Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Tue Jun 27, 2017 5:26 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 2:38 pm
Posts: 23
Hello,
Trying to use the Available Printer Supply graph template to check remaining toner levels. After setting this up it is graphing, but it doesn't look like the graph is updating at all. I'm graphing 2 of our most used printers and one of these is low on toner. All 3 of these printers have been returning either -2 or -3 for about 10 days.

If I check the value using snmpget it gives me the same number -3. In the data template this is using "Get Printer Supply" the valid values are -100 to 0 so I know it's in a valid range. Can anyone tell me why this would not be updating OR if anyone has had success with the Available Printer Supply graphs?

thanks
jrohr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 5:14 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
Hello.

I don't understand my problem with the graph for "Total printed pages".
It's make some spikes and 0 value for the legend in my graph

And if I make a snmpwalk manualy, the return value is correct ! (it return the number of printed page...)

Code:
chmscacti:/var/www/cacti# snmpwalk -c public -v1 printer16 .1.3.6.1.2.1.43.10.2.1.4.1.1
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.10.2.1.4.1.1 = Counter32: 27685


help me thanks


Attachments:
File comment: huge spike
printer.JPG
printer.JPG [ 27.66 KiB | Viewed 13331 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 5:37 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Posts: 2326
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
Please read this topic.

_________________

HOWTOs :
Templates :


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 5:41 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
heu yes.. I've read... And ?? That not explain why I've huge spike on my graph no ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:41 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Posts: 2326
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
This means you had a maximum of ~ 0.0015 pages per second, which is ~ 4 pages on a 5 minutes frame.

_________________

HOWTOs :
Templates :


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:07 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
hum... And it's possible to graph the total printed page really ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:58 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Posts: 2326
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
Yes : you'll have to change the data source type from COUNTER to GAUGE.

_________________

HOWTOs :
Templates :


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:14 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
ok I try this way !

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:16 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Posts: 2326
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
You'll also have to delete the .rrd file.

_________________

HOWTOs :
Templates :


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:30 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
Must I to do it manualy ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:41 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:36 am
Posts: 2326
Location: Sophia-Antipolis, France
Yes, or you can use the RRDcleaner plugin from gandalf

_________________

HOWTOs :
Templates :


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:43 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
it's perfect !

I deleted the rrd file and change counter to gauge and now it's ok ! I see really the number total number of page printed.

What change with the pluggin RRD of gandalf ?

Another question, can I see the number of files in the queue of the printer ???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 9:12 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 8:43 am
Posts: 271
Location: California - USA
Another question, can I see the number of files in the queue of the printer ???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2008 12:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 26, 2008 10:12 am
Posts: 11
I installed this template on cacti.

Uploaded the xml document into the correct place on the cacti server, but i'm not getting any information back from any of the 3 printers. What is the best method of troubleshooting and correcting the problem? SNMP walk?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: nothing for cartdrige usage
PostPosted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 5:46 am
Posts: 34
Location: Luxembourg
Hello,

I have cacti 0.8.7.c.
graphs for network statistics and total printed pages are OK, for my HP laserjet printers.
But total and used level of ink are always to 0.

What I don't understand is that snmpwalk returns correct values:

snmpwalk -v 1 -c public myprintername .1.3.6.1.2.1.43.11.1.1 gives:
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.2.1.1 = INTEGER: 1
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.2.1.2 = INTEGER: 1
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.3.1.1 = INTEGER: 0
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.3.1.2 = INTEGER: 0
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.4.1.1 = INTEGER: 3
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.4.1.2 = INTEGER: 3
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.5.1.1 = INTEGER: 21
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.5.1.2 = INTEGER: 15
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.6.1.1 = STRING: "Black Print Cartridge HP C8543X"
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.6.1.2 = STRING: "Maintenance Kit HP 110V-C9152A, 220V-C9153A"
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.7.1.1 = INTEGER: 7
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.7.1.2 = INTEGER: 7
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.8.1.1 = INTEGER: 23000
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.8.1.2 = INTEGER: 350000
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.9.1.1 = INTEGER: 8510
SNMPv2-SMI::mib-2.43.11.1.1.9.1.2 = INTEGER: 295787

you can see that for the cartridge, total level is 23000, and remaining usage is 8510. That corresponds to what I see when accessing this printer via HTTP and displaying status: it says the tooner is at 37%. And when I divide 8510 by 23000, I obtain 0.37.

Can somebody explain why and how I can fix the template to have correct graph of tooner level ?

Any help greatly appreciated :-)
Thanks a lot


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group