Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sun Apr 23, 2017 8:51 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: SNMP error and PING issue
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 7:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 49
Location: Southington, CT
Upgraded from 0.8.6h to 0.8.7e and and now seeing the following 2 issues:

1. Cacti log file on 1 windows host and 1 Netscreen host: SNMP Time was not numeric

2. All hosts display: Ping Results Cannot connect to host
but ping statistics are being listed and a manual ping to each hosts works.

I applied the SNMP.php and Global Array.php patches and checked permissions. Any thoughts?

OS: W2K3
IIS6

_________________
Brian

Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Plugin Architecture 2.8
Poller Type Cactid v
Server Info Linux 2.6.9-89.29.1.plus.c4
Web Server Apache/2.0.63 (CentOS)
PHP Version 5.1.6
MySQL Version 5.0.82sp1
RRDTool Version 1.2.23
SNMP Version 5.1.2
Plugins:
Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.7)
Cycle Graphs (Cycle Graphs - v0.7+)
Thresholds (thold - v0.4.2)
Create Aggregate Graphs (aggregate - v0.75)
Device Monitoring (monitor - v1.2)
Network Tools (tools - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Error Images (errorimage - v0.1)
Cacti-ReportIt (reportit - v0.7.2)
WMI Query (wmi - v0.1)
Realtime Graph Viewer (realtime - v0.42)
Watermark (watermark - v0.1)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SNMP error and PING issue
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:21 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12105
Location: USA
Spine or cmd.php?

bmarofsky wrote:
1. Cacti log file on 1 windows host and 1 Netscreen host: SNMP Time was not numeric

About to manually snmpwalk both of those devices for lets say Interfaces? Searched the cacti forums for that error message?

bmarofsky wrote:
2. All hosts display: Ping Results Cannot connect to host but ping statistics are being listed and a manual ping to each hosts works.

What ping method and timeout are you using?

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SNMP error and PING issue
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 2:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 49
Location: Southington, CT
BSOD2600 wrote:
Spine or cmd.php?


CMD.php

bmarofsky wrote:
1. Cacti log file on 1 windows host and 1 Netscreen host: SNMP Time was not numeric

BSOD2600 wrote:
About to manually snmpwalk both of those devices for lets say Interfaces? Searched the cacti forums for that error message?


Yes, but i did not find one with a resolution specific to windows. The windows box that gets the error is a DC and my other DC is reporting fine.

bmarofsky wrote:
2. All hosts display: Ping Results Cannot connect to host but ping statistics are being listed and a manual ping to each hosts works.

BSOD2600 wrote:
What ping method and timeout are you using?


Using ICMP PING with 1500ms timeout. Tried UDP Ping and 1500ms timeout and get no error.

All was fine in previous version.

_________________
Brian

Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Plugin Architecture 2.8
Poller Type Cactid v
Server Info Linux 2.6.9-89.29.1.plus.c4
Web Server Apache/2.0.63 (CentOS)
PHP Version 5.1.6
MySQL Version 5.0.82sp1
RRDTool Version 1.2.23
SNMP Version 5.1.2
Plugins:
Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.7)
Cycle Graphs (Cycle Graphs - v0.7+)
Thresholds (thold - v0.4.2)
Create Aggregate Graphs (aggregate - v0.75)
Device Monitoring (monitor - v1.2)
Network Tools (tools - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Error Images (errorimage - v0.1)
Cacti-ReportIt (reportit - v0.7.2)
WMI Query (wmi - v0.1)
Realtime Graph Viewer (realtime - v0.42)
Watermark (watermark - v0.1)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: SNMP error and PING issue
PostPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2009 9:16 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12105
Location: USA
What PHP version?

bmarofsky wrote:
Yes, but i did not find one with a resolution specific to windows. The windows box that gets the error is a DC and my other DC is reporting fine.

snmpwalk .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1. If it doesn't work, then you have the snmp agent misconfigured, ACLs blocking snmp traffic, etc.

bmarofsky wrote:
Using ICMP PING with 1500ms timeout. Tried UDP Ping and 1500ms timeout and get no error.

Verified the NTFS permissions on those patched files you replaced are correct?

Are any devices pingable from within Cacti?

