Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Tue Mar 28, 2017 1:24 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Hide empty graphs
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:45 am
Posts: 15
I work at a small college.
Most dorms have 2 wired connections per room, but most students use wireless.
Some switches have as many as 144 ports.
Cacti is polling every interface, as I never know when someone will start using a wired port.
If only 10% of the ports are being used, why wait for cacti to draw the 130 graphs with no data?

I like the thumbnails checkbox and graphs per page option.

Perhaps a 'skip' or 'hide' or 'don't display' empty graphs could improve page load times as well.

Clue me in if I'm simply doing something incorrectly.

Thanks! - JD


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:42 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
Cacti 087d now allows for filtering. But filters are set on text only. Currently it is not possible to filter on graph results.
And the fact, that a graph is "empty" depends on timespan for that graph. So you're saying the the graph is "completely" empty, it should be skipped?
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:45 am
Posts: 15
gandalf wrote:
And the fact, that a graph is "empty" depends on timespan for that graph. So you're saying the the graph is "completely" empty, it should be skipped?
Reinhard

No, not just completely empty graphs:
    Hidden if there was 0 traffic on the interface graph during the selected timespan
    Displayed if there was traffic on the interface during the selected timespan.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 11:48 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
This would be Traffic specific and not applicable to any other graph type. But please feel free to create a new feature request. In fact, this was already discussed from time to time; without any generic solution until now
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:45 am
Posts: 15
gandalf wrote:
But please feel free to create a new feature request.
Reinhard

Where do I create a new feature request? - Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 2:38 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12099
Location: USA
http://www.cacti.net/bugs.php

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hide empty graphs
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2014 8:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:42 am
Posts: 42
Did anything ever come of this feature request?

This would be extremely useful.

Thank you =)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group