Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sat Apr 29, 2017 4:15 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Graphs using SNMP not populating -
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 12:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:53 am
Posts: 3
Hey,

I know this topic has been widely discussed before and there's a few steps out there for troubleshooting this problem - I think I've been through most of these however admittedly my linux knowledge isn't so great.

I have a problem with a new Cacti install on CentOS 7.0 (Minimal) not populating graphs correctly. The default graphs that come with Cacti are showing OK as is one graph monitoring Ping Latency - but any devices I have added by SNMP are blank. If anyone could help or point me in the right direction that would be greatly appreciated!

Here is some information - hopefully this is of some use?

The devices are showing as UP.
SNMP information is displayed for each device.
The user 'cacti' has owner of the rra directory & I can see the time stamps of the .rrd files updating when the poller runs.
I installed Cacti using this guide from TecMint - http://www.tecmint.com/install-cacti-network-monitoring-on-rhel-centos-6-3-5-8-and-fedora-17-12/

Graph RRDTool Debug info -

Code:
RRDTool Command:
/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start='-86400' \
--end='-300' \
--title='Core CAB1 - Traffic - A5' \
--rigid \
--base='1000' \
--height='120' \
--width='500' \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit='0' \
--vertical-label='bits per second' \
--slope-mode \
--font TITLE:10: \
--font AXIS:7: \
--font LEGEND:8: \
--font UNIT:7: \
DEF:a='/usr/share/cacti/rra/core_cab1_traffic_in_154.rrd':'traffic_in':AVERAGE \
DEF:b='/usr/share/cacti/rra/core_cab1_traffic_in_154.rrd':'traffic_out':AVERAGE \
CDEF:cdefa='a,8,*' \
CDEF:cdefe='b,8,*' \
AREA:cdefa#00CF00FF:'Inbound'  \
GPRINT:cdefa:LAST:' Current\:%8.2lf %s'  \
GPRINT:cdefa:AVERAGE:'Average\:%8.2lf %s'  \
GPRINT:cdefa:MAX:'Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n'  \
LINE1:cdefe#002A97FF:'Outbound'  \
GPRINT:cdefe:LAST:'Current\:%8.2lf %s'  \
GPRINT:cdefe:AVERAGE:'Average\:%8.2lf %s'  \
GPRINT:cdefe:MAX:'Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n'

RRDTool Says:
OK


System log -
Code:
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.1341 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:5 HostsPerProcess:5 DataSources:8 RRDsProcessed:7 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] CACTI2RRD: /bin/rrdtool update /usr/share/cacti/rra/core_cab1_traffic_in_154.rrd --template traffic_out:traffic_in 1488993303:U:U 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Time: 2.0612 s, Theads: N/A, Hosts: 4 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[3] DS[154] SNMP: v1: 192.168.1.1, dsname: traffic_out, oid: .1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.10.5, output: U 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[3] DS[154] WARNING: Result from SNMP not valid. Partial Result: U 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] WARNING: SNMP Get Timeout for Host:'192.168.1.1', and OID:'.1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.10.5' 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[3] DS[154] SNMP: v1: 192.168.1.1, dsname: traffic_in, oid: .1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.6.5, output: U 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[3] DS[154] WARNING: Result from SNMP not valid. Partial Result: U 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] WARNING: SNMP Get Timeout for Host:'192.168.1.1', and OID:'.1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.6.5' 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[3] RECACHE DQ[1] OID: .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0, output: 1299235227 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[3] RECACHE DQ[1] OID: .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[3] RECACHE: Processing 1 items in the auto reindex cache for '192.168.1.1'. 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] CACTI2RRD: /bin/rrdtool update /usr/share/cacti/rra/kes-vcenter-001_ping_8.rrd --template ping 1488993301:0.222 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[3] PING: UDP Ping Success (0.59 ms) 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[2] DS[8] CMD: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/ping.pl 10.100.28.20, output: 0.222 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[2] RECACHE DQ[1] OID: .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0, output: 
03/08/2017 05:15:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] WARNING: SNMP Get Timeout for Host:'10.100.28.20', and OID:'.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0' 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] CACTI2RRD: /bin/rrdtool update /usr/share/cacti/rra/localhost_proc_7.rrd --template proc 1488993301:110 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] CACTI2RRD: /bin/rrdtool update /usr/share/cacti/rra/localhost_users_6.rrd --template users 1488993301:1 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] CACTI2RRD: /bin/rrdtool update /usr/share/cacti/rra/localhost_load_1min_5.rrd --template load_1min:load_5min:load_15min 1488993301:0.00:0.01:0.05 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] CACTI2RRD: /bin/rrdtool update /usr/share/cacti/rra/localhost_mem_swap_4.rrd --template mem_swap 1488993301:1679356 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] CACTI2RRD: /bin/rrdtool update /usr/share/cacti/rra/localhost_mem_buffers_3.rrd --template mem_buffers 1488993301:1100328 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Parsed MULTI output field '10min:0.05' [map 10min->load_15min] 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Parsed MULTI output field '5min:0.01' [map 5min->load_5min] 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Parsed MULTI output field '1min:0.00' [map 1min->load_1min] 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[2] RECACHE DQ[1] OID: .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[2] RECACHE: Processing 1 items in the auto reindex cache for '10.100.28.20'. 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[2] PING: UDP Ping Success (0.47 ms) 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[1] DS[7] CMD: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/unix_processes.pl, output: 110 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[1] DS[6] CMD: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/unix_users.pl , output: 1 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[1] DS[5] CMD: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/loadavg_multi.pl, output: 1min:0.00 5min:0.01 10min:0.05 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[1] DS[4] CMD: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/linux_memory.pl SwapFree:, output: 1679356 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[1] DS[3] CMD: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/linux_memory.pl MemFree:, output: 1100328 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[1] PING: UDP Ping Success (0.07 ms) 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] DEBUG: About to Spawn a Remote Process [CMD: /bin/php, ARGS: -q "/usr/share/cacti/cmd.php" 0 4] 
03/08/2017 05:15:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] NOTE: Poller Int: '300', Cron Int: '300', Time Since Last: '300', Max Runtime '298', Poller Runs: '1' 


