Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Fri Mar 22, 2019 9:45 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 524 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 35  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Advanced Ping not graphing anything
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 5:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 5:46 pm
Posts: 8
I can't get the graphs to show any data. I am running windows Cacti 0.8.6g, all patches, PHP 5.0.5, latest versions (that I could find) of ping.php, ss_fping.php, and the Adv Ping template. Oh yea also using cactid for polling.

Image


If I run ss_fping from a command prompt, it returns some data, I get:
    c:\php\php-win.exe c:\cacti\scripts\ss_fping.php route079 15 ICMP
    min:36.4700 avg:39.9187 max:49.6600 dev:3.7547 loss:0.0000Creating directory: /c:
    Creating directory: /c:/usr
    Creating directory: /c:/usr/snmp
    Creating directory: /c:
    Creating directory: /c:/usr
    Creating directory: /c:/usr/snmp
    Creating directory: /c:
    Creating directory: /c:/usr
    Creating directory: /c:/usr/snmp

Flipping logging to DEBUG mode, I get this:

    11/30/2005 12:20:59 PM - WEBLOG: Poller[0] CACTI2RRD: c:/rrdtool/rrdtool.exe graph - --imgformat=PNG --start=1133374852 --end=1133382052 --title="Route079 - Advanced Ping" --base=1000 --height=120 --width=500 --upper-limit=10 --lower-limit=0 --units-exponent=1 COMMENT:"From 2005/11/30 10\:20\:52 To 2005/11/30 12\:20\:52\c" COMMENT:" \n" --vertical-label="milliseconds" --slope-mode DEF:a="C\:/cacti/rra/route079_loss_394.rrd":min:AVERAGE DEF:b="C\:/cacti/rra/route079_loss_394.rrd":avg:AVERAGE DEF:c="C\:/cacti/rra/route079_loss_394.rrd":max:AVERAGE DEF:d="C\:/cacti/rra/route079_loss_394.rrd":loss:AVERAGE DEF:e="C\:/cacti/rra/route079_loss_394.rrd":dev:AVERAGE DEF:f="C\:/cacti/rra/route079_loss_394.rrd":avg:AVERAGE DEF:g="C\:/cacti/rra/route079_loss_394.rrd":avg:AVERAGE CDEF:cdefg=d,0,GT,d,2,GT,UNKN,INF,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefh=d,3,GT,d,5,GT,UNKN,INF,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefi=d,5,GT,d,10,GT,UNKN,INF,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefj=d,10,GT,d,15,GT,UNKN,INF,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefba=d,15,GT,d,50,GT,UNKN,INF,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefbb=d,50,GT,d,95,GT,UNKN,INF,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefbc=d,95,GT,d,100,GT,UNKN,INF,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefbd=d,UN,1,EQ,TIME,300,+,NOW,GT,UNKN,INF,IF,d,95,GT,INF,UNKN,IF,IF CDEF:cdefbf=e,2,/ CDEF:cdefbh=c,b,-,e,-,3,/ CDEF:cdefcd=d,0,GT,d,2,GT,UNKN,b,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefce=d,3,GT,d,5,GT,UNKN,b,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefcf=d,5,GT,d,10,GT,UNKN,b,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefcg=d,10,GT,d,15,GT,UNKN,b,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefch=d,15,GT,d,50,GT,b,INF,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefci=d,50,GT,d,95,GT,UNKN,b,IF,UNKN,IF CDEF:cdefcj=d,95,GT,d,100,GT,UNKN,b,IF,UNKN,IF COMMENT:" Pkt Loss\:" AREA:cdefg#AFECED:"1-2%" AREA:cdefh#55D6D3:"3-5%" AREA:cdefi#7CB3F1:"6-10%" AREA:cdefj#4668E4:"11-15%" AREA:cdefba#A150AA:"16-50%" AREA:cdefbb#FF00FF:"51-95%" AREA:cdefbc#F51D30:"96-100%" COMMENT:"Unknown\n" AREA:g#FFFFFF:"" AREA:cdefbf#333333:"":STACK AREA:cdefbf#555555:"":STACK AREA:cdefbh#888888:"":STACK AREA:cdefbh#AAAAAA:"":STACK AREA:cdefbh#CCCCCC:"":STACK GPRINT:d:AVERAGE:" Avg Loss\:%6.2lf%%" GPRINT:d:MAX:"Max Loss\:%6.2lf%%\n" COMMENT:" Latency\:" AREA:cdefcd#AFECED:"" AREA:cdefce#55D6D3:"" AREA:cdefcf#7CB3F1:"" AREA:cdefcg#4668E4:"" AREA:cdefch#A150AA:"" AREA:cdefci#FF00FF:"" AREA:cdefcj#F51D30:"" GPRINT:a:AVERAGE:"Min\:%8.2lf ms" GPRINT:g:AVERAGE:"Avg\:%8.2lf ms" GPRINT:c:MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf ms" GPRINT:e:AVERAGE:"Dev\:%8.2lf ms\n" COMMENT:"Avg Latency\:" LINE1:g#00BD27:"


RRA files are being created, other SNMP interface graphs work for the routers I am trying to graph.

Any pointers?

