Cacti (home)ForumsRepositoryDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sat Dec 20, 2014 1:35 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 100 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Smoke-ping 0.86c
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 5:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 8:42 am
Posts: 45
Hi !
I create a script and a template graph same as Smoke ping !

Features : Disponibility, Latency

P.S : Sorry , it's in french :p


Attachments:
smokeping.zip [4.57 KiB]
Downloaded 7810 times
Sans titre2.JPG
Sans titre2.JPG [ 43.44 KiB | Viewed 68543 times ]
Sans titre.JPG
Sans titre.JPG [ 41.99 KiB | Viewed 68545 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Smokeping smoking
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 6:45 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2004 4:06 am
Posts: 124
Location: North of the Netherlands
Hello,

Installed smokeping and it looks very good. Could you give some translation of the french languake used?

Regards,
Michael


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 8:42 am
Posts: 45
"Perte" mean lost packet during the 5 repetitive ping !
"Taux de réussite" mean the disponibility of the equipement => ex : 99 % mean 99 % of ping success in the time interval choosen.
moyenne = average response time of ping
mininum = min ....
maximum = max ....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 1:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 11:02 am
Posts: 31
Anyone else get some really weird characters on the import?
I think it may be a language thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 4:29 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Groningen, NL
Merci beaucoup! :D
I've made the needed translations from French to English.
Here's my translated XML and a screenshot from how it looks after a couple of polls.


Attachments:
cacti_graph_template_smoke_ping.xml [25.99 KiB]
Downloaded 6862 times
graph_image.php.png
graph_image.php.png [ 3.35 KiB | Viewed 68354 times ]

_________________
This is my sick nature...
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:16 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 4:29 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Groningen, NL
Now... it would be nice if I could show inside the graph what site is being pinged (in the above case "slashdot.org").
Anyone knows how to realize this without destroying everthing gathered so far?

_________________
This is my sick nature...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 8:42 am
Posts: 45
i don't understand you kestion lol :p

Explain a little more :p


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 11:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 4:29 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Groningen, NL
predou wrote:
i don't understand you kestion lol :p

Explain a little more :p

Something like:
"ping slashdot.org" INSIDE the graph next to "Succes rate".
Tu comprends? :lol:

And how to get rid of these reds..? That is "non-data" from before I started collecting. It's not showing up in RRD-Explorer, so it must be empty.

EDIT - Who changed this image?? This is not the one I uploaded way back...


Attachments:
graph_image.php.png
graph_image.php.png [ 3.68 KiB | Viewed 68266 times ]

_________________
This is my sick nature...


Last edited by hbokh on Fri Oct 28, 2005 3:36 am, edited 3 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: using fping
PostPosted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 2:05 pm
Posts: 19
It would be really nice if we could get the full smokeping functionality here too, using fping instead of regular ping. fping gives you a much more accurate picture of latency.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 8:42 am
Posts: 45
I developp HTTP and SMTP echoping too.

See the template graph for modify name, you can modify text and other :)

For red line, you can delete the item but when you will have 100 % lost packet, it would'nt be graph !!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: some modifications to ping-latency.pl
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 9:40 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22461
Location: Muenster, Germany
predou,

merci beaucoup pour votre travail.
Many thanks for your work. Comparing this to some other solutions I found some interesting modifications.
In spite of
Code:
ping -nqc 5
I'm using now
Code:
ping -nqc 11 -l 3 -i .2 -w 2
on RHEL 4.0.
-l 3 preloads 3 packets
-i .2 defines the time gap between to pings so it's faster
-w 2 will force the command to stop after 2 seconds maximum
For a more reliable ping time, I increased the ping count (-c) from 5 to 11.

Cheers
Reinhard :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2005 4:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 4:37 pm
Posts: 41
To get rid of that initial RED ... i change the color of HOST DOWN from RED to NO COLOR in Graph Template :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 8:01 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 4:29 pm
Posts: 40
Location: Groningen, NL
mrgenius wrote:
To get rid of that initial RED ... i change the color of HOST DOWN from RED to NO COLOR in Graph Template :)
Duh... so when a system goes down for real that won't show up either..? :-?

_________________
This is my sick nature...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: smokeping graphs with fping
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:55 pm
Posts: 5
I have small script for fping because solaris ping doesn't have -c option in ping. I am reusing the same xml file as attached before with my script that gives same output but all I get is red graph. RRd file seems to get updated but all it has is NaN. Script on command line seems to work fine. Can anyone help ?

Here is my script ....
#!/usr/bin/perl

$host = $ARGV[0];
$ping=`fping -c 10 -p 50 -q $host 2>&1`;
($x, $y) = split (",", $ping);
($xmt,$rcv,$loss) = ($x =~ /(\d+)\/(\d+)\/(\d+)/);
($min,$avg,$max) = ($y =~ /(\d+\.?\d*)\/(\d+\.?\d*)\/(\d+\.?\d*)/);
$dev1 = $avg - $min;
$dev2 = $max - $avg;
$dev = ($dev1 + $dev2)/2;
print "min:$min avg:$avg max:$max dev:$dev loss:$loss";


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:48 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 8:42 am
Posts: 45
yop !
Enable debug mode in Cacti and see what you perl script return to Cacti when update !!!!

When Cacti parse, maybe he not parse good your returns ....


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 100 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group