Cacti (home)ForumsRepositoryDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 9:53 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: SuperMicro SuperoDoctor sensors -- update November 11, 2010
PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 4:09 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
I have been working to get different kinds of hardware monitoring working in a consistent manner. This is the SuperMicro SuperoDoctor sensors package.

Here is what the final result looks like for one of my systems, and shows the fan speeds, thermal probe temperatures, and voltage levels for all of the available sensors on that server:

Image

There are some caveats here. Obviously, you must have the Superodoctor SNMP extensions installed and working. I have tested this with SuperoDoctor III running on Windows Server 2003 (using native SNMP extensions) and SuperoDoctor II on Linux (using net-snmp extensions) and both seem to work fine.

--> see this page for the tarball and instructions <--


Last edited by ehall on Thu Nov 11, 2010 9:27 pm, edited 13 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:08 am
Posts: 4
Which SuperMicro model is this template for?
From my experience (with MRTG and supermicro superodoctors) OID-s vary from model to model (as some have 10 fans, other 2, etc).

Edit: Ignore my incompetence - I am new to cacti :)
I saw it reads and determinates available monitoring items - very nice!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 10, 2007 11:40 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
The posted update contains a fix that converts the SNMP timeout value from Cacti's millisecond format to PHP/Net-SNMP microsecond format. The lack of conversion in the earlier script would sometimes result in excessive retries or complete failure.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:44 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:37 am
Posts: 372
Location: Emeryville, CA
THanks for these great scripts, I have a little problem though. I copied the XML from Script_queries to the script_queries folder, the scripts to the scripts folder, and i imported the templates into Cacti, but one of the templates (cacti_graph_template_sensors_supermicro_fan_sensors_8x.xml) gave me some errors: Unmet Dependencies (See Pic). I assume that it is because of this that my fan and termal sensor graphs are not working.

Any thoughts?

Thanks for the help

app


Attachments:
unmet dependency.PNG
unmet dependency.PNG [ 100.47 KiB | Viewed 24404 times ]

_________________
Cacti Version - 0.8.7b
Plugin Architecture - 2.2 Beta
Poller Type - CMD.php
Server Info - Linux 2.6.9-78.0.1.ELsmp
Web Server - Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat)
PHP - 4.3.9
MySQL - 4.1.22
RRDTool - 1.2.23
SNMP - 5.1.2
Plugins
    Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.5)
    SuperLinks (superlinks - v0.72)
    Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
    Report Creator (reports - v0.3)
    Update Checker (update - v0.4)
    Realtime for Cacti (realtime - v0.35)
    Cacti Log View (clog - v1.1)
    RRD File Cleaner (rrdclean - v0.36)
    Network Discovery (discovery - v0.9)
    Uptime (uptime - v0.4)
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:56 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
Cacti does not seem to export GPRINT definitions, so you will need to manually create the missing GPRINT preset.

Click on the Graph Management cacti menu item, and then click on the (new) GPRINT Presets sub-menu underneath. Create a GPRINT Preset with the exact name of "Exact Numbers" and the GPRINT Text value of "%8.0lf". That should allow the graph templates to be imported successfully.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:59 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:37 am
Posts: 372
Location: Emeryville, CA
hmmm, that GPRINT Preset was already there. Any other thoughts? In looking at what happens on the import, the GPRINT shows good, but the unmet dependencies appear to be on Data Template Items. Am i doing this right? I just import the 7 XML templates, correct?

app

_________________
Cacti Version - 0.8.7b
Plugin Architecture - 2.2 Beta
Poller Type - CMD.php
Server Info - Linux 2.6.9-78.0.1.ELsmp
Web Server - Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat)
PHP - 4.3.9
MySQL - 4.1.22
RRDTool - 1.2.23
SNMP - 5.1.2
Plugins
    Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.5)
    SuperLinks (superlinks - v0.72)
    Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
    Report Creator (reports - v0.3)
    Update Checker (update - v0.4)
    Realtime for Cacti (realtime - v0.35)
    Cacti Log View (clog - v1.1)
    RRD File Cleaner (rrdclean - v0.36)
    Network Discovery (discovery - v0.9)
    Uptime (uptime - v0.4)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:40 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
The tarball contains cacti_data_template_* files so it should be working. Did you import those before you imported the graph templates?

I don't have any ideas beyond that--there doesn't appear to be any hard dependencies in the graph templates so it should be working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:55 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:37 am
Posts: 372
Location: Emeryville, CA
hmmm, yeah, imported all the data templates before the graph templates. Maybe i will just go through all the steps again.

Thanks for the help

app

_________________
Cacti Version - 0.8.7b
Plugin Architecture - 2.2 Beta
Poller Type - CMD.php
Server Info - Linux 2.6.9-78.0.1.ELsmp
Web Server - Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat)
PHP - 4.3.9
MySQL - 4.1.22
RRDTool - 1.2.23
SNMP - 5.1.2
Plugins
    Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.5)
    SuperLinks (superlinks - v0.72)
    Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
    Report Creator (reports - v0.3)
    Update Checker (update - v0.4)
    Realtime for Cacti (realtime - v0.35)
    Cacti Log View (clog - v1.1)
    RRD File Cleaner (rrdclean - v0.36)
    Network Discovery (discovery - v0.9)
    Uptime (uptime - v0.4)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 7:46 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
I noticed the tarball did not have the default 1X graph templates so I rebuilt the tarball. This shouldn't have been the cause of your problem but who knows.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 26, 2006 9:08 am
Posts: 4
I am having the same problem as apperrault from above post with the screenshot when importing. I tried both cacti 0.8.6i and 0.8.6j versions - no difference.

Single graphs work just fine for me, but I can't get the 8x versions to work. I am thinking I am doing something incorrectly. Here is what I do:
uppon 'devices' I select the desired host, then at "associated graph templates" I add the supermicro (8x) templates (fan/voltage/thermal), then "create graphs for this host" highlight the new "sensors - supermicro ..." graph templates, click create button at the bottom.
However I always get broken image for that graph.

Any help will me much appreciated!

Ivan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 12:00 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
I uploaded a new version that should work with both Cacti 0.8.6 and 0.8.7 and should also support the SNMPv3 stuff in 0.8.7.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2009 8:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 11:51 pm
Posts: 37
have you got it working with windows ?

I have a win 2008 server x64 box and when i enable the snmp support with supero doctor III I am unable to query/snmpwalk to the box at ALL now. I uninstall supero and its all fine


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 6:09 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
ehall wrote:
I uploaded a new version that should work with both Cacti 0.8.6 and 0.8.7 and should also support the SNMPv3 stuff in 0.8.7.
Thanks for posting this. We now encourage contributors to publish their work at the central cacti repository at http://docs.cacti.net/templates
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:11 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
john_d13 wrote:
have you got it working with windows ?

I have a win 2008 server x64 box and when i enable the snmp support with supero doctor III I am unable to query/snmpwalk to the box at ALL now. I uninstall supero and its all fine

I had it working with superodoctor III on Windows to make sure the OIDs were the same, but I haven't tried again in the past couple of years. I'd email Supermicro support about the conflict you are having, they have always been nice to me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2008 11:51 pm
Posts: 37
I got it working :) yay


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], gru and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group