Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Tue Mar 28, 2017 2:37 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 3:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:37 pm
Posts: 26
I just get an error when I run graph management in debug mode.


Code:
RRDTool Command:
/usr/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-86400 \
--end=-300 \
--title="MLode-H1 -  Volume IO - |query_index|" \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=500 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=0 \
--vertical-label="Operations" \
--slope-mode \
--font TITLE:12: \
--font AXIS:8: \
--font LEGEND:10: \
--font UNIT:8: \
AREA:#8D85F3FF:"Total IOPS"  \
GPRINT::AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s"  \
GPRINT::MAX:"max\:%8.2lf %s"  \
GPRINT::LAST:"Last\:%8.2lf %s\n"  \
LINE1:#C4FD3DFF:"Read"  \
GPRINT::AVERAGE:"      Average\:%8.2lf %s"  \
GPRINT::MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf %s"  \
GPRINT::LAST:"Last\:%8.2lf %s\n"  \
LINE1:#DE0056FF:"Writes"  \
GPRINT::AVERAGE:"    Average\:%8.2lf %s"  \
GPRINT::MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf %s"  \
GPRINT::LAST:"Last\:%8.2lf %s"
RRDTool Says:
ERROR: parameter '#8D85F3FF' does not represent a number in line AREA:#8D85F3FF:Total IOPS



Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:37 pm
Posts: 26
ok, got all that fixed up, now just an issue of not knowing what the heck to do about data input method stuff. I am trying to figure it out, but it isn't happy. Also what rights does my cacti user need on the filer?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: SNMP versions
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:47 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Mountain View, CA
I have been working on a SNMP version of Filer stats. It's nowhere near as complete as these are, but it uses SNMP for everything. It even detects the OnTAP version and changes code paths, since OnTAP 7.3+ supports SNMPv3 and has newer stats.

I'll attach it once I clean it up and take out all of the things I've hard-coded into it. For now, you can look at my public Git repository and grab what I have available from there. I'll be pushing in the other changes as time permits at work, so it'll always be the latest version.

NetApp Scripts/Templates on Git


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Performance issues
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 12:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2007 7:19 am
Posts: 5
Regarding the performance issues, you can resolve nearly all of it by modifying the perl script.

In the "netapp-ontapsdk-perf.pl" script, after change lines 321-322 to read:

Code:
$in->child_add_string("objectname", $obj_name); # line 321

if ($obj_name ne "lun") {
  $instances = NaElement->new('instances');
  $instances->child_add_string('instance', $instance_selected);

  $in->child_add($instances);
}

$counters = NaElement->new('counters');
$counters->child_add_string('counter', $counter_selected);

$in->child_add($counters);

$out = $s->invoke_elem($in); # original line 322


In the original script, it queries the netapp for all instances of an object (volume, lun, etc) and all counters for each of those instances. What the above does is limit it to just the requested counter, and if we aren't querying for a lun, only the specific instance of the object.

The reason this doesn't work with luns is because they have strange names...like "/vol/volA/lun_name.lun : AbCdXySomeThing". The script strips off everything after the ".lun", so you don't see it on the graphs, but since it's part of the lun name on the netapp, it's required if we want to query for just a single instance. Since we don't have that data, when a lun is queried, we retrieve all luns (with just the one counter we want) and search for the instance we want.

Prior to the above modification the script took about 2.1 seconds per query to run on my server (a single CPU virtual machine w/1 GB RAM running RHEL4). Afterward, it took < .2 seconds for non lun queries, and about .4 for luns.


Last edited by hitman6003 on Thu Oct 02, 2008 6:52 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 2:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:37 pm
Posts: 26
I still haven't gotten the data input method thing figured out. All the other templates I have looked at have that already set up. Or at least I didn't have to create one.


:(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2008 6:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:37 pm
Posts: 26
ok, snow I see what's going on with Data Input Methods, it is already set up. :)

But I still am getting NaN's. I acan run the script manually and get the answer, but the poller never tries to run this, just the default localhost ones.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SNMP versions
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:52 am
Posts: 1
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
wolf31o2 wrote:


This looks great, thanks for posting it. Any chance of a quick readme on what all the bits are for?

