Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 10:39 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Data sources not shown on WP link properties
PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:13 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:00 pm
Posts: 72
Hey there,

I'm not sure if this suppose to work or not..

I added 2 data sources from externally updated rrd files to an existing host. That's ok. I can see them on the Graph Tree but when I want to pick them up and attach them to a link they are not shown.

I know I can simply specify the DS manually but I would expected to be able to select them.

cacti v0.8.8h
wp 0.98


Attachments:
External RRD 1.png
External RRD 1.png [ 89.47 KiB | Viewed 938 times ]
External RRD 2.png
External RRD 2.png [ 12.96 KiB | Viewed 939 times ]

_________________
Cacti - 0.8.8h
Poller Type - CMD
Weathermap 0.98a
Server Info - Linux 3.10.0 - Centos 6
Web Server - Apache/2.4.6 PHP 5.4.16
MySQL - 5.5 ;RRDTool - 1.4.8 ;SNMP - 5.7.2
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data sources not shown on WP link properties
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 3:48 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Posts: 5111
Location: United Kingdom
I wouldn't expect it to. It's looking in the data source part of the cacti database - your graph isn't updated by Cacti, so it doesn't have any attached data sources.

_________________
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 0.2. Superlinks is over there now.
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data sources not shown on WP link properties
PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 6:21 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:00 pm
Posts: 72
Howie wrote:
I wouldn't expect it to. It's looking in the data source part of the cacti database - your graph isn't updated by Cacti, so it doesn't have any attached data sources.


I don't quite understand the issue.

Cacti is graphing these 2 externally updated RRD files. Those data sources are defined in cacti because other way I wouldn't graph it. it has to be somewhere in the database.

I understand if wp does not like it, just asking to know what to expect.


Attachments:
External RRD 4.png
External RRD 4.png [ 21.15 KiB | Viewed 854 times ]
External RRD 3.png
External RRD 3.png [ 28.36 KiB | Viewed 854 times ]

_________________
Cacti - 0.8.8h
Poller Type - CMD
Weathermap 0.98a
Server Info - Linux 3.10.0 - Centos 6
Web Server - Apache/2.4.6 PHP 5.4.16
MySQL - 5.5 ;RRDTool - 1.4.8 ;SNMP - 5.7.2
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data sources not shown on WP link properties
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:04 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Posts: 5111
Location: United Kingdom
I don't honestly know how you add external rrd files to Cacti, so I can't comment in detail.

BUT, the weathermap picker is looking in the specific table where all the Cacti-generated datasources reside. I assume that external sources like this are handled differently.

At some point, the picker will also allow you to pick from rrd files directly (for non-Cacti users), and that would also work for this situation though.

_________________
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 0.2. Superlinks is over there now.
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data sources not shown on WP link properties
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:14 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Posts: 5111
Location: United Kingdom
Looking at the picker query, it may also be that the external sources aren't associated with a Data Template?

_________________
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 0.2. Superlinks is over there now.
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data sources not shown on WP link properties
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 2:53 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:00 pm
Posts: 72
Howie wrote:
Looking at the picker query, it may also be that the external sources aren't associated with a Data Template?


Yes, they are. That's the only way I could tell cacti about the DS name on those RRD files. But as you said, probably cacti doesn't treat them the same way.

Anyway, my hopes were there, if I can't pick them up from wp I won't waste my time to load thousands of these external sources to cacti.

Thanks for your answer.


Attachments:
External RRD 5.png
External RRD 5.png [ 37.07 KiB | Viewed 766 times ]

_________________
Cacti - 0.8.8h
Poller Type - CMD
Weathermap 0.98a
Server Info - Linux 3.10.0 - Centos 6
Web Server - Apache/2.4.6 PHP 5.4.16
MySQL - 5.5 ;RRDTool - 1.4.8 ;SNMP - 5.7.2
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data sources not shown on WP link properties
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:23 pm 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Posts: 5111
Location: United Kingdom
Can you point me at some details of how you are adding these? I don't mind spending a little while trying to reproduce this...

