Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 10:40 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 524 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ... 35  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 2:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 8:59 am
Posts: 17
[[email protected] scripts]# php ss_fping.php www.google.com 20 ICMP

min:14.9500 avg:15.0125 max:15.3500 dev:0.1000 loss:0.0000

Can you get this to work?

make sure you are root, and try it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:19 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:43 pm
Posts: 52
It works all day as root...But if i try running it as any other in the CLI...i get permission errors...

_________________
| Cacti 0.8.6h | MySQL 5.0.22 | PHP 5.1.2
|Apache2.20 | RRDtool 1.2.13 | CentOS 4.3 | P4 3200Mhz | 2.5GB |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 11:02 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14802
Location: MI, USA
In Unix/Linux, you must be root to generate ICMP packets. It's a long story, but I did place an experimental change in lib/ping.php to allow ping to run if you set php to have as root privileges and have to POSIX PHP module loaded in that version of PHP. You should give it a test, but I would make sure that copy of PHP is not used for your web server, only the poller.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: no reply
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 2:14 pm
Posts: 12
CoolTom wrote:
everything is ok, but when is the destination down (no ping reply) i didnt get RED color like 100% packet loss but this "WHITE HOLE". Where is problem? Or its correct? May be its when ping get answer:

Reply from xx.xx.xx.85: Destination host unreachable.

thnx for help or answ :-) Tom

--
end where is green staff at AVG LATENCY 0:-)


TheWitness: could you fix this bug? I have a threshold set up to send notification if packet loss goes over a certain amount but it's not going to throw a notification if there's 100% packet loss becuase it simply won't show any loss :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2006 9:14 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14802
Location: MI, USA
The intent was to fix this in 0.9. But being that it's delayed, I will see what I can do.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 7:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 7:00 am
Posts: 4
I cant get info detecting UDP port.

[[email protected] cacti]# php ./scripts/ss_fping.php 127.0.0.1 20 UDP 161
loss:100.00

but TCP is right.
[[email protected] cacti]# php ./scripts/ss_fping.php 127.0.0.1 20 TCP 199
min:0.0800 avg:0.5645 max:3.1300 dev:0.6705 loss:0.0000

anyone knows why?

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 12:59 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14802
Location: MI, USA
Well, first of all SNMP is connectionless. So there is no guarentee that a UDP ping will generate a reponse. This is especially true with SNMP because it is designed not to respond unless thier is a request with a valid community string.

You are better off performing a UDP ping with an unknown port. That will generate a ICMP response of "port not found". This is only true if your routers are configured to allow this return ICMP traffic to travel the WAN of course.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Last edited by TheWitness on Mon Jul 31, 2006 5:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 12:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 7:00 am
Posts: 4
i see, thanks, Witness, I'd confused UDP with TCP.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 31, 2006 9:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2006 2:14 pm
Posts: 12
TheWitness wrote:
The intent was to fix this in 0.9. But being that it's delayed, I will see what I can do.

TheWitness


Thanks! In the meantime, is there any way to set up a threshold that will trigger when there's 100% packet loss? I don't know how I could say "when average ping goes below %nan" or if there's an alternative.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 5:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 5:46 am
Posts: 4
can i user this template to monitor a host without setting up snmp function?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 6:00 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14802
Location: MI, USA
Simply leave the community string blank.

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 6:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 5:46 am
Posts: 4
TheWitness wrote:
Simply leave the community string blank.


yes, i have tried, but no picture appeared.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2006 4:53 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14802
Location: MI, USA
What is in the Cacti log? Can you post the graphic?

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: NEW Advanced Ping Template Version 1.3 for Cacti 0.8.6g
PostPosted: Mon Aug 07, 2006 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 2:32 pm
Posts: 32
Location: PR
I have installed the Advanced Ping Template on Cacti EZ, I test the script and it is working but the graphs shows 100% packet loss.

Any Idea???

[[email protected] AdvancedPing]# php /var/www/html/scripts/ss_fping.php 192.168.28.253 20 ICMP
Content-type: text/html
X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.9

min:11.1000 avg:13.6755 max:32.6200 dev:5.9406 loss:0.0000


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: question
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2006 5:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 9:34 pm
Posts: 22
Quote:
everything is ok, but when is the destination down (no ping reply) i didnt get RED color like 100% packet loss but this "WHITE HOLE". Where is problem? Or its correct? May be its when ping get answer:


I'm curious if there is a patch that I can apply to any of the scripts? I'm currently in the same situation where a failed link will not show 100% loss.

Thanks!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 524 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 ... 35  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group