Poller Cache Items

Code:
Core CAB1 - Traffic - A5  SNMP Version: 1, Community: public, OID: .1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.6.5 
RRD: /usr/share/cacti/rra/core_cab1_traffic_in_154.rrd 
Core CAB1 - Traffic - A5  SNMP Version: 1, Community: public, OID: .1.3.6.1.2.1.31.1.1.1.10.5 
RRD: /usr/share/cacti/rra/core_cab1_traffic_in_154.rrd 
kes-vcenter-001 - Ping Host  Script: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/ping.pl 10.100.28.20 
RRD: /usr/share/cacti/rra/kes-vcenter-001_ping_8.rrd 
Localhost - Load Average  Script: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/loadavg_multi.pl 
RRD: /usr/share/cacti/rra/localhost_load_1min_5.rrd 
Localhost - Logged in Users  Script: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/unix_users.pl 
RRD: /usr/share/cacti/rra/localhost_users_6.rrd 
Localhost - Memory - Free  Script: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/linux_memory.pl MemFree: 
RRD: /usr/share/cacti/rra/localhost_mem_buffers_3.rrd 
Localhost - Memory - Free Swap  Script: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/linux_memory.pl SwapFree: 
RRD: /usr/share/cacti/rra/localhost_mem_swap_4.rrd 
Localhost - Processes  Script: perl /usr/share/cacti/scripts/unix_processes.pl 
RRD: /usr/share/cacti/rra/localhost_proc_7.rrd 


Thanks for any help!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphs using SNMP not populating -
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:26 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Posts: 2523
Location: B/CS Texas
Change to SNMP v2 instead of v1 and see if that resolves it.

_________________
CactiEZ CD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphs using SNMP not populating -
PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:53 am
Posts: 3
Hey - thanks for the suggestion. I have tried that - and added some new graphs on once I had made the change but it has not made any difference I'm afraid.
I've also tried using both "In/Out Bits" and "In/Out Bits (64-bit Counters)" but same blank result with both.
Also I've noticed the file sizes of my .rrd files aren't changing - should they or am I mistaken in my thinking there? I thought they were the files that contained the graph information/data history.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphs using SNMP not populating -
PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:53 am
Posts: 3
Update -

Turns out the graphs are now showing when I view them under individually "Graph Management" - but if I try to view the graph when placed on the tree uner the "Graphs" tab - they are blank.

- edit - I'm possibly an idiot. When they show under the Graphs tree page the preset was set to a larger period than there was data for - when I set it to say, half an hour - data shows. Doh! Is that expected behaviour? :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group