Cacti (home)ForumsRepositoryDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sat Nov 22, 2014 9:01 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 8:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 12:32 am
Posts: 32
I don't think AP78xx's are as SNMP friendly as the 79xx's


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated version
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:56 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Austin, TX
Setarcos wrote:
Hi Folks,

Here is an updated version that also graphs the low threshold (helpful if you use this feature)


First, thanks for the hard work of putting this together, it's a great addition to our monitoring scheme. I do have a few comments/questions about this template, though.

From a brief look at the template it doesn't seem to know the difference between older and newer revs of the APC firmware (i.e., v1.*-v2.* and v3.*). APC changed the Powernet MIB between these versions and the newer FW doesn't support much in the .1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.4 range of the MIB (the MasterSwitch section, IIRC). The new firmware areas (supported in this template) seem to be: .1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12 (the rPDU section) which is supported in v3.* releases of the firmware.

My question is (for those folks like me who are running in a mixed FW environment): is there any hope of getting support for the earlier firmware revisions in this template?

Thanks,

-=Tom Nail


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Updated version
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 3:56 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Austin, TX
sciolist wrote:
My question is (for those folks like me who are running in a mixed FW environment): is there any hope of getting support for the earlier firmware revisions in this template?


Actually, I withdraw my request, because I'm an idiot and didn't check some return values...

sorry,

-=Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Got it working without SNMP v3...
PostPosted: Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:14 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 9:00 am
Posts: 88
Got it all working on an APC 7802 with 3.5.6 firmware without using SNMP v3. :D

Here are the SNMP v1 OIDs for an APC 7802 (probably same for other APC PDUs with same firmware):

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.3.1.1.2.1 <- Total Load (divide by 10)
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.3.1.1.2.2 <- Bank B1 Load (divide by 10)
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.3.1.1.2.3 <- Bank B2 Load (divide by 10)

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.2.1 <- Bank B1 Low Load Warning Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.2.2 <- Bank B1 Low Load Warning Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.2.3 <- Total Low Load Warning Threshold

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.3.1 <- Bank B1 Near Overload Warning Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.3.2 <- Bank B2 Near Overload Warning Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.3.3 <- Total Near Overload Warning Threshold

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.4.1 <- Bank B1 Overload Alarm Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.4.2 <- Bank B2 Overload Alarm Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.4.3 <- Total Overload Alarm Threshold


Also, I have created separate templates for Bank B1, Bank B2, and Totals if anyone is interested. These all worked for me on APC 7802s with firmware 3.5.6 running Cacti 0.8.6j on Win2k3 w/ IIS.

Hope this helps someone!


Attachments:
metered_pdu_totals.JPG
metered_pdu_totals.JPG [ 28.83 KiB | Viewed 20953 times ]
metered_pdu_bank_b2.JPG
metered_pdu_bank_b2.JPG [ 29.1 KiB | Viewed 20953 times ]
metered_pdu_bank_b1.JPG
metered_pdu_bank_b1.JPG [ 29.14 KiB | Viewed 20953 times ]
cacti_host_template_apc_metered_pdu.xml [185.8 KiB]
Downloaded 1563 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Updated Templates
PostPosted: Mon Dec 03, 2007 7:45 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 9:00 am
Posts: 88
OK, I've discovered that there are different OIDs for a "single" bank PDU (ie APC 7831) compared to "multi" bank PDU (ie APC 7802).

I've created two separate host templates for each of these models / types. I'm betting they will work for other similar models.

Firmware on network management card is 3.5.6 and firmware on the PDUs is 3.5.5.

