Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:40 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: problem with envmon template: no query made
PostPosted: Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:37 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
DanielG wrote:
But the graph is not updated.
What is the hosts status? See Devices list? If it is down, no polling will be performed. If it is up, please take one of the OIDs out of the XML file and try to snmpwalk against this to see, if the target hosts responds to that OIDs (or Settings->DEBUG and look at cacti.log)
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 4:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:00 am
Posts: 12
Location: Switzerland
Thanks Reinhard,

The device is active.
The snmpwalk is OK.

What puzzle me is there is no trace of query made by cacti to the device in the log,
as well as no query on the OID of the temp. (interface measure on the same cisco is OK)
In the following exemble one temperature an 2 interfaces are polled.

Looking in the cact table show no poller item with the id of the temp query.

How to check what went wrong?

SELECT * from data_local where host_id='45';
+------+------------------+---------+---------------+------------+
| id | data_template_id | host_id | snmp_query_id | snmp_index |
+------+------------------+---------+---------------+------------+
| 6942 | 41 | 45 | 1 | 3 |
| 6945 | 69 | 45 | 10 | 1 |
| 6941 | 41 | 45 | 1 | 2 |
+------+------------------+---------+---------------+------------+
select * from data_template_data where data_template_id=69 ;
+------+-----------------------------+---------------+------------------+---------------+--------+-------------------------------------------------------+--------------------------------------+----------------------------------------+----------+--------+------------+----------+----------+
| id | local_data_template_data_id | local_data_id | data_template_id | data_input_id | t_name | name | name_cache | data_source_path | t_active | active | t_rrd_step | rrd_step | t_rra_id |
+------+-----------------------------+---------------+------------------+---------------+--------+-------------------------------------------------------+--------------------------------------+----------------------------------------+----------+--------+------------+----------+----------+
| 7027 | 0 | 0 | 69 | 2 | | |host_description| Cisco Temp |query_TempStatusDescr| | | NULL | | on | | 300 | |
| 7028 | 7027 | 6945 | 69 | 2 | NULL | |host_description| Cisco Temp |query_TempStatusDescr| | ca-ai-a-1 Cisco Temp Chassis Tempera | <path_rra>/caaia1_tempstatval_6945.rrd | NULL | on | NULL | 300 | NULL |
+------+-----------------------------+---------------+------------------+---------------+--------+-------------------------------------------------------+--------------------------------------+----------------------------------------+----------+--------+------------+----------+----------+

The index seems OK:
mysql> SELECT * from graph_local where host_id='45';
+------+-------------------+---------+---------------+------------+
| id | graph_template_id | host_id | snmp_query_id | snmp_index |
+------+-------------------+---------+---------------+------------+
| 6765 | 50 | 45 | 10 | 1 |
| 6763 | 2 | 45 | 1 | 3 |
| 6762 | 2 | 45 | 1 | 2 |
+------+-------------------+---------+---------------+------------+

No poller item for temperature. So no polling
mysql> select * from poller_item where local_data_id='6945';
Empty set (0.00 sec)


Daniel.
We have rather the same setup
| Cacti 0.8.6h | cactid 0.8.6g | thold-0.2.7| RHEL 4.0 | kernel 2.6.9 | MySQL 4.1.12 | PHP 4.3.9 | Apache 2.0.52 | RRDtool 1.2.12 | gcc 3.4.4| net-snmp 5.1.2 |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Problem while using envmon template
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006 4:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:38 am
Posts: 3
lvm wrote:
ice wrote:
Hi,
I read all problems related to this template but I don't found anybody with my same problem so I decide to post a message.
I'm trying to graph cisco temperature using your template but when I create a graph, RRD Tool say: "ERROR: can't parse '#0000FF:Temperature'"
I don't know how I can solve this problem: I correctly import your template and when I check the related "Data Query" window I read "Successfully located XML file". This seems to me that also the snmp query is in the correct path (cacti/resource/snmp_queries/cisco_envmon_temp.xml).

Someone can help me?

