Cacti Graph for Cisco Router are incomplete

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
TheBob
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 8:37 am

Cacti Graph for Cisco Router are incomplete

#1 Post by TheBob » Wed Nov 06, 2019 7:06 am

Hello @all,

we have some Cisco Router monitored by Cacti. If i see the graph from CPU, Memory, Ping Latency or INterface statistic the graph are incomplete.
r1.jpg
r1.jpg (378.19 KiB) Viewed 57 times
Cacti Version 1.2.7

With tcpdump on cacti ubuntu server i can see the getrequest and getresponse.

Can someone help me to fix the problem.
Thanks in advanced

User avatar
camerabob
Cacti User
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Contact:

Re: Cacti Graph for Cisco Router are incomplete

#2 Post by camerabob » Wed Nov 06, 2019 8:37 am

The breaks all appear at the same time it seems. Look into your cacti logs and see if you are getting timeouts. If so, increase resources in the poller, or slow down the polling cycles.
See the Cacti 1.x templates I use at: http://www.camerabob.com/cacti

Live: Cacti 1.2.3 @ CentOS 7-6.1810.2.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Flowview @ 2.1
Mactrack @ 4.2
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

Test: Cacti 1.2.6-1.el7 @ CentOS 7-7.1908.0.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

TheBob
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 8:37 am

Re: Cacti Graph for Cisco Router are incomplete

#3 Post by TheBob » Wed Nov 06, 2019 8:48 am

Hello camerabob,

thanks for replay. The pol interval is on 5 min. Logfiles has no error for the devices just infos abou getrequest and getresponse.
The SNMP uptime for availibility has no timeouts and is by 100%
I have 4 router Cisco 7900 and 3 of them have the same problem, all in same LAN and all routers configured identical with snmp setings and the same cacti config
Also we have a Cisco c3900 ISA how has the same problem but that one hat a plugin with cisco Switches because with router plugin i don't get any messurements.
For the first i would like to have the 7900 up and running.
Any other things what i can check?

many thanks TheBOb

TheBob
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 8:37 am

Re: Cacti Graph for Cisco Router are incomplete

#4 Post by TheBob » Thu Nov 07, 2019 6:03 am

Hello @all,
i have now on several other cisco switching devices the same problem.
I have now update our php to version 7.3 becaus i was not sure if that one is the problem.

Is there a chance to poll the each device with some one more timespace after each device? Mybe the poll itselfs is to fast for all the device data?

User avatar
camerabob
Cacti User
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 2:45 pm
Location: Long Island, New York, USA
Contact:

Re: Cacti Graph for Cisco Router are incomplete

#5 Post by camerabob » Thu Nov 07, 2019 9:35 am

What version of Cacti/OS?
See the Cacti 1.x templates I use at: http://www.camerabob.com/cacti

Live: Cacti 1.2.3 @ CentOS 7-6.1810.2.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Flowview @ 2.1
Mactrack @ 4.2
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

Test: Cacti 1.2.6-1.el7 @ CentOS 7-7.1908.0.el7 & PHP 5.4.16-46.el7
Maint @ 1.2
Monitor @ 2.3.6
Thold @ 1.2.4

TheBob
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 8:37 am

Re: Cacti Graph for Cisco Router are incomplete

#6 Post by TheBob » Fri Nov 08, 2019 2:41 am

Cacti is running on Ubuntu 16.04.6 LTS (GNU/Linux 4.4.0-166-generic x86_64)

TheBob
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 8:37 am

Re: Cacti Graph for Cisco Router are incomplete

#7 Post by TheBob » Fri Nov 08, 2019 6:26 am

OK I spend several ours again and find out that the rrd files are not updated automaticly after poller runs.
the cron is working

Code: Select all

Nov  8 11:45:01 subu-caac-rv4 CRON[27818]: (www-data) CMD (    php /var/www/html/cacti/poller.php > /var/www/html/cacti/log/cron.log 2>&1)
Nov  8 11:50:01 subu-caac-rv4 CRON[29707]: (www-data) CMD (    php /var/www/html/cacti/poller.php > /var/www/html/cacti/log/cron.log 2>&1)
Nov  8 11:55:01 subu-caac-rv4 CRON[4179]: (www-data) CMD (    php /var/www/html/cacti/poller.php > /var/www/html/cacti/log/cron.log 2>&1)
Nov  8 12:00:01 subu-caac-rv4 CRON[11670]: (www-data) CMD (    php /var/www/html/cacti/poller.php > /var/www/html/cacti/log/cron.log 2>&1)
Nov  8 12:05:01 subu-caac-rv4 CRON[19084]: (www-data) CMD (    php /var/www/html/cacti/poller.php > /var/www/html/cacti/log/cron.log 2>&1)
Nov  8 12:10:01 subu-caac-rv4 CRON[26590]: (www-data) CMD (    php /var/www/html/cacti/poller.php > /var/www/html/cacti/log/cron.log 2>&1)
Nov  8 12:15:01 subu-caac-rv4 CRON[1794]: (www-data) CMD (    php /var/www/html/cacti/poller.php > /var/www/html/cacti/log/cron.log 2>&1)
and after adding a new device older once are not updating:

Code: Select all

-rwxrwxrwx 1 www-data www-data 189024 Nov  8 12:10 c_infra1_r18_traffic_in_1984.rrd
-rwxrwxrwx 1 www-data www-data 189024 Nov  8 12:10 c_infra1_r18_traffic_in_1983.rrd
-rwxrwxrwx 1 www-data www-data  95608 Nov  8 12:10 c_infra1_r18_int_status_1894.rrd
-rwxrwxrwx 1 www-data www-data  95608 Nov  8 12:10 c_infra1_r18_int_status_1893.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 282440 Nov  8 12:10 ring1-sitea-r2_load_1min_2235.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data  95608 Nov  8 12:10 ring1-sitea-r2_5min_cpu_2234.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 189024 Nov  8 12:10 ring1-sitea-r2_traffic_in_2240.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 189024 Nov  8 12:10 ring1-sitea-r2_traffic_in_2239.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 189024 Nov  8 12:10 ring1-sitea-r2_traffic_in_2238.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 282440 Nov  8 12:10 ring1-sitea-r2_poollargest_2237.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 282440 Nov  8 12:10 ring1-sitea-r2_poollargest_2236.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data  95608 Nov  8 12:15 ring1-siteb-r1_5min_cpu_2241.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 282440 Nov  8 12:15 ring1-siteb-r1_load_1min_2242.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 282440 Nov  8 12:15 ring1-siteb-r1_poollargest_2243.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 282440 Nov  8 12:15 ring1-siteb-r1_poollargest_2244.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 189024 Nov  8 12:15 ring1-siteb-r1_traffic_in_2245.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 189024 Nov  8 12:15 ring1-siteb-r1_traffic_in_2246.rrd
-rw-rw-r-- 1 www-data www-data 189024 Nov  8 12:15 ring1-siteb-r1_traffic_in_2247.rrd
I have no Idear what it coud be.
any help?

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2978
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Cacti Graph for Cisco Router are incomplete

#8 Post by netniV » Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:44 am

Are you overrunning your poller cycles? Do have you have a number of devices that are timing out on a regular basis?

TheBob
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2018 8:37 am

Re: Cacti Graph for Cisco Router are incomplete

#9 Post by TheBob » Fri Nov 08, 2019 8:58 am

yes there are are some devices there are timing out. But all devices are fully available over SNMP uptime.
for all devices how timing out there are no rrd files updated and most of them are Cisco devices (Router / Switches)

Post Reply