Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Thu Mar 23, 2017 9:08 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Aggregate graph with pos + negative axis. Adding 95th
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:52 am
Posts: 5
Hi guys,

I've managed to break the back of this, but still have some questions.

We require aggregate graphs with total 95 percentiles for some customers of ours, so I've been testing on an aggregate graph today.

We run
0.8.8a
1 minute graphing (works great) Poller interval still default etc.

I have added

inbound traffic
Code:
HRULE: |95:bits:0:aggregate_current:2| Mbits in
COMMENT: |95:bits:6:aggregate_current:2|


Outbound traffic
Code:
HRULE: -|95:bits:0:aggregate_current:2| Mbits in
COMMENT: |95:bits:6:aggregate_current:2|


Told it to calculate similar data sources, and all is well, I get my lines. They appear to be accurate from what I can tell.

However, when I try and view the day/week/month/year views, initially only the day and week would draw, with the other graphs timing out. Our Linux chaps helped me look at this and have altered some of the PHP settings.

We have changed

Code:
memory_limit from 128 > 512
max_execution_time from 60 > 180


And the graphs now draw! But they take an absolute age to draw. I have read that the performance of aggregate 95th is quite high performance from the cacti documentations and the caveat about having to tweak PHP memory settings. At least the graphs do draw now, but my questions are threefold

[*]Have I added 95th the correct way? is aggregate_current the correct definition, or should I be using something else? Is this the "proper way" to do this?
[*]If it is correct, is it just going to be this slow
[*]Are there other tweaks to speed this up? Do I have any options.

The machine we're running Cacti on is a powerhouse, 16 core Xeons with 72Gig of ram, so we have the throughput to play with.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Picture of graph output is below
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aggregate graph with pos + negative axis. Adding 95th
PostPosted: Wed Jan 04, 2017 4:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:20 pm
Posts: 24
Hello ,

Bump the old thread.

Could you show the rest of the graph items of the graph.
Having a hard time to do the same task.

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Aggregate graph with pos + negative axis. Adding 95th
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 3:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2011 11:20 pm
Posts: 24
Answering my own question

I made it. :D
The key is to use the same data source name to use aggregate_current variable type.
So I have to duplicate each data source to the exact same name, create the graph (the graph sometimes doesn't show), have to do rrdtool dump and restore and then use aggregate plugins to aggregate the graph. It works.

Image

Hope it helps others.

Regards


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group