Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:53 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:16 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
Whats in you log? Are you running pluging?

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 10:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 10:21 am
Posts: 4
Location: Austin, TX
gandalf wrote:
Full file replacement for PIA brings you include/config.php.dist which should be ok. It does NOT change include/config.php!
May you please verify
R.


Oh... ok.... :-? Well, I backed out of the two changes above, renamed the existing include/config.php to config.php.old, renamed include/config.php.dist to config.php, edited the new config.php as needed, and accessed the site successfully (no php errors, yay).

I was not aware that I needed to perform those steps. I reviewed the documentation (online, in cacti/docs, and the PIA readme) and couldn't find the instructions to rename or copy code from config.php.dist. I understand the reasoning behind using the .dist file in a full file replacement install, but it would have been helpful to me (and perhaps others who are not php savvy) to have it notated in the PIA readme to perform the file renames, copy code, etc.

Nonetheless, thanks for leading me in the right direction. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 1 minute polling
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 2:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 1:08 am
Posts: 41
Location: Yerevan, Armenia
Hi all,
What is current status? when You are planning to put status stable to 0.8.7.g?
Will 1 minute polling be available in it?
It is mandatory for me because all of my rras are with 1 minute granularity and it is production machine.

_________________
Best Regards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 1 minute polling
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:59 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
levi wrote:
What is current status?
Still beta2
Quote:
when You are planning to put status stable to 0.8.7.g?
expecting GA within a week
Quote:
Will 1 minute polling be available in it?
No changes made regarding this function. Mainly a lot of bug fixes
R.

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Possibly causing hang in PHP
PostPosted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 8:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:44 pm
Posts: 12
I've noticed that since I began using Cacti (f, gb1 and gb2) my PHP FastCGI processes are occasionally hanging. They appear to be stuck on a poll() or a read() and just ... well ... sit there. My web server eventually times out the request and throws an error to the browser, the FastCGI engine logs an error about "timed out waiting for a reply", etc. When this happens all PHP activity for this virtual server is non-functional (my server is configured such that each virtual server has its own isolated pool of PHP processes, so the other virtual servers continue to work as expected). Eventually the PHP FastCGI processes time out waiting for whatever they're blocked on and things return to normal.

I don't KNOW that this is being caused by Cacti, but I DO know that since I stopped leaving a Cacti window open auto-refreshing I haven't seen the hang happen.

This is on a Centos 5.5 running Amazon's EC2 kernel v2.6.18. When the behavior was first noticed it was on Centos 5.4 running EC2 kernel v2.6.16. I've seen this with both PHP 5.3.1 and 5.3.2, both configured as FastCGI and both using rrdtool 1.4 underneath.


Any thoughts?


Last edited by dzm on Thu Jun 24, 2010 2:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 12:55 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
Try placing the browser on a page with only 1 graph that refreshes and see if the problem goes away. Let us know.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 8
Quote:
Release of 0.8.7g as Non-Beta

If all goes well with beta 2, we will release Cacti 0.8.7g on June 21st.


today is June 27st. and when release 0.8.7g ?

thank you !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:48 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 10:16 am
Posts: 1635
Location: Canada
Today is actually June 26th :)

Things slide. As soon as every bug is resolved and all the developers are happy, 0.8.7g will be released.

Putting out a sub-par release is something that we do not want to happen again.

_________________
--
Live fast, die young
You're sucking up my bandwidth.

J.P. Pasnak,CD
CCNA, LPIC-1
http://www.warpedsystems.sk.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2010 2:50 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 24, 2009 10:13 am
Posts: 44
Do you have any estimated date for the release?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2010 10:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:25 am
Posts: 15
Hi,

I get the 0.8.7g-b2 version of spine this afternoon and tried to compile it but I encounter some errors during ./configure execution.

I get these errors in CLI
Code:
config.status: executing libtool commands
sed: can't read config/ltmain.sh: No such file or directory
sed: can't read config/ltmain.sh: No such file or directory
mv: cannot stat `libtoolT': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `libtoolT': No such file or directory
chmod: cannot access `libtool': No such file or directory


I checked if libtool was installed et it's already installed.
Code:
[root@rchascr02 cacti-spine-0.8.7g]# yum install libtool
Loaded plugins: kernel-module
Repository sl-security is listed more than once in the configuration
Repository sl-base is listed more than once in the configuration
Setting up Install Process
Package libtool-1.5.22-7.el5_4.x86_64 already installed and latest version
Nothing to do


Do you have any idea about the origin of this error ?

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2010 10:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 1:08 am
Posts: 41
Location: Yerevan, Armenia
elfada wrote:
Hi,

I get the 0.8.7g-b2 version of spine this afternoon and tried to compile it but I encounter some errors during ./configure execution.

I get these errors in CLI
Code:
config.status: executing libtool commands
sed: can't read config/ltmain.sh: No such file or directory
sed: can't read config/ltmain.sh: No such file or directory
mv: cannot stat `libtoolT': No such file or directory
cp: cannot stat `libtoolT': No such file or directory
chmod: cannot access `libtool': No such file or directory




I checked if libtool was installed et it's already installed.
Code:
[root@rchascr02 cacti-spine-0.8.7g]# yum install libtool
Loaded plugins: kernel-module
Repository sl-security is listed more than once in the configuration
Repository sl-base is listed more than once in the configuration
Setting up Install Process
Package libtool-1.5.22-7.el5_4.x86_64 already installed and latest version
Nothing to do


Do you have any idea about the origin of this error ?

Thanks in advance.

hi, Yu can find procedure of compiling spne here:
http://www.cacti.net/downloads/docs/html/unix_configure_spine.html
Basically You should execute:
aclocal
libtoolize --force (glibtoolize --force on Max OS)
autoheader
autoconf
automake
./configure
make
make install

That's it!

_________________
Best Regards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2010 10:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:25 am
Posts: 15
Thanks, it works !

Apologies for any inconveniences.

I always run directly ./configure and it was working well. Unfortunately on this server, it's not the case.

Next time, I will check the tutorial before asking stupid questions. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 2:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 1:08 am
Posts: 41
Location: Yerevan, Armenia
elfada wrote:
Thanks, it works !

Apologies for any inconveniences.

I always run directly ./configure and it was working well. Unfortunately on this server, it's not the case.

Next time, I will check the tutorial before asking stupid questions. :)

Welcome :-)

_________________
Best Regards.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Possibly causing hang in PHP
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2010 11:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 6:44 pm
Posts: 12
dzm wrote:
I've noticed that since I began using Cacti (f, gb1 and gb2) my PHP FastCGI processes are occasionally hanging.

I made some configuration changes to PHP and have been unable to reproduce the problem.

It seems as though the PHP management of worker processes was getting fubar and leaving behind lots of dead PHP fcgi processes. I'm guessing that eventually this overwhelmed PHP's ability to safely manage all the children and things seized up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2010 4:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2007 7:22 am
Posts: 32
Hi.

On the mailing list you said on July 6 that you would produce the 0.8.7g release that same night if everything went ok. Did you run into problems during the final checks?

Just checking the status, so we know if we should plan for an upgrade in the near future.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group