I attach a jpg image with reported error

I'm sorry for my bad english
Thank you
Please goto the graph, select it and click on the wrench next to one of the graphs. Please post the complete rrdtool graph statement
Reinhard


Hi thanks for your support.
I hope I'm posting the output you ask me

/usr/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=1140036756 \
--end=1140036751 \
--title="gw1-inroma Cisco Temp |query_TempStatusDescr|" \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=500 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=0 \
COMMENT:"From 2006/02/15 21:52:36 To 2006/02/15 21:52:31\c" \
COMMENT:"\n" \
--vertical-label="Temperature" \
LINE1:#0000FF:"Temperature" \
GPRINT::LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT::AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT::MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE1:#FF0000:"Threshold" \
GPRINT::LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT::AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT::MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n"

(I post also the related print screen)

It seems correct also if I don't find anything related temperature oid. Is that correct?
I would also notice you that I don't have an empty graph.. I have no graph at all.

If you need some other output let me know.
Thanks again.


Attachments:
Untitled-2.jpg
Untitled-2.jpg [ 43.72 KiB | Viewed 15088 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:23 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
DanielG, please try a Clear Poller Cache which in fact rebuilds the poller cache. You may search the poller cache without having to use mysql from the Utilities Section
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:25 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
ice,
the graph statements show, that DEF entries are missing. They would specify the rrd file(s) to be used.
So, please try to re-import the XML Template and send a screenshot of the result.
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: cisco tenv mon temp no query,Fixed
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:00 am
Posts: 12
Location: Switzerland
On side, I've made a fresh clean new cacti install to test .
Added just cisco tenv mon temp
Created only one data source, from Cisco Temp.
Using poller.php instead of cactid.
Localhost is disabled, cicso enabled, so this cacti should make only one poll.

There is no poll generated and the log return:
02/15/2006 05:30:01 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] ERROR: Either there are no items in the cache or polling is disabled
02/15/2006 05:30:02 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:1.0348 Method:cmd.php Processes:1 Threads:N/A Hosts:2 HostsPerProcess:2 DataSources:0 RRDsProcessed:0

Then I've clered the Poller Cache
and it started to work as expected.
On the bigger production setup, a rebuild_poller_cache.php also unlocked the situation.
Thanks for the all who helped.

Daniel.
__
| Cacti 0.8.6h | cactid 0.8.6g | plugin-arch 0.9 | RHEL 4.0 | kernel 2.6.9 | MySQL 4.1.12 | PHP 4.3.9 | Apache 2.0.52 | RRDtool 1.2.12 | gcc 3.4.4| net-snmp 5.1.2 |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:00 am
Posts: 12
Location: Switzerland
Thanks it worked:

Quote:
DanielG, please try a Clear Poller Cache which in fact rebuilds the poller cache. You may search the poller cache without having to use mysql from the Utilities Section
Reinhard


Daniel.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2006 4:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 5:38 am
Posts: 3
lvm wrote:
ice,
the graph statements show, that DEF entries are missing. They would specify the rrd file(s) to be used.
So, please try to re-import the XML Template and send a screenshot of the result.
Reinhard


Hi,
thanks for your help. Now it works perfectly. It was a simple problem and your suggestion were very useful to debug it.

Thanks again for your quickly support (and sorry anymore for my bad english)

Ice


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 11:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 am
Posts: 46
Hi all,

wel i have imported these templates into my cacti (v0.8.6h) and this is the error that i am getting.


