Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Fri Feb 15, 2019 10:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Issue w/Aggregate
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2018 8:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:11 am
Posts: 6
Good day. I am using cacti 1.2.0-beta2.

I am attempting to create an aggregate but having an issue. I have two "base" graphs, each made up of a single graphed datapoint along with LAST/AVG/MIN/MAX data. Cacti graph debug output suggests it uses this to generate the "base" graphs:
/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start='-180000' \
--end='-60' \
--pango-markup \
--title='Graph \\nv-dc2-ucm1-1.nevosi.com\Cisco CallManager\InitializationState' \
--slope-mode \
--height=300 \
--width=800 \
--dynamic-labels \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit='0' \
--color BACK#F3F3F3 \
--color CANVAS#FDFDFD \
--color SHADEA#CBCBCB \
--color SHADEB#999999 \
--color FONT#000000 \
--color AXIS#2C4D43 \
--color ARROW#2C4D43 \
--color FRAME#2C4D43 \
--border 1 --font TITLE:11:'Arial' \
--font AXIS:8:'Arial' \
--font LEGEND:8:'Courier' \
--font UNIT:8:'Arial' \
--font WATERMARK:6:'Arial' \
--slope-mode \
--watermark 'Generated by Cacti®' \
DEF:a='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-1_nevosi_com_countername_45.rrd':'countername':LAST \
DEF:b='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-1_nevosi_com_countername_45.rrd':'countername':AVERAGE \
DEF:c='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-1_nevosi_com_countername_45.rrd':'countername':MIN \
DEF:d='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-1_nevosi_com_countername_45.rrd':'countername':MAX \
AREA:a#C34A2CFF:'\\nv-dc2-ucm1-1.nevosi.com\Cisco CallManager\InitializationState':STACK \
GPRINT:a:LAST:'Cur\:%8.0lf' \
GPRINT:b:AVERAGE:'Avg\:%8.0lf' \
GPRINT:c:MIN:'Min\:%8.0lf' \
GPRINT:d:MAX:'Max\:%8.0lf\n'

/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start='-180000' \
--end='-60' \
--pango-markup \
--title='Graph \\nv-dc2-ucm1-2.nevosi.com\Cisco CallManager\InitializationState' \
--slope-mode \
--height=300 \
--width=800 \
--dynamic-labels \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit='0' \
--color BACK#F3F3F3 \
--color CANVAS#FDFDFD \
--color SHADEA#CBCBCB \
--color SHADEB#999999 \
--color FONT#000000 \
--color AXIS#2C4D43 \
--color ARROW#2C4D43 \
--color FRAME#2C4D43 \
--border 1 --font TITLE:11:'Arial' \
--font AXIS:8:'Arial' \
--font LEGEND:8:'Courier' \
--font UNIT:8:'Arial' \
--font WATERMARK:6:'Arial' \
--slope-mode \
--watermark 'Generated by Cacti®' \
DEF:a='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-2_nevosi_com_countername_46.rrd':'countername':LAST \
DEF:b='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-2_nevosi_com_countername_46.rrd':'countername':AVERAGE \
DEF:c='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-2_nevosi_com_countername_46.rrd':'countername':MIN \
DEF:d='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-2_nevosi_com_countername_46.rrd':'countername':MAX \
AREA:a#C34A2CFF:'\\nv-dc2-ucm1-2.nevosi.com\Cisco CallManager\InitializationState':STACK \
GPRINT:a:LAST:'Cur\:%8.0lf' \
GPRINT:b:AVERAGE:'Avg\:%8.0lf' \
GPRINT:c:MIN:'Min\:%8.0lf' \
GPRINT:d:MAX:'Max\:%8.0lf\n'

