Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sun May 28, 2017 5:18 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 151 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 37
That worked! Thanks for your help.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 9:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 37
After further review it fixed the strange multiple values in the drop down but there's a problem when I select logs with a specific Priority. When I do so the result doesn't display correct logs; the priority isn't correct. Here are the screens:


Attachments:
ss2.png
ss2.png [ 34.71 KiB | Viewed 5901 times ]
ss1.png
ss1.png [ 29.72 KiB | Viewed 5901 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 37
In line 349 of syslog.php I changed

"priority_id <="

to

"priority_id="

And it seems to have fixed this problem somewhat. The Critical and Alert priority displays are reversed when selecting them...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:38 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
It's that way for a reason. I can add more options though... ++ means >=

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 37
In lines 575 and 576 in syslog.php

I changed:


<option value="2"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "2") {?> selected<?php }?>>Alert++</option>
<option value="3"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "3") {?> selected<?php }?>>Critical++</option>

to:

<option value="2"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "2") {?> selected<?php }?>>Critical++</option>
<option value="3"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "3") {?> selected<?php }?>>Alert++</option>

And now I think I'm good.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 37
Ok. Sorry for the mixup. This was the functionality I was used to on a previous version of this plugin. Sorry if I'm posting the wrong changes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 11:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 37
In the original code its set to:

priority_id <=

not

priority_id >=


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:00 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
kevin_taco wrote:
In lines 575 and 576 in syslog.php

I changed:


<option value="2"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "2") {?> selected<?php }?>>Alert++</option>
<option value="3"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "3") {?> selected<?php }?>>Critical++</option>

to:

<option value="2"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "2") {?> selected<?php }?>>Critical++</option>
<option value="3"<?php if ($_REQUEST["elevel"] == "3") {?> selected<?php }?>>Alert++</option>

And now I think I'm good.


Thanks for the catch! Can you log a bug here: http://bugs.cacti.net?

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:32 pm
Posts: 37
Done. Bug # 0001871


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:22 am
Posts: 13
access control for syslog plugin, in my case i log all network devices and servers log to cacti machine, one of our programmer needs to see apache error log for specific server, but i don't want him to see all my infrastructure.

it will be great to somehow limit individual user, that i could filter who sees what device and not all logs from that device but only part of it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Wed Oct 06, 2010 1:52 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
giokob wrote:
access control for syslog plugin, in my case i log all network devices and servers log to cacti machine, one of our programmer needs to see apache error log for specific server, but i don't want him to see all my infrastructure.

it will be great to somehow limit individual user, that i could filter who sees what device and not all logs from that device but only part of it


Can you be more specific? It is possible to do the following:

1) Limit access by host or list of host
2) Limit access by Facility
3) Restrict access based upon substring match of log entries

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 1:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2010 1:22 am
Posts: 13
i think all of three is good, better if administrator can create sql expression, like in alarm, remove rules


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 7:57 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
Please log a bug here http://bugs.cacti.net and attach not only my comments but yours.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 3:19 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 7:46 am
Posts: 100
Is it intentional that the search field does not search the host field? I would like to filter on a per site basis, so it would be nice if searching for "London" would give me "London-sw1" "London-sw2" and so on.

Also, according to the change log:
When adding a removal rule, only that rule will execute immediately, instead of rerunning all rules
When adding a rule it will work, but it does not remove existing entries from the database?

Thanks for another very cool plugin!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Syslog 1.0 Released
PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 8:25 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
philipz wrote:
Is it intentional that the search field does not search the host field? I would like to filter on a per site basis, so it would be nice if searching for "London" would give me "London-sw1" "London-sw2" and so on.

Also, according to the change log:
When adding a removal rule, only that rule will execute immediately, instead of rerunning all rules
When adding a rule it will work, but it does not remove existing entries from the database?

Thanks for another very cool plugin!


Post your feature request and bug on Mantis http://bugs.cacti.net

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 151 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group