Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sat Jun 24, 2017 3:51 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 03, 2005 8:07 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
Larry,

You are on Solaris as well? Post your messages for me. In the development/bugfix mode tonight.

Larry

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 5:57 pm 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:48 am
Posts: 165
Location: UK - Cambridge
TheWitness wrote:
Larry,

You are on Solaris as well? Post your messages for me. In the development/bugfix mode tonight.

Larry


Hi Witness,

I've already posted this in the following post but if you need more then let me know:

http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=10615&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=lard&start=15

Searched for similair symptoms and found this thread and wondered how it was resolved,

I'm running on windows though rather than Solaris but the gaps are still there in the majority of graphs as below,

Thanks,

Larry

_________________
---- lard007skype ----


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Myslq Error
PostPosted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 8:46 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 8:35 am
Posts: 1
The database was corrupted.

I have checked the tables in the Cacti database (show table status;) and two tables has problem.

With the command (repair table XXXX;) the tables was repaired and the cacti is working correctly now.

J.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mysql threads approach
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 12:57 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 12:50 am
Posts: 1
max_connections = 500
key_buffer=32M
query_cache_size=64M[/code]
max_connections seems to be exessive (default is 100)

Can you tell me where are all those setting located ? which file ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 6:06 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14863
Location: MI, USA
/etc/my.cnf

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Gandalfs Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: graph gaps
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 7:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:17 pm
Posts: 12
hello,, i have the same issue, my log are.. i made an up recently to Version 0.8.7g, and since then I have this problems...tnks 4 yout help


06/13/2011 06:02:00 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Maximum runtime of 58 seconds exceeded. Exiting.
06/13/2011 06:02:00 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:58.8866 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:17 HostsPerProcess:17 DataSources:1457 RRDsProcessed:691
06/13/2011 06:02:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] WARNING: There are '1' detected as overrunning a polling process, please investigate
06/13/2011 06:02:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] WARNING: Poller Output Table not Empty. Issues Found: 23, Data Sources: traffic_in(DS[1018]), traffic_out(DS[1018]), traffic_in(DS[1019]), traffic_out(DS[1057]), traffic_out(DS[1059]), traffic_out(DS[1061]), traffic_in(DS[1066]), traffic_out(DS[1066]), traffic_out(DS[1095]), traffic_in(DS[1098]), traffic_out(DS[1098]), traffic_in(DS[1099]), traffic_out(DS[1099]), traffic_in(DS[1102]), traffic_out(DS[1103]), traffic_in(DS[1104]), traffic_in(DS[1105]), traffic_out(DS[1107]), traffic_in(DS[1108]), traffic_in(DS[1109]), traffic_in(DS[1110]), Additional Issues Remain. Only showing first 20
06/13/2011 06:02:38 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[18] DS[576] WARNING: Result from SNMP not valid. Partial Result: U
06/13/2011 06:02:38 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[18] DS[576] WARNING: Result from SNMP not valid. Partial Result: U
06/13/2011 06:02:41 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] WARNING: SNMP Get Timeout for Host:'X.X.X.X', and OID:'.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0'
06/13/2011 06:02:43 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] WARNING: SNMP Get Timeout for Host:'X.X.X.X.', and OID:'.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0'
06/13/2011 06:02:45 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] WARNING: SNMP Get Timeout for Host:'X.X.X.X.', and OID:'.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0'
06/13/2011 06:03:00 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Maximum runtime of 58 seconds exceeded. Exiting.


localhost log # uptime
18:18:37 up 10 days, 51 min, 1 user, load average: 0.64, 0.77, 0.81
localhost log # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.60GHz
stepping : 1
cpu MHz : 3600.161
cache size : 1024 KB


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: graph gaps
PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 7:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:17 pm
Posts: 12
[quote="j0s3"]hello,, i have the same issue, my log are.. i made an up recently to Version 0.8.7g, and since then I have this problems...tnks 4 yout help


