Cacti (home)ForumsRepositoryDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:49 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: MacTrack not polling
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 2:54 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Portland, Or
I have the MAC Track plugin installed and configured. I had run the poller manually to get data into the database for testing. I have configured the MAC Track plugin to run the poller every 1 hour. But it has not run since I ran them manually.

Can someone help me?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 10:53 am
Posts: 11
when I have had similar problems it has been after upgrading and not double checking permissions, or executable flags. Could you send some lines from you cacti.log?

Check that cmd.php is set to executable and that your web service account has appropriate permissions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 3:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:10 am
Posts: 9
I'm having the same problem.. everything is running fine except mactrack


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:28 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14862
Location: MI, USA
What happens when your run the following:

php -q poller_mackrack.php -f

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2007 2:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2007 9:10 am
Posts: 9
the witness...heres my output

net-mgmt# php -q poller_mactrack.php -f
07/16/2007 03:14:30 PM - SYSTEM MACTRACK STATS: Time:8.2849 ConcurrentProcesses:7 Devices:1


is that normal? sometimes i would an error saying Cacti[1281]: CMDPHP : ERROR: Can not start MAC trackinging process. there is already one in progress


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2007 12:50 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14862
Location: MI, USA
Are you forcing as the cactiuser or some other user? Could be that there is one, in fact, already running but due to other reasons is not populating data.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 5:27 am
Posts: 15
i have the same probelm:

[root@localhost mactrack]# php -q poller_mactrack.php -f
No log handling enabled - turning on stderr logging
Cannot find module (DISMAN-EVENT-MIB): At line 0 in (none)



?_?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:15 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:24 pm
Posts: 59
Location: Portland, Or
Sorry for the late response Larry, Here is my output

php -q poller_mactrack.php -f
08/17/2007 08:14:22 AM - SYSTEM MACTRACK STATS: Time:26.6643 ConcurrentProcesses:7 Devices:8


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: MAC-Track doesnt poll => device_type_id
PostPosted: Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:07 am
Posts: 19
Location: Munich
same problem with MAC-track v1.1

If you take a look at table `mac_track_devices` you will see at `last_runmessage`:
WARNING: Device Type Not Found in Device Type Tabl...

field `device_type_id` is set to 0 for each device, if you setup the devices
by GUI, but there is no device_type with id 0.

After fixing this to a valid device_type_id via SQL commands, the problem still exists with same message.

If you edit or add a device for Tracking from the GUI, than you cant specify the device_type but the scan_type and I think this wasnt intented, because scan_type is already referencing to scan_type via the device_types.

Guess there is something wrong with Device - Device_type - ScanType association in the mactrack code.

Would be nice to get a bugfix :P

Steffen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2009 6:25 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14862
Location: MI, USA
That issue is old. I suspect that if you use the 2.0 stuff in SVN right now, you might be ok. Make a backup of your plugin directory and the database before hand. Don't forget to use the database_upgrade.php script.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group