_________________
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 0.2. Superlinks is over there now.
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data sources not shown on WP link properties
PostPosted: Wed Oct 05, 2016 6:25 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:00 pm
Posts: 72
Howie wrote:
Can you point me at some details of how you are adding these? I don't mind spending a little while trying to reproduce this...


Yes, sure! Be patient and use your imagination, my english is not as good as yours hehe

Context

Cacti and Munin are running on the same box. I've got around 70 firewalls which don't run snmp so they are being monitored by Munin. That's why I can't poll them from cacti.
Munin's RRD files are on the same box, so it's not big deal to access them.

Then I'm basically following this procedure: [HOWTO] Use externally updated rrd files + BONUS TRACK

All these firewall are already on Cacti just with an advance ping attached to them to be able to use them on wheathermaps as reference.

I created 2 Data Template, one for inbound traffic and one for outbound traffic. That is because munin split the traffic in two different files and the DS name is called the same (42). See attached picture "Data Templates.png". I'm not sure but if the DS name is the same they couldn't be under the same Data template, that's why I made 2.

Then I created Graph Template, see attached cacti_graph_template_munin_interface_traffic.xml

Then I grabbed a firewall, and manually created 2 data sources for 1 interface traffic (remember Munin uses 2 different rrd files). See attached "Host Data Sources.png"

And finally you can create the graph for it with those two data sources. See attached "Host Interface Graph".

Does that make sense to you?

I've been playing with weathermap adding a few by hand, specifying 2 DS targets but I was looking forward to do it this way Add DS and Graphs from CLI (0.8.8h)
Because that way I could do the job once and get the benefits on weathermap as well. If somehow i find out how to add all of these graphs to cacti but I can't pick them from weathermap is worthless.

Don't hesitate to ask any more details.

Cheers!


Attachments:
Host Interface Graph.png
Host Interface Graph.png [ 48.97 KiB | Viewed 750 times ]
Host Data sources.png
Host Data sources.png [ 50.42 KiB | Viewed 750 times ]
Data Template.png
Data Template.png [ 56.57 KiB | Viewed 750 times ]

_________________
Cacti - 0.8.8h
Poller Type - CMD
Weathermap 0.98a
Server Info - Linux 3.10.0 - Centos 6
Web Server - Apache/2.4.6 PHP 5.4.16
MySQL - 5.5 ;RRDTool - 1.4.8 ;SNMP - 5.7.2
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data sources not shown on WP link properties
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 2:14 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2004 5:53 am
Posts: 5111
Location: United Kingdom
OK, I'll try to take a look this weekend, to recreate the same situation in my test database. Maybe it's a small tweak for the SQL to choose datasources.

But what you really want is something to pick data sources from Munin though, right? :-)

(also, your English is very good - don't worry about it)

_________________
Weathermap 0.98 is out! & QuickTree 0.2. Superlinks is over there now.
Some Other Cacti tweaks, including strip-graphs, icons and snmp/netflow stuff.
(Let me know if you have UK DevOps or Network Ops opportunities, too!)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Data sources not shown on WP link properties
PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 2:34 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2016 8:00 pm
Posts: 72
Thanks for your time!

You are right, something to pick data sources from Munin will do it but...I couldn't find anything out there, same for mrtg. It looks like everyone gave up hahaha

My main concern is wp because is my only chance of getting real monitoring graphs. To me cacti is a plugin for weathermap hehe

If you find any tweak I'm happy to test it :D

_________________
Cacti - 0.8.8h
Poller Type - CMD
Weathermap 0.98a
Server Info - Linux 3.10.0 - Centos 6
Web Server - Apache/2.4.6 PHP 5.4.16
MySQL - 5.5 ;RRDTool - 1.4.8 ;SNMP - 5.7.2


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group