06/13/2011 06:02:00 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Maximum runtime of 58 seconds exceeded. Exiting.
06/13/2011 06:02:00 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:58.8866 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:17 HostsPerProcess:17 DataSources:1457 RRDsProcessed:691
06/13/2011 06:02:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] WARNING: There are '1' detected as overrunning a polling process, please investigate
06/13/2011 06:02:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] WARNING: Poller Output Table not Empty. Issues Found: 23, Data Sources: traffic_in(DS[1018]), traffic_out(DS[1018]), traffic_in(DS[1019]), traffic_out(DS[1057]), traffic_out(DS[1059]), traffic_out(DS[1061]), traffic_in(DS[1066]), traffic_out(DS[1066]), traffic_out(DS[1095]), traffic_in(DS[1098]), traffic_out(DS[1098]), traffic_in(DS[1099]), traffic_out(DS[1099]), traffic_in(DS[1102]), traffic_out(DS[1103]), traffic_in(DS[1104]), traffic_in(DS[1105]), traffic_out(DS[1107]), traffic_in(DS[1108]), traffic_in(DS[1109]), traffic_in(DS[1110]), Additional Issues Remain. Only showing first 20
06/13/2011 06:02:38 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[18] DS[576] WARNING: Result from SNMP not valid. Partial Result: U
06/13/2011 06:02:38 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[18] DS[576] WARNING: Result from SNMP not valid. Partial Result: U
06/13/2011 06:02:41 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] WARNING: SNMP Get Timeout for Host:'X.X.X.X', and OID:'.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0'
06/13/2011 06:02:43 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] WARNING: SNMP Get Timeout for Host:'X.X.X.X.', and OID:'.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0'
06/13/2011 06:02:45 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] WARNING: SNMP Get Timeout for Host:'X.X.X.X.', and OID:'.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0'
06/13/2011 06:03:00 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Maximum runtime of 58 seconds exceeded. Exiting.


localhost log # uptime
18:18:37 up 10 days, 51 min, 1 user, load average: 0.64, 0.77, 0.81
localhost log # cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.60GHz
stepping : 1
cpu MHz : 3600.161
cache size : 1024 KB

I do not know where the parameters are: max:conn and the others, y made a search on /etc/mysql/my.cnf whitout successful :s


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: graph gaps
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:02 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2010 2:04 am
Posts: 1573
Location: Japan
j0s3 wrote:
I do not know where the parameters are: max:conn and the others, y made a search on /etc/mysql/my.cnf whitout successful

You can add that parameter by hand.
See also: MySQL Server System Variables - max_connections

I feel uneasy about this warning,
j0s3 wrote:
06/13/2011 06:02:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] WARNING: There are '1' detected as overrunning a polling process, please investigate
but when you increased max connections, then this may disappear..?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: graph gaps
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:17 pm
Posts: 12
ok done, I will be verifying the new param...max_com

localhost mysql # cat my.cnf | grep max_c
max_connections =500

but the other hand, i need to change all the key_buffer to 64???

localhost mysql # cat my.cnf | grep key
key_buffer = 16M
key_buffer = 20M
key_buffer = 20M

tnks!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: graph gaps
PostPosted: Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 7:17 pm
Posts: 12
all my graphs have lost data..


Attachments:
pix1.png
pix1.png [ 47.37 KiB | Viewed 8280 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: graph gaps
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 12:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:41 am
Posts: 3
I have been running Cacti 0.8.7i with Spine since mid January with very good success.
Last Run Statistics- Time:34.1479 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:1 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2378

My install is from a CactiEZ install on Cent OS. ( CentOS release 6.2 (Final) x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux)
on a Xeon Quad Core 3.40GHz - 524G HD - 8GB memory server.

I poll all Cisco equipment and all the graphs were fine until I added routers with the lastest 15 IOS code. (3945s & 2911s)

Now I have graph gaps but only on the 15 code devices. All other graphs on previous code is working fine.

Some of my error logs (grep'd only for Poller and excluded all my Weathermap errors: :) )