Thanks
Mike


Attachments:
advanceping_graph.png
advanceping_graph.png [ 14.91 KiB | Viewed 15890 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:20 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14804
Location: MI, USA
Does the "creating directory..." happen every time? Otherwise, please wait a polling cycle or two for the graph to appear. Also, what happens when your run "php <path_cacti>/cmd.php" at MEDIUM logging level?

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 2 things..
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 3:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2005 12:06 pm
Posts: 7
I love this script! It is so great to see how much
it has progressed.

1) Can you tell me the best way to modify ping.php to
somehow lower the "intensity" or rate of pings? Is there
a simple way to put a small pause between pings? My
issue: some of devices I have out there are qos / firewall
boxes and will return 0% loss with a normal ping (bash# ping 10.1.1.1)
but with this script I often show 20% or more loss. Ex: See graph below.
Again, I see the need for balance here, (more gap = longer poll), and
am having deja-vu back to one of my posts in orig thread.
http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?p=37161&highlight=#37161


2) On this graph below, Is the cause of the purple (color A150AA) covering the smoke a result of the cdef values duplicating? I.E.
Loss 11 - 15 % cdef = d,10,GT,d,15...
Loss 16 - 50 % cdef = d,15,GT,d,50...
Does that 15 value matching both cases cause this?


Attachments:
advping.jpg
advping.jpg [ 76.56 KiB | Viewed 15907 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 6:07 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14804
Location: MI, USA
I think maybe the lack of black bar could be the lack/number of successful ping results. You could add some delay using the usleep(xxx) function in ss_fping.php between ping attempts, where xxx are microseconds.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 6:09 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14804
Location: MI, USA
Oh, relative to item 2) above. I think you are correct. I think a new version of the Advance Ping Template is on the way. Until then, feel free to correct on your own.

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 5:46 pm
Posts: 8
TheWitness wrote:
Does the "creating directory..." happen every time? Otherwise, please wait a polling cycle or two for the graph to appear. Also, what happens when your run "php <path_cacti>/cmd.php" at MEDIUM logging level?


Yes the "creating dirs" happend every time.

Yep I waited several polling cycles to see if was working, the empty graph I posted was for two hours after I had created the graph


Result from running cmd.php with logging at Medium:
    View Cacti Log File [1 Items]

    12/01/2005 08:23:07 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] ERROR: The PHP Script: CMD.PHP Must be started using the full path to the file and in lower case. This is a PHP Bug!!!


I started trying to find out how to fix that problem after posting on this thread yesterday but haven't found a fix yet


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: making the poller run as "root"
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 2:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 7:59 am
Posts: 43
henryd31 wrote:
I saw your other post on making the poller run as "root" to be one of the
options here to allow the sockets to be created by the process and once
I did that it started working :-)

Thanks.


I see from your post above that this fixed your problem. I have searched the message boards and can't seem to find the post you are referencing. Can you point me in the right direction please. Thanks in advance,

Dan


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 02, 2005 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2002 7:59 am
Posts: 43
I'm sorry, I'm just stupid.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: problem with advanced ping
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 3:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 5:24 pm
Posts: 22
cacti uses snmp to determine if a host is down. If I create a host and use the advance ping, if that host is down, the poller won't pull for that host and I won't get any data for the ping. Is there a way I can use none for host, so if there is a problem with the host, I would still get loss:100%, since it can't be ping?

Thanks,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:04 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
To suspend snmp tests, please clear the community string for that very device
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:39 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14804
Location: MI, USA
The advanced ping template was/is intended to be a workaround until such time that Cacti 0.9 is released. At that point, the ping statistics would be stored in the database and the method would change to read the database, thus improving efficiency.

So, I guess what I'm saying is can you wait?

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 5:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2005 5:24 pm
Posts: 22
Thanks Reinhard ,

That's what I really needed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 5:46 pm
Posts: 8
Bumping this since I'm not sure if any of replies relate to my last post:

mikes1p wrote:
TheWitness wrote:
Does the "creating directory..." happen every time? Otherwise, please wait a polling cycle or two for the graph to appear. Also, what happens when your run "php <path_cacti>/cmd.php" at MEDIUM logging level?


Yes the "creating dirs" happend every time.

Yep I waited several polling cycles to see if was working, the empty graph I posted was for two hours after I had created the graph


Result from running cmd.php with logging at Medium:
    View Cacti Log File [1 Items]

    12/01/2005 08:23:07 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] ERROR: The PHP Script: CMD.PHP Must be started using the full path to the file and in lower case. This is a PHP Bug!!!

I started trying to find out how to fix that problem after posting on this thread yesterday but haven't found a fix yet


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:21 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Posts: 14804
Location: MI, USA
Your user does not have permission to create the directories. Please create them and then allow the poller user to wrx to them..

TheWitness

_________________
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: The latency time values are incorrect!!!
PostPosted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:02 am
Posts: 2
Hello everyone,
I got a problem about the Advance pingv1.3 . It looks all the latency time of graph are not correct! They are very different with the values come from cli mode. What is problem?
Appreciate your responding.


Attachments:
File comment: The latency value are absolutely incorrect here.
graph.JPG
graph.JPG [ 44.75 KiB | Viewed 15568 times ]
File comment: The latency value are correct here.
pingtime-cli.JPG
pingtime-cli.JPG [ 30.37 KiB | Viewed 15568 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 524 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 ... 35  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group