Here are the updated OIDs:

Metered "Multi" Bank PDUs (7802)

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.3.1.1.2.1 <- Multi-Bank Total Load (divide by 10)
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.3.1.1.2.2 <- Multi-Bank B1 Load (divide by 10)
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.3.1.1.2.3 <- Multi-Bank B2 Load (divide by 10)

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.2.1 <- Multi-Bank B1 Low Load Warning Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.2.2 <- Multi-Bank B2 Low Load Warning Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.2.3 <- Multi-Bank Total Low Load Warning Threshold

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.3.1 <- Multi-Bank B1 Near Overload Warning Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.3.2 <- Multi-Bank B2 Near Overload Warning Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.3.3 <- Multi-Bank Total Near Overload Warning Threshold

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.4.1 <- Multi-Bank B1 Overload Alarm Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.4.2 <- Multi-Bank B2 Overload Alarm Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.4.1.1.4.3 <- Multi-Bank Total Overload Alarm Threshold


Metered "Single" Bank PDUs (7831)

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.3.1.1.2.1 <- Single-Bank Total Load (divide by 10)

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.2.1.1.2.1 <- Single-Bank Low Load Warning Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.2.1.1.3.1 <- Single-Bank Near Overload Warning Threshold
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.12.2.2.1.1.4.1 <- Single-Bank Overload Alarm Threshold


P.S. -- These were all queried using SNMP v1. :D


Attachments:
cacti_host_template_apc_metered_pdu_singlebank.xml [149.77 KiB]
Downloaded 1564 times
cacti_host_template_apc_metered_pdu_multibank.xml [187.7 KiB]
Downloaded 1514 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: backwards
PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:51 am
Posts: 12
I have a ap7932 and tried using this template and basically bank1 is correct it lists bank2 as (the real totals) and then the totals as bank2. I obviously switched the data source and it works now just the threshholds are off.

Version Info
Quote:
Hardware Factory

Model Number: AP7932
Serial Number: $serial
Hardware Revision: B2
Manufacture Date: 04/20/2007
MAC Address: $mac
Management Uptime: 0 Days 19 Hours 48 Minutes


Application Module

Name: rpdu
Version: v3.3.3
Date: 01/05/2007
Time: 14:56:33


APC OS (AOS)

Name: aos
Version: v3.3.4
Date: 01/05/2007
Time: 14:23:44


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: APC PDU Graphs
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 9:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 9:28 am
Posts: 5
I have a series of APC AP7932 Rack PDU's I'd like to get this template working for. I am using the cacti_host_template_apc_pdu.xml file last posted here.

I see it successfully create all the template objects, but I am a novice using an imported template. I have my devices learned by Cacti, how do I create the graphs using a host this template?

Nick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 1:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 9:28 am
Posts: 5
Used a different XML template import and everything is working great, so I had downloaded a borked template is all it seems. GREAT job on the template!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Works on AP7841...
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 2:39 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 9:00 am
Posts: 88
FYI, my templates are also working properly for a switched AP7841 PDU without modification. I'll also be trying them against a switched AP7830 PDU in the next month or two and will let everyone know how it works.

I'm going to dig around and see what other stats can be pulled from the switched PDUs...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:28 pm
Posts: 1
We have a number of APC 7951 power strips. I'd like to retrieve load for each outlet of the PDU using SNMP so that I can graph this with CACTI. In short it doesn't seem to work for me. Does anyone know whether this is a product limitation or whether it is something I am doing wrong.

The templates in this thread work fine for the overall power usage of the strip, but I want per-socket data.

The APC powernet MIB says that the OID to read is rPDUOutletStatusLoad, and that "Getting this OID will return the measured Outlet load for an Outlet Monitored Rack PDU in tenths of Amps." I am using SNMP v 1 public community to read the OID, but all outlets show 0 for this OID. So either I am doing something wrong or my PDU does not support this? I was running rpdu v3.3.1 and aos v3.3.0. I've since upgraded to rpdu v3.5.8 and aos v3.5.9 - but that didn't seem to help.

I'm starting to wonder whether I need a different model PDU.

Has anybody had any success with this model or a similar model PDU from APC?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:31 pm
Posts: 1
Hi Guys,

I am trying to use the cacti_host_template_apc_metered_pdu_singlebank.xml template with an AP7930 but have not had any luck.

