Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Tue May 30, 2017 6:18 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: are Mikrotik Routers supported by Mactrack
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:54 pm
Posts: 4
is Mactrack able to extract IP and Mac Address from Mikrotik Routers



Cheers
Lloyd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: are Mikrotik Routers supported by Mactrack
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 7:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:54 pm
Posts: 4
Hi,
I have 8 sites with the Same Mikrotik routers, All the same firmware.
One of the Routers correctly reports MAC addresses and IPs the other 7 do not.

The routers all have the same SNMP settings (checked this about 100 times)
The other 7 sites will report the number of IPs but not MAC and the IP data will not appear in the MacTrack reports.

Any suggestions on where to start to debug this?

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: are Mikrotik Routers supported by Mactrack
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 8:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:54 pm
Posts: 4
I have been trying to isolate this a bit more..
running mactrack_scanner.php with debug


The Router which is reporting correctly....
shows all the Mac Address

php /var/www/cacti/plugins/mactrack/mactrack_scanner.php -id=26 -d

<snip>
INFO: HOST: 192.168.88.1, TYPE: RouterOS RB1200, TOTAL PORTS: 10, OPER PORTS: 3
DEBUG: Port number information collected.
DEBUG: INDEX: '0' MAC ADDRESS: 00:04:F2:14:02:F3
...
DEBUG: INDEX: '24' MAC ADDRESS: F0:79:59:3E:16:E9
DEBUG: Port mac address information collected.
DEBUG: Scanning function is 'get_standard_arp_table'

The Router which does not report MAC address details...
php /var/www/cacti/plugins/mactrack/mactrack_scanner.php -id=30 -d

<snip>
INFO: HOST: 10.1.100.1, TYPE: RouterOS RB1100AHx2, TOTAL PORTS: 13, OPER PORTS: 12
DEBUG: Port number information collected.
DEBUG: No user ports on this network.
DEBUG: Scanning function is 'get_standard_arp_table'


So looks like the way the Routers have been setup?

suggestion welcome

Lloyde


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: are Mikrotik Routers supported by Mactrack
PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2015 9:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:54 pm
Posts: 4
OK so this is starting to make some sense now.

MacTrack does not report on Trunks, only user Ports.

The Router that is returning correct data has no managed switches at the site.
The other sites all have HP V1910-48G Switches

So it turns out the switch it the problem.
DEBUG: No user ports on this network.

the adventure continues.

Lloyd


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kubix42 and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group