Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Mon May 01, 2017 1:26 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Poller script 5 minutes running time
PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 6:35 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 5:50 am
Posts: 3
Hi,

We have more than 5000 devices in our network and it takes the poller ~5mins 20 seconds to finish all jobs.

The maximum timeout of 298 seconds is hardcoded in the PHP script so we increased it manually by setting the max_execution_time to a fixed number to ensure that the poller finished polling all the devices.

We're thinking of submitting a bug report with a patch to implement a larger interval. But could anyone explain why 5 minutes was chosen as the largest interval? And whether there's anything else we should be looking at to improve our poller's performance?

Thanks,
Den


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Poller script 5 minutes running time
PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 10:07 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 10:16 am
Posts: 1635
Location: Canada
The poller runs every 5 minutes. If it runs for longer than 5 minutes, you can running into insert overlaps and end up missing data.

Switch to spine instead of cmd.php

_________________
--
Live fast, die young
You're sucking up my bandwidth.

J.P. Pasnak,CD
CCNA, LPIC-1
http://www.warpedsystems.sk.ca


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Poller script 5 minutes running time
PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 4:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 5:50 am
Posts: 3
Thanks for your reply. We are already using the latest version of spine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Poller script 5 minutes running time
PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 11:50 am
Posts: 49
Location: Athens, GA
Have you tried the boost plugin?

Under settings -> poller -> Spine Specific Execution Parameters you can change the # of threads.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Poller script 5 minutes running time
PostPosted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2015 6:39 am
Posts: 1
If it runs for longer than 5 minutes, you can running into insert overlaps and end up missing data.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group