Cacti (home)ForumsRepositoryDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 10:31 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Post 0.8.7i upgrade Poller Output Table no empty error
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 10:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:35 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Atlantic Canada
Hello,

Since upgrading from 0.8.7h to 0.8.7.i we started seeing occasional Poller errors "Poller Output Table not Empty" for just a couple of DS's. For example, the cpu_usage data query by Eric Hall and the Cacti Poller recache Statistics template DS from Gandalf's Cacti Poller Host Template seem to be the popular offenders. Oddly, other scripts and templates seem to operate fine (at this point). It doesn't happen every poller cycle (5m) and seems to be more random in host and time interval.

My first thought was boost was acting up...I've since disabled it. It is still happening. :-? I've checked everything...I don't see the smoking gun. And like I said in v. 0.8.7h these particular scripts/queries/templates were working fine.

Anyone seen this or have any idea what to look at? I've attached the output of the Technical Support.

Thanks!


Attachments:
Technical Support.pdf [337.92 KiB]
Downloaded 49 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post 0.8.7i upgrade Poller Output Table no empty error
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:55 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
To be honest, I received exactly the same results. I had to fix an error with the count of failing DS', but it's still there (running boost as well). I was under the impression, that this is a boost issue, but you tell us differently.
In fact, the graphs are fine.
Up to now, I thought it was just cosmetic ...
R.

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post 0.8.7i upgrade Poller Output Table no empty error
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2012 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:35 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Atlantic Canada
I was REALLY hoping it was boost :-)

I've had boost disabled since I posted my reply and it's still happening. I increased the Heartbeat on the DS heartbeat to 1200 (I know I know :wink: ) just to temporarily pretty up the graphs. I've attached a sample of what I'm seeing. It's the poller statistics graph from your collection...maybe it's a case of the dog biting the master? :-)

In all seriousness, like I said below. It just seems to be a set few DS's doing this. For example I've had zero issues with the Interface Traffic / Errors graphs/ds's.

If there is anything I can do or send you that might help please let me know.

Jim


Attachments:
Sample of gaps on Poller Statistics.JPG
Sample of gaps on Poller Statistics.JPG [ 113.65 KiB | Viewed 382 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post 0.8.7i upgrade Poller Output Table no empty error
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 9:05 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
Please post the dumped and gzipped poller_output table between last poller run and next poller run so we can see, which entries are still there. I suspect this is script server stuff. You may email that in case you don't want to post
R.

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post 0.8.7i upgrade Poller Output Table no empty error
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2012 3:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 2:35 pm
Posts: 16
Location: Atlantic Canada
I'll try and grab it...the problem with it being random it's tough to catch. It can happen anywhere from 15-20mins to 8 hours between poller cycles. It's hit and miss.


Attachments:
CactiLogErrorFreq.JPG
CactiLogErrorFreq.JPG [ 313.33 KiB | Viewed 371 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Post 0.8.7i upgrade Poller Output Table no empty error
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:43 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
During a reent investigation of the "poller_output table not empty" issue, I found:
- that related data sources are always related to a Data Query
- all data sources that I found were broken in either
- the related data template had not checked "Index Type", "Index Value", "Output Type ID" and hence an SQL returned wrong results
(e.g. my "old" tenplate for "Alteon Loadbalancers" shows such an issue
- or data template was fine, but there was no (correct) data for those fields entered on the data source
(e.g. a hrStorage ds had no correct indexes given in it's data source)
After fixing those errors, all was fine again.
R.

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], lazghoul and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group