I get the following error in debug. Any ideas to help me out?

RRDTool Command:

/usr/local/rrdtool-1.3.6/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-86400 \
--end=-300 \
--title="XX.XX.XX.XX - Metered PDU Single-Bank Totals" \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=500 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=0 \
--vertical-label="Amps" \
--slope-mode \
--font TITLE:12: \
--font AXIS:8: \
--font LEGEND:10: \
--font UNIT:8: \
CDEF:cdefa=a,10,/ \
AREA:cdefa#00FF00FF:"Total Load" \
GPRINT:cdefa:LAST:"Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefa:MIN:"Min\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefa:MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefa:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE3:#FF3932FF:"Total Overload Alarm Threshold\:" \
GPRINT::LAST:"%8.0lf\n" \
LINE3:#F5F800FF:"Total Near Overload Warning Threshold\:" \
GPRINT::LAST:"%8.0lf\n" \
LINE3:#4444FFFF:"Total Low Load Warning Threshold\:" \
GPRINT::LAST:"%8.0lf\n"
RRDTool Says:

ERROR: invalid rpn expression in: a,10,/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 11:24 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 389
Location: Bristol, England
Hi

I have successfully tested siouxee single bank pdu templates against a AP7954 running following versions

Module Information

Description : Rack PDU APP
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Name : rpdu Type : StatApp
Version : 273 Sector : 12
Date : 11/07/2005 Time : 15:06:39
CRC16 : 5A4A

Press <ENTER> to continue...

Description : Network Management Card AOS
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Name : aos Type : APC OS
Version : 270 Sector : 51
Date : 10/12/2005 Time : 16:08:57
CRC16 : E0DC


Now need to manually create templates for my production box and test against the rest of my PDU's.

Cheers

Jay

_________________
Cacti Version 0.8.7e, Spine 0.8.7e, Apache 2.2.15, Mysql 5.0.88, PHP 5.2.13, RRDTool 1.2.30, NET-SNMP 5.5
Quad Core AMD Opteron Processor 2384, 2.70Ghz, 2GB RAM , 1 CPU used
Windows Server 2003 (X64), VMWARE ESX
Plugins: Aggregate 0.75

SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5140 Method:spine Processes:2 Threads:15 Hosts:400 HostsPerProcess:200 DataSources:2909 RRDsProcessed:1384


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 11:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 5:51 am
Posts: 18
Location: London, UK
The Host Template worked for me for our APC 7921s - but only after I changed the Graph Template to use CF type of Average for all the LINE3 items. apc_overload_level was set to LAST and it threw an error.

Working very nicely thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 8:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 1:54 am
Posts: 5
Hi.
Seems like my APC 7953 whon't work :(
I can get information via SNMP, but there are no graphs displayed.
I think the OID's are wrong.
Using MB:v3.9.2 PF:v3.7.0 AF1:v3.7.0 MN:AP7953

Any clues?

Kind Regards
M


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:10 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 389
Location: Bristol, England
Hi

Do you get any output back when you run the oid's that are used in each data query? If no then its the oids that are the problem. I'm sure there were various templates posted in here so maybe one of the earlier/newer ones will work for you. If the oids do work then it might be the graph template thats causing issues. Go through them one by one and make sure there aren't any errors. Someone above reported issues when using last as a cf type and changing it to average resolved his graphing issues.

Also post debug of one of the problematic graph templates.

Jay

_________________
Cacti Version 0.8.7e, Spine 0.8.7e, Apache 2.2.15, Mysql 5.0.88, PHP 5.2.13, RRDTool 1.2.30, NET-SNMP 5.5
Quad Core AMD Opteron Processor 2384, 2.70Ghz, 2GB RAM , 1 CPU used
Windows Server 2003 (X64), VMWARE ESX
Plugins: Aggregate 0.75

SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5140 Method:spine Processes:2 Threads:15 Hosts:400 HostsPerProcess:200 DataSources:2909 RRDsProcessed:1384


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group