If I create an aggregate from those two "base" graphs and total everything, I get an error of "ERROR: Legend set but no color: Min\: :STACK". Looking at the aggregate's graph debug output, I get:
/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start='-180000' \
--end='-60' \
--pango-markup \
--title='Aggregate Graph' \
--slope-mode \
--height=300 \
--width=800 \
--dynamic-labels \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit='0' \
--color BACK#F3F3F3 \
--color CANVAS#FDFDFD \
--color SHADEA#CBCBCB \
--color SHADEB#999999 \
--color FONT#000000 \
--color AXIS#2C4D43 \
--color ARROW#2C4D43 \
--color FRAME#2C4D43 \
--border 1 --font TITLE:11:'Arial' \
--font AXIS:8:'Arial' \
--font LEGEND:8:'Courier' \
--font UNIT:8:'Arial' \
--font WATERMARK:6:'Arial' \
--slope-mode \
--watermark 'Generated by Cacti®' \
DEF:a='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-1_nevosi_com_countername_45.rrd':'countername':LAST \
DEF:b='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-1_nevosi_com_countername_45.rrd':'countername':AVERAGE \
DEF:c='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-1_nevosi_com_countername_45.rrd':'countername':MIN \
DEF:d='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-1_nevosi_com_countername_45.rrd':'countername':MAX \
DEF:e='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-2_nevosi_com_countername_46.rrd':'countername':LAST \
DEF:f='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-2_nevosi_com_countername_46.rrd':'countername':AVERAGE \
DEF:g='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-2_nevosi_com_countername_46.rrd':'countername':MIN \
DEF:h='/root/cacti-1.2.0-beta2/rra/nv-dc2-ucm1-2_nevosi_com_countername_46.rrd':'countername':MAX \
CDEF:cdefba='TIME,1540904867,GT,a,a,UN,0,a,IF,IF,TIME,1540904867,GT,e,e,UN,0,e,IF,IF,+' \
CDEF:cdefbc='TIME,1540904867,GT,b,b,UN,0,b,IF,IF,TIME,1540904867,GT,f,f,UN,0,f,IF,IF,+' \
CDEF:cdefbd='TIME,1540904867,GT,c,c,UN,0,c,IF,IF,TIME,1540904867,GT,g,g,UN,0,g,IF,IF,+' \
CDEF:cdefbe='TIME,1540904867,GT,d,d,UN,0,d,IF,IF,TIME,1540904867,GT,h,h,UN,0,h,IF,IF,+' \
AREA:a#C34A2CFF:'\\nv-dc2-ucm1-1.nevosi.com\Cisco CallManager\InitializationState' \
GPRINT:a:LAST:'Cur\:%8.0lf' \
GPRINT:b:AVERAGE:'Avg\:%8.0lf' \
AREA:c:'Min\: ':STACK \
GPRINT:d:MAX:'Max\:%8.0lf\n' \
AREA:e#C34A2CFF:'\\nv-dc2-ucm1-2.nevosi.com\Cisco CallManager\InitializationState':STACK \
GPRINT:e:LAST:'Cur\:%8.0lf' \
GPRINT:f:AVERAGE:'Avg\:%8.0lf' \
AREA:g:'Min\: ':STACK \
GPRINT:h:MAX:'Max\:%8.0lf\n' \
LINE1:cdefba#C34A2CFF:'Total ' \
GPRINT:cdefba:LAST:'Cur\:%8.0lf' \
GPRINT:cdefbc:AVERAGE:'Avg\:%8.0lf' \
LINE1:cdefbd:'Min\: ' \
GPRINT:cdefbe:MAX:'Max\:%8.0lf\n'

It appears that the aggregate is treating "Min" as AREA, instead of GPRINT. Any suggestions on how I could sort out why?

(Offtopic question: Is this the best place to report on 1.2.0-beta2 issues? I've run in to a few as I've been playing with it this morning and would love to help get them looked at before a formal 1.2.0 release. If no, could you point me in the best place to report them? Thanks.)

Thanks!,
-jd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Issue w/Aggregate
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 10:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 11:11 am
Posts: 6
Ok, so after a lot of futzing around, I appear to have "fixed" this. It appears that if I change the graph item from GPRINT:MIN (with CF=MIN) to GPRINT (with CF=MIN) followed by un-totalling then re-totalling that field (either on the Aggregate or the Aggregate Template, if applicable) then it works.

Based on this, I changed all 4 of my GPRINT graph items to GPRINT (vs GPRINT:xxx). Is this correct? Full disclosure: I had a very similar problem with 1.1.38, so this isn't specific to 1.2.0-beta2.

-jd


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Issue w/Aggregate
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 11:26 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User

Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am
Posts: 2054
It may be worth opening an issue with steps you took to see if it's something that could be properly handled. I doubt it would be in the 1.2 timeframe but if it's there it should be eventually addressed.

_________________
Official Cacti Developer

Cacti Resources:
Cacti Website (including releases)
Cacti Issues
Cacti Development Releases
Cacti Development Documentation

My resources:
How to submit Pull Requests
Development Wiki and How To's
Updated NetSNMP Memory template for Cacti 1.x
Cisco SFP template for Cacti 0.8.8


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group