Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:13 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 159 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:17 am
Posts: 1
Hello everybody,

This is my first post here.

I'm trying to install the windows services monitoring, and I have some problems.

The used Cacti version is 0.8.6h

I'v changed the field type into the database, and I've changed the string length into the PHP script.

The issue I have is that the "verbose query" works, it means that there is an output with the good service names, but the query is not into the poller cache, even after rebuilding it, it's like as if the query had not been added into the database, it's not into the poller_item table even after a rebuild.

And I really do not know where I have to look for to solve this problem.

I attach a screenshot in order to illustrate what I'm trying to explain.

If someone has allready had this issue, that would be great.

Thanks a lot, and thanks for all work on Cacti.

Niccos


Attachments:
graph_choice.jpg
graph_choice.jpg [ 14.39 KiB | Viewed 17138 times ]
verbose_query.jpg
verbose_query.jpg [ 59.2 KiB | Viewed 17137 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:50 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Posts: 2765
Location: B/CS Texas
niccos wrote:
I'm trying to install the windows services monitoring, and I have some problems.


I see from the screen shots that you are using SNMP v1, do you get the same thing when you switch to 2? Just a hunch, even though it works perfectly for me on both 1 and 2.

_________________
Report a bug
Download Releases
1.X Compatible Plugins


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:09 am
Posts: 13
Location: South Carolina
I am getting the the status as 0 on all of my services. I have made the recomended changes in mysql and in the win_services file. I have cleared the poller cache as well. Server is W2K3 with Cacti 0.8.6h.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: It is working..
PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 1:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:09 am
Posts: 13
Location: South Carolina
Please disregard my last post. It is working now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: It is working..
PostPosted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 6:26 pm 
Offline
Developer

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 3:29 pm
Posts: 2765
Location: B/CS Texas
SteveIs4Cacti wrote:
Please disregard my last post. It is working now.


Any particular thing you did to get it working? As that info may help someone else out if they run into the same issue.

_________________
Report a bug
Download Releases
1.X Compatible Plugins


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 11:01 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 4:29 pm
Posts: 163
Location: MD, US
I'm having the same problem. When I go to create graphs for a particular device, I can see all the services. I select the ones I wish to monitor and create the graphs. Even though I know they are running, the graph stays at 0. I've seen several people with this problem but no solutions. Can anyone help?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 1:45 pm
Posts: 8
I have had the same problem, got it working now, and even I don't known exactly how I figured it out. ;-) See a few messages above this one. http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?p=67694#67694

I had to change the size in two substr function calls

Hope this helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:17 pm 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 4:29 pm
Posts: 163
Location: MD, US
Hmm. I've tried everything mentioned here and still no luck.

Time to get the sledge hammer.......


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 3:49 pm 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 4:29 pm
Posts: 163
Location: MD, US
The mere mention of the dreaded sledgehammer and the servers cower in fear.

I went in to each device and hit the verbose query for the Win Services data query, cleared the cache and all is working now.

Must have patience, I suppose. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 4:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 2:39 pm
Posts: 23
I have the services monitoring working for most services, however I have just put some more services in to monitor and they are not working.
I had a look at the snmp walk for the services index and found that the services that I am using have massive OID numbers.

As you can see from the info bellow the OID seems ok from the SNMP walk and in the poller_item table, but the cacti log shows the OID with about 44 characters truncated of the end.

I have done the arg1 to text database fix and the win_services oid fix, mentioned earlier in the thread, which did mean that most of the services monitoring ok.

Is there a limit on the length of an OID?


Backup Exec Remote Agent for Windows Servers


From Cacti log
1 4 get servstate 52.87.105.110.100.111.119.115.32.77.97.110.97.103.101.109.101.110.116.32.73.110.115.116.114.117.109.101.110.116.97.116.105.111.110.32.68.114.105.118.101.114., output: 0


From SNMPWALK
.1.3.6.1.4.1.77.1.2.3.1.1.52.87.105.110.100.111.119.115.32.77.97.110.97.103.101.109.101.110.116.32.73.110.115.116.114.117.109.101.110.116.97.116.105.111.110.32.68.114.105.118.101.114.32.69.120.116.101.110.115.105.111.110.115

Database (poller_item) (ARG1)
/var/www/html/scripts/win_services.php win_services ###### #### 1 4 get servstate 52.87.105.110.100.111.119.115.32.77.97.110.97.103.101.109.101.110.116.32.73.110.115.116.114.117.109.101.110.116.97.116.105.111.110.32.68.114.105.118.101.114.32.69.120.116.101.110.115.105.111.110.115


Any help on this would be appreciated.

Si

Running on CactiEZ(latest version)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 8:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 2:39 pm
Posts: 23
Anybody any ideas what I can try to sort this ?

Pleassssss ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:54 am
Posts: 3
Hello !!

Thanks, that's a good template !!!
but i don't know what can i write in input index_type, index_value, output_type when i create a graph
however, php script seem to works good (i test it on comand line)

thanks to help me !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 11:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:54 am
Posts: 3
It's OK !
I'va find wher is the problem.
I've include template in Associated Data Queries and it's ok.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 10:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 2:39 pm
Posts: 23
simonuk1 wrote:
I have the services monitoring working for most services, however I have just put some more services in to monitor and they are not working.
I had a look at the snmp walk for the services index and found that the services that I am using have massive OID numbers.

As you can see from the info bellow the OID seems ok from the SNMP walk and in the poller_item table, but the cacti log shows the OID with about 44 characters truncated of the end.

I have done the arg1 to text database fix and the win_services oid fix, mentioned earlier in the thread, which did mean that most of the services monitoring ok.

Is there a limit on the length of an OID?


Backup Exec Remote Agent for Windows Servers


From Cacti log
1 4 get servstate 52.87.105.110.100.111.119.115.32.77.97.110.97.103.101.109.101.110.116.32.73.110.115.116.114.117.109.101.110.116.97.116.105.111.110.32.68.114.105.118.101.114., output: 0


From SNMPWALK
.1.3.6.1.4.1.77.1.2.3.1.1.52.87.105.110.100.111.119.115.32.77.97.110.97.103.101.109.101.110.116.32.73.110.115.116.114.117.109.101.110.116.97.116.105.111.110.32.68.114.105.118.101.114.32.69.120.116.101.110.115.105.111.110.115

Database (poller_item) (ARG1)
/var/www/html/scripts/win_services.php win_services ###### #### 1 4 get servstate 52.87.105.110.100.111.119.115.32.77.97.110.97.103.101.109.101.110.116.32.73.110.115.116.114.117.109.101.110.116.97.116.105.111.110.32.68.114.105.118.101.114.32.69.120.116.101.110.115.105.111.110.115


Any help on this would be appreciated.

Si

Running on CactiEZ(latest version)



Well I havent had any feedback on this and after investigation the only thing i couldnt rule out was cactid, I have switch back to CMD.PHP and now everything is working.

So it would appear to be a problem with cactid.

Has long OID ever been reported as a bug in cactid ?

Si


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: time
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2006 9:57 pm 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:16 pm
Posts: 250
hello cigamit,

i am trying your template since some weeks and just realize that when a service stop or start, snmp oids are not updated before 2 long minutes.

is it like that on your systems or i have bad luck ?

i have tested on win xp sp2, win2003 sp1, win 2000 sp4

thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 159 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 11  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group