Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sun May 26, 2019 2:36 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 527 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 36  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:29 am
Posts: 2
Got a problem...

Advanced ping draws me a 100%LOSS red area...

when run from command line like:
php /opt/apache/htdocs/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php 10.0.0.1 20 ICMP
i'm getting results like:
min:3.0200 avg:7.1660 max:18.1600 dev:3.8572 loss:0.0000
looks good...

but when run under the scripts_server, I'm getting just this line:
loss:100.00

WTF?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:42 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14804
Location: MI, USA
If you are running UNIX, the script_server has to have rights to create a RAW socket (aka root or asroot). Otherwise use something like "TCP 80" or something similar. Windows does not care.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2005 10:29 am
Posts: 2
Byt how to ping this way GOOGLE.com or YAHOO.de or NS.RIPE.net as they show LOSS 100% when trying to ping them by TCP 80 port...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 3:39 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
XStrafer wrote:
Byt how to ping this way GOOGLE.com or YAHOO.de or NS.RIPE.net as they show LOSS 100% when trying to ping them by TCP 80 port...

Hmm, I'm kinda worried about your statement. As I'm polling one of those with exactly this script using TCP 80 without any problems (how the hell would google.com answer to http requests if it does not SYN to TCP 80?).
May you please check the function against some local hosts of your own? To get results quick, please run the script from command line providing hostname, number of requests, protocol (ICMP, TCP, UDP) and port.
Reinhard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Advanced ping to IPv6 address
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 2:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2005 2:30 am
Posts: 1
Hello,

it's possible to add IPv6 support to ss_fping.php?

It would be nice.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:32 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14804
Location: MI, USA
Use the Script Server debug statement to determine what is going on:

1) login as the cactid demon user account:

2) cd to the cacti web root

3) run: "php <path_cacti>/script_server.php"

NOTE: you should not get any errors or warnings

4) enter one of your ss_fping commands from the poller_cache

5) post anything out of the ordinary

BTB, my testing was ICMP'ing and TCP 80 pinging www.google.com no problem.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:34 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14804
Location: MI, USA
JaMa,

I will check into IPv6 for you. This will be somewhat dependent on PHP.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 5:39 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14804
Location: MI, USA
Off hand, it does not look too difficult to add an IPv6 to ss_fping.php. However, I have a question. Is your cacti installation today working properly with IPv6? I have not implemented it in Cactid, so I was just wondering.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 7:49 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 8:57 am
Posts: 52
Can this plugin be use for masuring a specific network service's latency?
I know I can specific the port number when creating a graph, but maybe this Plugin is not smart enough to construct such specific packet.
for example, the LDAP request should including this info within the packet.
Code:
host = my.host
attrs = uid,someotherattr
base = dc=foo,dc=bar
binddn = uid=testuser,dc=foo,dc=bar
filter = uid=testuser # mandatory
mininterval = 1
password = mypass
pings = 5
port = 389
start_tls = 1
timeout = 10
version = 3
copied from http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~oetiker/webtools/smokeping/probe/LDAP.en.html

Maybe, my request is far from this plugin's original purose, forgive me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:18 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14804
Location: MI, USA
I know where you are going. This is not too difficult, but I have other priorities.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 8:50 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
ioiioi wrote:
Can this plugin be use for masuring a specific network service's latency?
I know I can specific the port number when creating a graph, but maybe this Plugin is not smart enough to construct such specific packet.
for example, the LDAP request should including this info within the packet.
Code:
host = my.host
attrs = uid,someotherattr
base = dc=foo,dc=bar
binddn = uid=testuser,dc=foo,dc=bar
filter = uid=testuser # mandatory
mininterval = 1
password = mypass
pings = 5
port = 389
start_tls = 1
timeout = 10
version = 3
copied from http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~oetiker/webtools/smokeping/probe/LDAP.en.html

Maybe, my request is far from this plugin's original purose, forgive me.
You may create it on your own, e.g. using shell/perl/php or the like. Run the probing command against the server and print the time difference. There has been a Template for OpenLDAP in the forum, search/google for that. More examples are available at the original smokeping site at http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~oetiker/webtools/smokeping/. When it comes to coloring and statistics it would be best to read the code of "Advanced Ping" itself.
Reinhard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Error: XML: Hash version does not exist.
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 3:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 12
Importing the graph template gives me this error. Error: XML: Hash version does not exist. Are there any other modules required for successful import of this one?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 5:50 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14804
Location: MI, USA
What is your cacti version. You need to be on 0.8.6g.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2005 1:30 pm
Posts: 12
That did the trick. Thank you very much. I was using 0.8.6d.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 3:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2005 9:38 am
Posts: 16
Location: Zuerich
hi i have install this scirpt and i have this error:

Code:
reanimation:/opt/cacti/lib # /opt/lampp/bin/php /opt/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php ss_fping 127.0.0.1 5 ICMP

Notice: Undefined variable:  method in /opt/cacti/scripts/ss_fping.php on line 56

Warning: socket_connect() expects parameter 3 to be long, string given in /opt/cacti/lib/ping.php on line 220

Warning: socket_write() unable to write to socket [89]: Destination address required in /opt/cacti/lib/ping.php on line 244


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 527 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 36  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group