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 49
Location: Southington, CT
PHP 5.2.4

snmpwalk:
D:\net-snmp\bin>snmpwalk -v 1 -c COMMUNITY HOST.local .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1
IF-MIB::ifIndex.1 = INTEGER: 1
IF-MIB::ifIndex.65539 = INTEGER: 65539
IF-MIB::ifDescr.1 = STRING: MS TCP Loopback interface
IF-MIB::ifDescr.65539 = STRING: Intel(R) PRO/1000 XT Network Connection
IF-MIB::ifType.1 = INTEGER: softwareLoopback(24)
IF-MIB::ifType.65539 = INTEGER: ethernetCsmacd(6)
IF-MIB::ifMtu.1 = INTEGER: 1520
IF-MIB::ifMtu.65539 = INTEGER: 1500
IF-MIB::ifSpeed.1 = Gauge32: 10000000
IF-MIB::ifSpeed.65539 = Gauge32: 1000000000
IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress.1 = STRING:
IF-MIB::ifPhysAddress.65539 = STRING: 0:6:5b:8c:e9:6a
IF-MIB::ifAdminStatus.1 = INTEGER: up(1)
IF-MIB::ifAdminStatus.65539 = INTEGER: up(1)
IF-MIB::ifOperStatus.1 = INTEGER: up(1)
IF-MIB::ifOperStatus.65539 = INTEGER: up(1)
IF-MIB::ifLastChange.1 = Timeticks: (0) 0:00:00.00
IF-MIB::ifLastChange.65539 = Timeticks: (0) 0:00:00.00
IF-MIB::ifInOctets.1 = Counter32: 885212452
IF-MIB::ifInOctets.65539 = Counter32: 3177263257
IF-MIB::ifInUcastPkts.1 = Counter32: 3184285
IF-MIB::ifInUcastPkts.65539 = Counter32: 8855341
IF-MIB::ifInNUcastPkts.1 = Counter32: 0
IF-MIB::ifInNUcastPkts.65539 = Counter32: 971302
IF-MIB::ifInDiscards.1 = Counter32: 0
IF-MIB::ifInDiscards.65539 = Counter32: 0
IF-MIB::ifInErrors.1 = Counter32: 0
IF-MIB::ifInErrors.65539 = Counter32: 0
IF-MIB::ifInUnknownProtos.1 = Counter32: 0
IF-MIB::ifInUnknownProtos.65539 = Counter32: 2619
IF-MIB::ifOutOctets.1 = Counter32: 885212452
IF-MIB::ifOutOctets.65539 = Counter32: 4141149391
IF-MIB::ifOutUcastPkts.1 = Counter32: 3184285
IF-MIB::ifOutUcastPkts.65539 = Counter32: 8095396
IF-MIB::ifOutNUcastPkts.1 = Counter32: 0
IF-MIB::ifOutNUcastPkts.65539 = Counter32: 23642
IF-MIB::ifOutDiscards.1 = Counter32: 0
IF-MIB::ifOutDiscards.65539 = Counter32: 0
IF-MIB::ifOutErrors.1 = Counter32: 0
IF-MIB::ifOutErrors.65539 = Counter32: 0
IF-MIB::ifOutQLen.1 = Gauge32: 0
IF-MIB::ifOutQLen.65539 = Gauge32: 0
IF-MIB::ifSpecific.1 = OID: SNMPv2-SMI::zeroDotZero
IF-MIB::ifSpecific.65539 = OID: SNMPv2-SMI::zeroDotZero

Permissions on functions.php and global_arrays.php are read/write for IIS_WPG and IUSER.

All devices report ICMP Ping cannot connect but are showing ping statistics on the devices page.


edited to update SNMPWALK and ping info

_________________
Brian

Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Plugin Architecture 2.8
Poller Type Cactid v
Server Info Linux 2.6.9-89.29.1.plus.c4
Web Server Apache/2.0.63 (CentOS)
PHP Version 5.1.6
MySQL Version 5.0.82sp1
RRDTool Version 1.2.23
SNMP Version 5.1.2
Plugins:
Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.7)
Cycle Graphs (Cycle Graphs - v0.7+)
Thresholds (thold - v0.4.2)
Create Aggregate Graphs (aggregate - v0.75)
Device Monitoring (monitor - v1.2)
Network Tools (tools - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Error Images (errorimage - v0.1)
Cacti-ReportIt (reportit - v0.7.2)
WMI Query (wmi - v0.1)
Realtime Graph Viewer (realtime - v0.42)
Watermark (watermark - v0.1)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:04 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12105
Location: USA
The user accounts only should need read/execute rights on most of the Cacti files. Only the \log and \rrd folders need Modify permissions.