06/13/2012 01:33:00 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Maximum runtime of 58 seconds exceeded. Exiting.
06/13/2012 01:33:02 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] ERROR: Spine Timed Out While Processing Hosts Internal
06/13/2012 01:33:02 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] ERROR: Spine Timed Out While Processing Hosts Internal
06/13/2012 01:33:02 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] WARNING: Poller Output Table not Empty. Issues Found: 21, Data Sources: 5min_cpu(DS[2288]), ProcMem(DS[2289]), cisco_iomem(DS[2290]), cisco_procmem(DS[2291]), traffic_in(DS[2292]), traffic_out(DS[2292]), traffic_in(DS[2293]), traffic_out(DS[2293]), 5min_cpu(DS[2294]), ProcMem(DS[2295]), cisco_iomem(DS[2296]), cisco_procmem(DS[2297]), traffic_in(DS[2298]), traffic_out(DS[2298]), traffic_in(DS[2299]), traffic_out(DS[2299]), 5min_cpu(DS[2300]), ProcMem(DS[2301]), cisco_iomem(DS[2302]), cisco_procmem(DS[2303]), traffic_in(DS[2304]), Additional Issues Remain. Only showing first 20
06/13/2012 01:34:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Maximum runtime of 58 seconds exceeded. Exiting.
06/13/2012 01:34:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] WARNING: There are '1' detected as overrunning a polling process, please investigate
06/13/2012 01:34:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] WARNING: Poller Output Table not Empty. Issues Found: 21, Data Sources: 5min_cpu(DS[2217]), ProcMem(DS[2218]), cisco_iomem(DS[2219]), cisco_procmem(DS[2220]), traffic_in(DS[2221]), traffic_out(DS[2221]), traffic_in(DS[2222]), traffic_out(DS[2222]), traffic_in(DS[2223]), traffic_out(DS[2223]), traffic_in(DS[2224]), traffic_out(DS[2224]), traffic_in(DS[2225]), traffic_out(DS[2225]), traffic_in(DS[2226]), traffic_out(DS[2226]), traffic_in(DS[2227]), traffic_out(DS[2227]), traffic_in(DS[2228]), traffic_out(DS[2228]), traffic_in(DS[2322]), Additional Issues Remain. Only showing first 20
06/13/2012 01:34:10 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] ERROR: Spine Timed Out While Processing Hosts Internal
06/13/2012 01:36:00 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Maximum runtime of 58 seconds exceeded. Exiting.
06/13/2012 01:36:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] WARNING: There are '1' detected as overrunning a polling process, please investigate
06/13/2012 01:36:01 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] WARNING: Poller Output Table not Empty. Issues Found: 8, Data Sources: 5min_cpu(DS[2264]), ProcMem(DS[2265]), cisco_iomem(DS[2266]), cisco_procmem(DS[2267]), traffic_in(DS[2268]), traffic_out(DS[2268]), traffic_in(DS[2269]), traffic_out(DS[2269])
06/13/2012 01:36:11 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] ERROR: Spine Timed Out While Processing Hosts Internal
06/13/2012 01:36:11 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] ERROR: Spine Timed Out While Processing Hosts Internal
06/13/2012 01:37:02 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] Maximum runtime of 58 seconds exceeded. Exiting.
06/13/2012 01:37:02 PM - POLLER: Poller[0] WARNING: There are '1' detected as overrunning a polling process, please investigate
06/13/2012 01:37:08 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] ERROR: Spine Timed Out While Processing Hosts Internal
06/13/2012 01:37:08 PM - SPINE: Poller[0] ERROR: Spine Timed Out While Processing Hosts Internal


Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. I'm researching here on the forum hoping to find a resolution.

Thank you!


Attachments:
File comment: 3845 with 12 IOS code - no graph gaps
graphnogaps.png
graphnogaps.png [ 37.88 KiB | Viewed 7385 times ]
File comment: 3945 with 15 IOS code - graph gaps
graphgaps.png
graphgaps.png [ 24.75 KiB | Viewed 7385 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: graph gaps
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:41 am
Posts: 3
UPDATE: I've increased my Spine threads from 1 to 5 and now I don't have the errors with the poller delays and it cutting off. I also don't have the issue with the graph gaps at this time. (I'll update again tomorrow)

So as of this time it looks like the poller was cutting off the updates because my devices weren't all completing within the minute alloted before the next poll started.

The new devices (New IOS code) were added last and might not have been polled in that interval...... (make sense?)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: graph gaps
PostPosted: Thu Jun 14, 2012 10:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2012 11:41 am
Posts: 3
That was the cause of my graph gaps. (don't know if it's the same for anyone else)

Since the increase of the threads on the spine poller the graphs are now complete and I have no related errors in the cacti.log. Below is a sampling of the times to complete the polling at the time of the switch over.


06/13/2012 01:50:34 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:33.2538 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:1 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384
06/13/2012 01:51:41 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:39.7698 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:1 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384
06/13/2012 01:52:56 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:54.4350 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:1 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384
06/13/2012 01:53:59 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:58.4048 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:1 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384
06/13/2012 01:54:36 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:34.6170 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:1 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384
06/13/2012 01:55:35 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:32.9908 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:1 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384
06/13/2012 01:57:00 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:58.4975 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:1 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2017
06/13/2012 01:57:28 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.2181 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:5 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2431
06/13/2012 01:58:27 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:26.0720 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:5 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384
06/13/2012 01:59:13 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5513 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:5 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384
06/13/2012 02:00:09 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:7.9922 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:5 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384
06/13/2012 02:01:09 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:7.6142 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:5 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384
06/13/2012 02:02:08 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:6.9233 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:5 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384
06/13/2012 02:03:13 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:11.3396 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:5 Hosts:320 HostsPerProcess:320 DataSources:3496 RRDsProcessed:2384


So this was NOT the IOS version/bug that was causing the problem as I originally suspected.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: graph gaps
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2012 2:23 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
I recommend increasing up to 10-20 at least. You may even go up to 50. Success depends on which type of polling (SNMP, Script) is performed
R.

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group