+ Running data query [11].
+ Found type = '3' [snmp query].
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/localhost/htdocs/cacti/resource/snmp_queries/cisco_envmon_temp.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ Executing SNMP walk for list of indexes @ '.1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.2'
+ Located input field 'TempStatusDescr' [walk]
+ Executing SNMP walk for data @ '.1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.2'
+ Found item [TempStatusDescr='chassis'] index: 1 [from value]
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/localhost/htdocs/cacti/resource/snmp_queries/cisco_envmon_temp.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/localhost/htdocs/cacti/resource/snmp_queries/cisco_envmon_temp.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/localhost/htdocs/cacti/resource/snmp_queries/cisco_envmon_temp.xml'



Basically i am trying to monitor out set of Cisco 3725 and 3620 routers. From the above output im guessing that the value 'chassis' means that either the MIB is not there or the OID could be wrong for the 3725 routers.

has anyone got this to work with using 3620 routers or 3725's?

any help would be great.
thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 5:01 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
churchi wrote:
+ Running data query [11].
+ Found type = '3' [snmp query].
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/localhost/htdocs/cacti/resource/snmp_queries/cisco_envmon_temp.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ Executing SNMP walk for list of indexes @ '.1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.2'
+ Located input field 'TempStatusDescr' [walk]
+ Executing SNMP walk for data @ '.1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1.2'
+ Found item [TempStatusDescr='chassis'] index: 1 [from value]
...

Basically i am trying to monitor out set of Cisco 3725 and 3620 routers. From the above output im guessing that the value 'chassis' means that either the MIB is not there or the OID could be wrong for the 3725 routers.

has anyone got this to work with using 3620 routers or 3725's?

any help would be great.
thanks
We're not running those devices. But the above is no error. It means, that the "name" of the temp sensor is "chassis". You may perform an snmpwalk against .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1 to see the results
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2004 2:08 am
Posts: 46
Hi Reinhard

thank you for your response.

here is the walk i did with that OID against our 3620 device.
snmpwalk -c xxxx -v1 x.x.x.x .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3.1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.2.1 = STRING: "chassis"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.6.1 = INTEGER: 1

is that integer the temp? it seems quite low if that is what it should be.

here are a few more wlaks:
snmpwalk -c xxxx -v1 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1.3
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.2.1 = STRING: "chassis"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.6.1 = INTEGER: 1


snmpwalk -c xxxx -v1 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13.1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.1.0 = INTEGER: 6
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.2.1 = STRING: "chassis"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.6.1 = INTEGER: 1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.5.1.2.1 = STRING: "AC Power Supply"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.5.1.3.1 = INTEGER: 1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.5.1.4.1 = INTEGER: 2



snmpwalk -c xxxx -v1 xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.9.13
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.1.0 = INTEGER: 6
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.2.1 = STRING: "chassis"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.3.1.6.1 = INTEGER: 1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.5.1.2.1 = STRING: "AC Power Supply"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.5.1.3.1 = INTEGER: 1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.1.5.1.4.1 = INTEGER: 2
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.2.1.0 = INTEGER: 2
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.2.2.0 = INTEGER: 2
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.2.3.0 = INTEGER: 2
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.2.4.0 = INTEGER: 2
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.9.13.2.5.0 = INTEGER: 2


do the 3620's support temp gathering from the snmp?
thank you for helping out.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 11:56 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
I can't answer your last question. Please look at the MIBs, e.g. search for them at MIB depot or the like
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 4:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:11 am
Posts: 24
Location: Germany
hi,

does anybody know, whether i could use these templates for a cisco 1721 with ios 12.3.(14)T2 ??

thanks for reply

bye


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 12:30 pm 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
Just try:
snmpwalk against the OIDs used from command line and see if the device responds.
If it does, just give it a go :lol: .
If it doesn't: such is life :cry:
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 5:16 am 
Offline
Developer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Posts: 22376
Location: Muenster, Germany
To all cacti users
We lately recognized problems with our cisco temperature/voltage templates. One of the latest IOS updates seems to have broken the data gathering of those OIDs mentioned in this post. I tried searching new OIDs that would support those data. But to my shame, after a few hours I could not find them. Well, there are some MIBs that look good. But our devices did not answer to those requests.
As I'm by no means a cisco expert, I stopped my pointless work.
I anyone knows, what OIDs are supported with newer IOS (and perhaps how to configure them, if necessary), I'd be glad to hear. Then, I'd publish new resources.

Sorry for this
Reinhard

_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
Official Debugging Help
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 109 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group