Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Thu Dec 13, 2018 12:53 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 7:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:26 am
Posts: 45
Yes, problem solved ;)

One other question - "Wait" is this the I/O Wait? I need the values for the I/O wait.
Uuh, other question, can you explain "ticks/s"? it would be very helpful for me.

thx - Regards,
Oliver


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 12, 2005 7:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2005 12:55 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Paris/France
Hi,

Yes indeed Wait is short for I/O Wait.

About the timeticks, it means that you dont get a percentage but a number of ticks per seconds. This is the way the OS gives it.
To get a percentage, just make a CDEF that makes the division of the measurement (WAIT, IDLE, KERNEL or USER) by the <total all data srouces nodup>, and that then multiplies it by 100. There you get your percentage.


Olivier


Attachments:
ticks to percent.JPG
ticks to percent.JPG [ 39.75 KiB | Viewed 12108 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPU stats - templates
PostPosted: Fri Jun 17, 2005 8:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 4:26 am
Posts: 18
dgamble wrote:
Just a note to everyone doing this- not all of these CPU values are present on a given architecture. For example, Linux 2.6 will have "nice" CPU, but Solaris does not. And, not all versions of net-snmp have support for them.
I have just done some Template for FreeBSD.
You can use them if you like..
Note to Cacti developpers, can these template (solaris, linux, freebsd, etc..) be added into next cacti ? It should good to not look around everything there ?


Attachments:
cacti_graph_template_ucdnet_cpu_usage_freebsd.xml [32.35 KiB]
Downloaded 658 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 01, 2005 3:41 pm 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:51 am
Posts: 435
Location: UK
Anyone know why some of my net-snmp'd solaris boxes would produce a graph like this? It seems to skip a beat every now and then. Other solaris boxes are ok, but I've at least 2 like this. Up time stats on the devices page says 100%


Attachments:
File comment: Solaris missed beat cpu graph
untitled.JPG
untitled.JPG [ 37.86 KiB | Viewed 11770 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: I'd like to start snmp service on sun solaris. Please help m
PostPosted: Thu Nov 17, 2005 3:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 2:02 am
Posts: 11
I'd like to start snmp service on sun solaris. Please help me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 5:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 32
Location: Texas
dgamble wrote:
stigmata wrote:
Hi dgamble,

thx for your great CPU-Script. I use the one for the 2.6 linux kernel. It works great but one thing, I get a "nan" at the "Wait" value (but this is very importend for me :)).

What can I do?

Regards,
Oliver


I believe that net-snmp returns that object only as of version 5.2, which is probably the issue.


Sorry for bringing back an old thread, but I'm having this issue now.

net-snmp-5.0.9-2.90.1
net-snmp-5.1.2-11

The 5.0.x system does NOT return the "Wait".
The 5.1.x system returns the "Wait" and others.

But upgrading all of the necessary packages to get net-snmp-5.1.2
installed on a RHEL 3 box is a pain in the butt. I hate dependencies.

_________________
http://www.TheHEMI.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Solaris 8 + snmpdx : HOW INSTALL UCD-SNMP-MIB ON SOLARIS 8
PostPosted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 8:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2006 8:01 am
Posts: 1
On my Solaris 8 server I have snmpd working fine, but I need other oids.

When I run "snmpwalk" from outside (from a linux with net-snmp) I can only get values from this categories:

IF-MIB
IP-MIB
RFC1213-MIB
SNMPv2-MIB
TCP-MIB
UDP-MIB

I need check CPU, MEM, etc (they are inside UCD-SNMP-MIB) but I don't know how to install it on Solaris 8 (without installing net-snmp for solaris).

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: cpu_nice does not show up on graph
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 5:10 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 3:46 pm
Posts: 48
Location: Europe
It seems that cpu_nice doesnt show up on the graph.

In the log file I see :

08/17/2007 12:40:01 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[2] DS[135] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.11, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 7320
08/17/2007 12:40:01 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[3] DS[19] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.12, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 409
08/17/2007 12:40:01 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[4] DS[29] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.13, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 1146
08/17/2007 12:40:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[5] DS[40] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.1, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 87
08/17/2007 12:40:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[6] DS[52] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.101, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 1553
08/17/2007 12:40:06 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[8] DS[73] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.102, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 1518
08/17/2007 12:45:01 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[2] DS[135] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.11, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 7320
08/17/2007 12:45:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[3] DS[19] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.12, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 409
08/17/2007 12:45:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[4] DS[29] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.13, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 1146
08/17/2007 12:45:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[5] DS[40] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.1, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 87
08/17/2007 12:45:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[6] DS[52] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.101, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 1553
08/17/2007 12:45:06 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[8] DS[73] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.102, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 1518
08/17/2007 12:50:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[2] DS[135] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.11, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 7320
08/17/2007 12:50:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[3] DS[19] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.12, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 409
08/17/2007 12:50:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[4] DS[29] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.13, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 1146
08/17/2007 12:50:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[5] DS[40] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.1, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 87
08/17/2007 12:50:02 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[6] DS[52] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.101, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 1553
08/17/2007 12:50:06 AM - CACTID: Poller[0] Host[8] DS[73] SNMP: v2: 192.168.0.102, dsname: cpu_nice, oid: .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.11.51.0, value: 1518

The rrd file is obviously created.. but when looking at the graph the :
Nice CPU Data Source
The data source to use for this graph item. is set to None

Even if I choose the right rrd from the list and save it , next time I open it it still shows None.

Can someone please explain this ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: CPU Usage for Solaris
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 10:21 am
Posts: 1
hi all, if there have any templates for windows server 2003? Plz help to offer one or give some guide to solve this issue, thanks a lot!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 1
dgamble wrote:
stigmata wrote:
Hi dgamble,

thx for your great CPU-Script. I use the one for the 2.6 linux kernel. It works great but one thing, I get a "nan" at the "Wait" value (but this is very importend for me :)).

What can I do?

Regards,
Oliver


I believe that net-snmp returns that object only as of version 5.2, which is probably the issue.



How can i reduce my electricity cost? I am working out on a project to make the electricity bill for computing disappear? I have decided to try to find out.I also spent time with the devices - autosuspending as many devices as possible. The major applications – such as Apache, sendmail, NTP, etc – were tuned for CPU efficiency, and any necessary applications and hardware (eg the backlight and WiFi) were disabled. The networking was simplified to reduce consumption to 8W for one ADSL router. The upshot of this part of the story is that it all worked and looking for more option

_________________
https://magesolar.com/best-portable-solar-generator


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group