make a query ask for IP address, and feed that into the data source/graph - time to ask Gandalf, methinks...)

_________________
[size=50]No longer a n00by but[/size] not yet an 0ldby

Now Head of Technology at RSCH, back to the prickly subject of Monitorring....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:41 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 5:10 am
Posts: 67
pirapp wrote:
Hi, I also couldn't get any graphs. I have cacti 0.8.8a and the advanced ping alternate template.

Do someone have any ideas why?

Thank you.


check..
php /var/www/html/scripts/ss_fping.php 192.168.0.1 20 ICMP

if error like this
PHP Fatal error: Call to undefined function posix_geteuid() in /var/www/html/scripts/ss_fping.php on line 60

install php-process
yum install php-process


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 2:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 17, 2013 9:21 am
Posts: 11
Hello i m using this graphe show my graph :

Cacti Version 0.8.8a
Cacti OS unix


Attachments:
advance_ping_exemple.jpg
advance_ping_exemple.jpg [ 178.14 KiB | Viewed 7012 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Aug 01, 2013 4:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:01 am
Posts: 41
I !

I install and use Cacti in 2008 for the last time.
I used smokeping.

Today, I find this topic/script.


The first post is not up to date.


Please, the good and last version for Cacti 8.8a is v2.2 ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2013 4:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:01 am
Posts: 41
Ok. I installed today on a fresh Cacti 0.8.8a on Ubuntu Server 11.04 without problem.

Use the v2.2 but without ss_fping.php (already included in 0.8.8 ).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 4:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:01 am
Posts: 41
hugleo wrote:
tytanick wrote:
hello i have question about this graph template.

When host is DOWN, so it has 100% packet lost.
I would like to have RED COLOR on this graph.
But result is that i have blank space (gap) when host is down, you can see that in attached image..

Could you tell what should i edit in template in order to have 100% packet lost (host down) draw as red field ?



Yes!
To draw a red line follow the steps:

1) Click on Console Tab - Templates - Graph Templates - PING - Advanced Ping v1.3 (img1.jpg -
Attachment:
img1.jpg
)

2) Click on Item # 14 - (No Task): Unknown<HR> (img2.jpg -
Attachment:
img2.jpg
)

3) Select a red color and Area to Graph Item Type (img3.jpg -
Attachment:
img3.jpg
)

That's it! (screen.jpg -
Attachment:
screen.jpg
)



Thanks for this informations!


I use Advanced Ping v2.2 on Cacti 0.8.8a.
I don't have the line "#14 (No Task): Unknown<HR>"

My Template :
http://uppix.net/Q6RM6i.png

If I add a item, I don't have LOSS UNKNOWN in the list :
Image


Please, do you know how to obtain red line when 100% is lost on v2.2?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Aug 08, 2013 4:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:01 am
Posts: 41
yreddy wrote:
Hi,

I don't have time to work on it right now but I will get to it...

However, I think the issue might be related with the "Downed Device Detection" feature of Cacti. If Cacti detects the device is down, it may decide to stop polling (including the polls related with advanced ping). I would suggest you to try the following workaround:
1) Deactivate the "Downed Device Detection" of the specific host (setting it to "None")
2) OR (to troubleshoot only) - deactivate icmp response on a specific host by using a firewall or other means. This would permit to isolate the behaviour of specific advanced ping graph and then see if it will reports red bars instead of gaps...

cheers

Yes!

I do that and now I have red.

Thank you !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 3:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2011 4:51 am
Posts: 35
what is the mathematical calculation methodology for advance ping average packet loss, maximum packet loss, minimum latency, average latency and maximum latency..

Thanks - Jit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 10:36 am
Posts: 9
There is a graph that I can't seem to understand what is happening please see attached as it appears near the 0, or even nothing is drawn, my guess is that when I get values larger than 400 ms, it gives this result. This is what I get if I run the ss_fping.php

sudo /usr/bin/php /var/www/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php 141.146.128.1 20 ICMP
min:482.7040 avg:525.1641 max:593.3310 dev:27.1681 loss:0.0000

I am using template Advanced ping v2.2

Attachment:
File comment: When values bigger than 400 it appears almost in the 0 or even no information
image1.jpg
image1.jpg [ 69.13 KiB | Viewed 5902 times ]


Thanks for your comments.

cacti version 0.8.8.a


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:19 pm
Posts: 1
Jey wrote:
hugleo wrote:
tytanick wrote:
hello i have question about this graph template.

When host is DOWN, so it has 100% packet lost.
I would like to have RED COLOR on this graph.
But result is that i have blank space (gap) when host is down, you can see that in attached image..

Could you tell what should i edit in template in order to have 100% packet lost (host down) draw as red field ?

Yes!
To draw a red line follow the steps:
1) Click on Console Tab - Templates - Graph Templates - PING - Advanced Ping v1.3 (img1.jpg - )
2) Click on Item # 14 - (No Task): Unknown<HR> (img2.jpg - )
3) Select a red color and Area to Graph Item Type (img3.jpg - )
That's it! (screen.jpg - )

Thanks for this informations!
I use Advanced Ping v2.2 on Cacti 0.8.8a.
I don't have the line "#14 (No Task): Unknown<HR>"

My Template :
http://uppix.net/Q6RM6i.png

If I add a item, I don't have LOSS UNKNOWN in the list :
Image

Please, do you know how to obtain red line when 100% is lost on v2.2?


Hi , the easiest way to actually make the '100% packet loss' work is to modify ss_fping.php script to return NULL values for $min, $avg, $max, $dev ..
to paint the unknown values with red colour is just a visual work-around, as the 100% loss is not included in the average packet loss ..

the ss_fping.php I happened to have on my server was returning this string for 100%loss : "min:U avg:U max:U dev:U loss:100.00"
those "U" values were not compatible with the graph and therefore it did not turn up in the graph nor in the overall packet loss average

for me, just to remove them works and now I can see the red bars as well as the average packet loss is correct. (return "min: avg: max: dev: loss:100.00";)

hope this helps


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: EDIT: Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6
PostPosted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 3:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 09, 2013 10:36 am
Posts: 9
guillo wrote:
There is a graph that I can't seem to understand what is happening please see attached as it appears near the 0, or even nothing is drawn, my guess is that when I get values larger than 400 ms, it gives this result. This is what I get if I run the ss_fping.php

sudo /usr/bin/php /var/www/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php 141.146.128.1 20 ICMP
min:482.7040 avg:525.1641 max:593.3310 dev:27.1681 loss:0.0000

I am using template Advanced ping v2.2

Attachment:
image1.jpg


Thanks for your comments.

cacti version 0.8.8.a


I erased graphs and created them again and the issue was gone. The problem was due to pings higher than 600 ms. You need to change and stated in this post: Maximum value > 600 and when you create the device you have to choose None in the Downed Device Detection option. Hope it helps:)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 521 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group