Cheers,
Adam.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 8:13 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:03 pm
Posts: 228
Sorry if this is off-topic..

hitman, thanks for the tip on performance - it helped a lot. It cut my inbound traffic by 50% and decreased my poller runtime by 25% !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 13, 2008 11:43 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:03 pm
Posts: 228
fsckedagain: Sometimes clearing the poller cache can help. Other than that, turn up the debugging output and disable all other hosts (if you can) to easily isolate what the problem could be.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:37 pm
Posts: 26
Just as a follow up, everything wasn't working basically because I am an idiot. :D

What was happening is the host never got detected. If I ran a query in debug mode by clicking "create graphs"->"run query in debug mode" it would detect the host and work fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 5:37 pm
Posts: 26
Sorry for the double post, but the numbers are nowhere near jiving with what Operation Manager is saying as far as latency goes. I think everything is off 1 digit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: graph not showing any scale information
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:48 pm
Posts: 7
I am not seeing any information (like the x-axis and y-axis scale). It just shows a graph without any data. Is there something that need to be enabled?

Thanks


Attachments:
File comment: graph
cacti.jpg
cacti.jpg [ 23.3 KiB | Viewed 13178 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 4:11 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
Is this rrdtool 1.2.28? If yes, please downgrade to 1.2.27. It's a known rrdtool issue
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SNMP versions
PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 1:47 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Mountain View, CA
adamshand wrote:
wolf31o2 wrote:


This looks great, thanks for posting it. Any chance of a quick readme on what all the bits are for?

Cheers,
Adam.


It's quite simple. Copy the things under scripts to <path_cacti>/scripts, and copy the things under script_server and snmp_queries to their directories under <path_cacti>/resource. After that, you import the templates, which I need to update with my latest changes. In fact, I need to upload some newer scripts and such, too.

I'm planning on supporting everything that I can via several methods.

- SNMPv1 for ONTAP versions prior to 7.3
- SNMPv2/v3 using 64-bit counters for 7.3 and above
- ONTAP Manage API for people who prefer it
- SMI-S Agent scripts for SMI-S software

Of course, I'm open to any help anyone wants to give, and everything I've written is released under the GPLv2. I am adding an installer script to it, and I could use some help with documentation, too. I'd like for the installer to detect the available methods and do some initial setup based on that, so it should work out of the box for everybody, and all they should need to know is the IP addresses of their Filers and the location of their Cacti installation.

_________________
My Git repository (Cacti and other stuff)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: error in graph template.
PostPosted: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 4:35 am
Posts: 3
Location: Mumbai,India
Hi,

Thanks for a good resource to monitor Netapp on Cacti. I configured it but I'm facing 1 problem with graph template when i import it. I'm getting the below error(In bold);

#######################
Graph Template
[success] NetApp - CPU % Busy [update]
[success] NetApp - NFS Ops [update]
[success] NetApp - Cache Age [update]
[success] NetApp - FCP Ops [update]
[success] NetApp - CIFS Ops [update]
[success] NetApp - HTTP Ops [update]
[success] NetApp - iSCSI Ops [update]
[success] NetApp - Disk Counts [update]
[success] NetApp - Context switches/Interrupt [update]
[success] NetApp - FCP Read/Write Bytes [update]
[success] NetApp - iSCSI Read/Write Bytes [update]
[success] Interface - Errors/Discards [update]
[success] Interface - Unicast Packets [update]
[success] Interface - Non-Unicast Packets [update]
[success] Interface - Traffic (bytes/sec) [update]
[success] Interface - Traffic (bytes/sec, Total Bandwidth) [update]
[success] Interface - Traffic (bits/sec) [update]
[success] Interface - Traffic (bits/sec, 95th Percentile) [update]
[success] Interface - Traffic (bits/sec, Total Bandwidth) [update]
[success] Interface - Traffic (bytes/sec) - 0.6.x [update]
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item) |
+ Found Dependency: (GPRINT Preset) Normal |
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item) |
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item) |
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item) |
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item) |
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item) |
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item) |
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item) |

[success] Interface - Traffic - In/Out and Errors/Discards [update]
[success] Netapp - Volumes - KByte Usage [update]
[success] Netapp - Volumes - Files [update]
[success] Netapp - Volumes - Inodes [update]
[success] Netapp - Volumes - Usage (SIS) [update]
[success] NetApp - LUN - Ops [update]
[success] NetApp - LUN - Read/Write Bytes [update]

Data Query
[success] SNMP - Interface Statistics [update]
[success] NetApp - Volumes [update]
[success] NetApp - LUNs [update]



I'm not able to get ISCSI IO , NFS Ops, etc graphs . also the volume and lun details not coming through verbose too. Please advice .


Attachments:
netapp-cacti.png
netapp-cacti.png [ 133.73 KiB | Viewed 12515 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 67 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group