Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Wed Apr 26, 2017 3:14 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 6:38 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:43 pm
Posts: 276
Location: Melbourne, Australia
I've just got a couple of questions. What is the difference between using this plugin and setting a hard limit on the graph size (the max limit?) Is it because you may want to allow the data to reach that level on occasion but some times the data may reach that level due to a spike?

My other question is, is it possible to have the plugin run every time a poll is done?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:56 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
It's essentially a way to correct for a misbehaving data point.

Relative to your other question:

Code:
find <path_cacti>/rra -name \*.rrd -exec php -q spikekill.php ... {} \;


Done.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 12:09 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:43 pm
Posts: 276
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Thanks for the quick reply Witness. So with that command that you gave me, I assume that I'd need to put that in a cron job along with Cacti's poller?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:27 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
Of course. Make sure you know what you are doing though...

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:37 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:43 pm
Posts: 276
Location: Melbourne, Australia
TheWitness wrote:
Make sure you know what you are doing though...


lol that's what I'm worried about. My knowledge of cron is not the best so I do not know if it is possible to ensure that one job runs before the other, but if there isn't, I assume it would not be a good thing if Spike Killer ran while the poller was running at the same time?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 9:38 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
It would be better to run as a small plugin directly after the poller runs.

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 10:00 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:43 pm
Posts: 276
Location: Melbourne, Australia
TheWitness wrote:
It would be better to run as a small plugin directly after the poller runs.


As risk of sounding annoying (which I fear I did long ago), how do I do that?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Issue with RRDtool 1.4 ?
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 1:22 pm 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:45 am
Posts: 55
Location: Paris suburbs, France
Hello,

(Not sure if I should open a new thread or continue here... just let me know.)

I've just upgraded two cacti servers to 0.8.7g (official source) + PIA 2.8 + last patches released on July 27th + rrdtool 1.4 on Debian Lenny/Squeeze and KillSpike doesn't work anymore. It seems it doesn't find RRDtool :

Image

Does someone have it working correctly with RRDtool 1.4 ?

Thx

_________________
Cacti 0.8.8b + spine 0.8.8b
on Debian / Apache 2.2 / PHP 5.2 / MySQL 5.0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 28, 2010 3:35 pm 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:45 am
Posts: 55
Location: Paris suburbs, France
=> Issue solved using the very latest version aka v1.1 not official (?)...

_________________
Cacti 0.8.8b + spine 0.8.8b
on Debian / Apache 2.2 / PHP 5.2 / MySQL 5.0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:41 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:03 pm
Posts: 231
@Voiper99

You probably shouldn't be running this type of thing out of cron. If you have a graph that is constantly being littered with spikes, you should set a maximum value on the data source which the graph relies upon. This way the errant data is never even captured by RRD. This is more for those of us who *forgot* to set a logical maximum on a data source and have to go back and fix it!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 9:46 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
GLR wrote:
=> Issue solved using the very latest version aka v1.1 not official (?)...


I guess I should make it. I'm loosing touch :-? There are now too many plugins to manage. Not only the open, but the less open ones.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Custom config parameters ?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 4:20 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 5:45 am
Posts: 55
Location: Paris suburbs, France
Hello,

Is there a way to provide spikekiller custom settings ? They are spikes, I am not able to flatten !

For ex. in Cacti global config file ?

Code:
$spikekill_method = 1;
$spikekill_number = 10;
$spikekill_deviations = 10;
$spikekill_percent = 400;
$spikekill_outliers = 5;

_________________
Cacti 0.8.8b + spine 0.8.8b
on Debian / Apache 2.2 / PHP 5.2 / MySQL 5.0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:32 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
The cli is much more versitile. It not on my list of things to do right now to make any enhancements. But if log an RFC in the bug database i will eventually get to it.

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spikekill 1.0 - Released
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 1:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 4:05 am
Posts: 39
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
For spikekill i have this settings

Attachment:
spikekill_settings.jpg
spikekill_settings.jpg [ 41.24 KiB | Viewed 5049 times ]


and this results

Attachment:
spikekill_error.jpg
spikekill_error.jpg [ 106 KiB | Viewed 5049 times ]


i have \rra\BCK\ directory and write permission on it but still this error. Perhaps the path is not right despite it being green?

_________________
Server: IBM x3650 M3, 1 XEON CPU 3.0 GHz, 4 Core, 8GB RAM,
OS: Suse Linux 11.4 x64
Apache 2.x
MySQL 5.x
PHP 5.x
Plugins: DSStats, Settings, NMID Cereus Reporting, Spikekill
Install Date: May, 2011

Wed, 19 Oct 2011 13:46:36 +0200
Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Cacti OS unix
SNMP Version NET-SNMP version: 5.6.1
RRDTool Version RRDTool 1.4.x
Hosts 57
Graphs 716
Data Sources Script/Command: 15
SNMP: 166
SNMP Query: 310
Script Query: 4
Script - Script Server (PHP): 46
Script Query - Script Server: 319
Total: 860

Last Run Statistics Time:97.9035 Method:cmd.php Processes:10 Threads:N/A Hosts:58 HostsPerProcess:6 DataSources:3040 RRDsProcessed:860


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Spikekill 1.0 - Released
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:11 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
Use the full path and not just BAK.

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: phalek and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group