Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Mon Apr 24, 2017 2:05 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How do you add devices to mactrack?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2015 2:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 12:31 pm
Posts: 7
I have the following under mactrack: sites, devices, ip ranges, ip addresses, mac addresses, interfaces and graphs. All of these tabs appear to be for viewing rather than administration, though. My user has the following realm permissions: plugin --> mactrack viewer, plugin --> mactrack administrator and plugin --> mactrack security. I must be missing something simple, but for the life of me cant spot it. Any help would be appreciated. (using mactrack 2.9, PIA 3.1 and Cacti 0.8.8b)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you add devices to mactrack?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 3:30 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 9:25 pm
Posts: 53
Console->Device Tracking->Devices - create a device
Console->Device Tracking->Device Types - create device type (devices of unknown types shouldn't work)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you add devices to mactrack?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2015 12:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 12:31 pm
Posts: 7
I knew it had to be something obvious, didn't think it'd be THAT obvious, though. :) Are there steps that need to be taken in order to have active macs and total ips populated? I've added devices and they appear to be successfully polling (user ports and user ports up are populated) but nothing on the mac & IP fronts.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you add devices to mactrack?
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 11:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 12:31 pm
Posts: 7
Running from command line returns the following:
Code:
# php /var/www/html/cacti/plugins/mactrack/mactrack_scanner.php  -id=1 -d
DEBUG: HOST: 192.168.32.254 is alive, processing has begun.
DEBUG: Scanning function is 'get_3Com_dot1dTpFdbEntry_ports'
DEBUG: ifIndexes data collection complete
DEBUG: ifIndexes data collection complete. '60' rows found!
DEBUG: ifTypes data collection complete. '60' rows found!
DEBUG: ifNames data collection complete. '60' rows found!
DEBUG: ipAddrTable scanning for link ports data collection complete. '1' rows found!
DEBUG: ifSpeed data collection complete. '60' rows found!
DEBUG: ifHighSpeed data collection complete. '60' rows found!
DEBUG: ifDuplex data collection complete. '52' rows found!
DEBUG: ifDescr data collection complete. '60' rows found!
DEBUG: ifMtu data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifPhysAddress data collection complete. '60' rows found!
DEBUG: ifAdminStatus data collection complete. '60' rows found!
DEBUG: ifOperStatus data collection complete. '60' rows found!
DEBUG: ifLastChange data collection complete. '60' rows found!
DEBUG: ifInOctets data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifOutOctets data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifInNUcastPkts data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifOutNUcastPkts data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifInUcastPkts data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifOutUcastPkts data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifInDiscards data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifInErrors data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifInUnknownProtos data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifOutDiscards data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifOutErrors data collection complete. '58' rows found!
DEBUG: ifInterfaces assembly complete: 28653
DEBUG: Adding IfInterfaces Records
INFO: HOST: 192.168.32.254, TYPE: Cisco IOS Software, C3750 Software (C375, TOTAL PORTS: 52, OPER PORTS: 23
DEBUG: Port number information collected.
DEBUG: No user ports on this network.
DEBUG: Scanning function is 'get_CTAlias_table'
DEBUG: FUNCTION: get_CTAlias_table started
DEBUG: CTAliasInterfaces data collection complete: 0
DEBUG: CTAliasMacAddress data collection complete: 0
DEBUG: CTAliasProtocol data collection complete: 0
DEBUG: CTAliasAddressText data collection complete: 0
DEBUG: CTAliasEntries assembly complete: 0
DEBUG: HOST: 192.168.32.254, IP address information collection complete: 0


In the webui I see the following:


Attachments:
screen.png
screen.png [ 12.72 KiB | Viewed 2307 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How do you add devices to mactrack?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:48 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 9:25 pm
Posts: 53
Sorry for late answer. I was in vacation.

When defining a device type, you should select appropriate scanning functions for your equipment, not the first function in a list. For Cisco you should try get_IOS_dot1dTpFdbEntryPorts and get_standard_arp_table.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group