ICMP ping should work... I assume they are manually pingable via the commandline FROM the cacti server? Give udp a try instead in Cacti. Possibly displaying the ping stats from earlier when it was functioning.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 12:18 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 49
Location: Southington, CT
BSOD2600 wrote:
The user accounts only should need read/execute rights on most of the Cacti files. Only the \log and \rrd folders need Modify permissions.

ICMP ping should work... I assume they are manually pingable via the commandline FROM the cacti server? Give udp a try instead in Cacti. Possibly displaying the ping stats from earlier when it was functioning.


Yes the 2 devices are pingable from the cacti server commandline.

Anything on the SNMP time error?

_________________
Brian

Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Plugin Architecture 2.8
Poller Type Cactid v
Server Info Linux 2.6.9-89.29.1.plus.c4
Web Server Apache/2.0.63 (CentOS)
PHP Version 5.1.6
MySQL Version 5.0.82sp1
RRDTool Version 1.2.23
SNMP Version 5.1.2
Plugins:
Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.7)
Cycle Graphs (Cycle Graphs - v0.7+)
Thresholds (thold - v0.4.2)
Create Aggregate Graphs (aggregate - v0.75)
Device Monitoring (monitor - v1.2)
Network Tools (tools - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Error Images (errorimage - v0.1)
Cacti-ReportIt (reportit - v0.7.2)
WMI Query (wmi - v0.1)
Realtime Graph Viewer (realtime - v0.42)
Watermark (watermark - v0.1)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:37 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12105
Location: USA
bmarofsky wrote:
Anything on the SNMP time error?

Google searching this forum for that returns several posts with a bunch of apparent solutions over the years...

1) blank snmp community?
2) sockets module loaded in php? run: php -m to see or a PHP_INFO page.
3) try increasing the snmp timeout a lot
4) tried the spine poller?
5) during your cacti upgrade, were there any errors reported with the mysql table upgrades, etc?
6) enable the error logging in php.ini and see if anything else is being thrown.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 49
Location: Southington, CT
BSOD2600 wrote:
bmarofsky wrote:
Anything on the SNMP time error?

Google searching this forum for that returns several posts with a bunch of apparent solutions over the years...

1) blank snmp community?
2) sockets module loaded in php? run: php -m to see or a PHP_INFO page.
3) try increasing the snmp timeout a lot
4) tried the spine poller?
5) during your cacti upgrade, were there any errors reported with the mysql table upgrades, etc?
6) enable the error logging in php.ini and see if anything else is being thrown.


1. no
2. yes
3. timeout =1500
4. no difference with spine
5. no errors
6. Looking in to these now:
[21-Aug-2009 08:34:08] PHP Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\snmp.php on line 486

[25-Aug-2009 11:33:01] PHP Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 59 seconds exceeded in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\poller.php on line 353

_________________
Brian

Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Plugin Architecture 2.8
Poller Type Cactid v
Server Info Linux 2.6.9-89.29.1.plus.c4
Web Server Apache/2.0.63 (CentOS)
PHP Version 5.1.6
MySQL Version 5.0.82sp1
RRDTool Version 1.2.23
SNMP Version 5.1.2
Plugins:
Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.7)
Cycle Graphs (Cycle Graphs - v0.7+)
Thresholds (thold - v0.4.2)
Create Aggregate Graphs (aggregate - v0.75)
Device Monitoring (monitor - v1.2)
Network Tools (tools - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Error Images (errorimage - v0.1)
Cacti-ReportIt (reportit - v0.7.2)
WMI Query (wmi - v0.1)
Realtime Graph Viewer (realtime - v0.42)
Watermark (watermark - v0.1)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 49
Location: Southington, CT
Switched all devices to UDP Ping
PHP log file was over 4GB. Created new one and it has remained empty.
Removed graphs from Linux box that never worked.

Cacit log file is all good (No SNMP time error).
Still not sure why ICMP ping is not working.

_________________
Brian

Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Plugin Architecture 2.8
Poller Type Cactid v
Server Info Linux 2.6.9-89.29.1.plus.c4
Web Server Apache/2.0.63 (CentOS)
PHP Version 5.1.6
MySQL Version 5.0.82sp1
RRDTool Version 1.2.23
SNMP Version 5.1.2
Plugins:
Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.7)
Cycle Graphs (Cycle Graphs - v0.7+)
Thresholds (thold - v0.4.2)
Create Aggregate Graphs (aggregate - v0.75)
Device Monitoring (monitor - v1.2)
Network Tools (tools - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Error Images (errorimage - v0.1)
Cacti-ReportIt (reportit - v0.7.2)
WMI Query (wmi - v0.1)
Realtime Graph Viewer (realtime - v0.42)
Watermark (watermark - v0.1)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:11 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12105
Location: USA
I never have used the ping setting in my cacti install, so I tried it. Guess what, same problem as you... broken.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:01 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12105
Location: USA
More searching of this issue and seems people have been having it since at least 0.8.7d and possibly 0.8.7b... Anyways created a bug for it to be looked into: http://bugs.cacti.net/view.php?id=1528

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 7:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 49
Location: Southington, CT
Thanks for your help. I also noticed in the devices list that the current (ms) and average (ms) seem to be off by a factor of 10. Mine show 2.42 instead of 0.24.

_________________
Brian

Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Plugin Architecture 2.8
Poller Type Cactid v
Server Info Linux 2.6.9-89.29.1.plus.c4
Web Server Apache/2.0.63 (CentOS)
PHP Version 5.1.6
MySQL Version 5.0.82sp1
RRDTool Version 1.2.23
SNMP Version 5.1.2
Plugins:
Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.7)
Cycle Graphs (Cycle Graphs - v0.7+)
Thresholds (thold - v0.4.2)
Create Aggregate Graphs (aggregate - v0.75)
Device Monitoring (monitor - v1.2)
Network Tools (tools - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Error Images (errorimage - v0.1)
Cacti-ReportIt (reportit - v0.7.2)
WMI Query (wmi - v0.1)
Realtime Graph Viewer (realtime - v0.42)
Watermark (watermark - v0.1)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 5:07 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
Later this evening, there will be a patch to lib/ping.php for Windows users wishing ICMP ping and using IIS. It appears that IIS prevents the IIS account from creating RAW sockets, which does not occur when using Apache.

The patch addresses both issues that you have. You might want to check it out directly by going to the "Browse SVN" and downloading the latest "branches/0.8.7/lib/ping.php" and giving it a whirl.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 7:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 49
Location: Southington, CT
TheWitness wrote:
Later this evening, there will be a patch to lib/ping.php for Windows users wishing ICMP ping and using IIS. It appears that IIS prevents the IIS account from creating RAW sockets, which does not occur when using Apache.

The patch addresses both issues that you have. You might want to check it out directly by going to the "Browse SVN" and downloading the latest "branches/0.8.7/lib/ping.php" and giving it a whirl.

TheWitness


Appears to be working. Thanks!

When using UDP Ping i would get 0.82 ms but when using ICMP I get 0 ms. A manual Ping from command line results in <0ms. In DEVICES list I see: Current 3.05 ms and Average 4.9 ms.

EDIT: If I remove a device and re-add it the Current and Average look accurate.

Is this an issue you are aware of? Can I get the ICMP ping result to show more precisely and have the Current and Average be accurate?

_________________
Brian

Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Plugin Architecture 2.8
Poller Type Cactid v
Server Info Linux 2.6.9-89.29.1.plus.c4
Web Server Apache/2.0.63 (CentOS)
PHP Version 5.1.6
MySQL Version 5.0.82sp1
RRDTool Version 1.2.23
SNMP Version 5.1.2
Plugins:
Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.7)
Cycle Graphs (Cycle Graphs - v0.7+)
Thresholds (thold - v0.4.2)
Create Aggregate Graphs (aggregate - v0.75)
Device Monitoring (monitor - v1.2)
Network Tools (tools - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Error Images (errorimage - v0.1)
Cacti-ReportIt (reportit - v0.7.2)
WMI Query (wmi - v0.1)
Realtime Graph Viewer (realtime - v0.42)
Watermark (watermark - v0.1)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group