Monitor Windows Service stats from Linux

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#61 Post by TheWitness » Fri May 18, 2007 8:58 pm

The template was likely created in either "I" or "J". You can correct this by either 1) upgrading, 2) adding the hash values to your include/config_arrays.php I'm pretty sure.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

ddouma
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 1:02 pm

#62 Post by ddouma » Fri May 18, 2007 9:06 pm

For now option 2 would be the fastest way, do I need to add one of those long hash code into the config_arrays.php?

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#63 Post by TheWitness » Fri May 18, 2007 9:09 pm

No. Give me a second and I will show you.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#64 Post by TheWitness » Fri May 18, 2007 9:10 pm

From 0.8.6j:

Code: Select all

$hash_version_codes = array(
	"0.8.4" => "0000",
	"0.8.5" => "0001",
	"0.8.5a" => "0002",
	"0.8.6" => "0003",
	"0.8.6a" => "0004",
	"0.8.6b" => "0005",
	"0.8.6c" => "0006",
	"0.8.6d" => "0007",
	"0.8.6e" => "0008",
	"0.8.6f" => "0009",
	"0.8.6g" => "0010",
	"0.8.6h" => "0011",
	"0.8.6i" => "0012",
	"0.8.6j" => "0013"
	);
TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

ddouma
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 1:02 pm

#65 Post by ddouma » Fri May 18, 2007 9:11 pm

Lol I did that it says now:

Error: XML: Generated with a newer version of Cacti.

I think I should upgrade ^^

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#66 Post by TheWitness » Fri May 18, 2007 9:17 pm

Go figure. I think that's a good Idea. It's not as dificult as you think. I simply do the following:

Oh, and do it between polls....

1) Backup your web site. Don't worry about the RRA's.
2) Untar the distribution somewhere like "/var/www/html/cacti.new" and make sure the config.php and cacti.log files are deleted.
2.5) Apply the patches to the cacti.new directory.
3) Then do the following "cp -rp /var/www/html/cacti.new/* /var/www/html/cacti"
4) Copy the include/config.php.dist to include/config.php and change the ID and password to match you system.
5) Refresh your browser.

It's that easy (OH UNLESS YOU ARE RUNNING THE PLUGIN ARCHITECTURE).

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

ddouma
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 1:02 pm

#67 Post by ddouma » Fri May 18, 2007 9:19 pm

I'm running the plugin thing ;).
But I can install it easyly again.

Would about the stats? Will they get lost, or remain they with all devices in the mysql db?

User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#68 Post by TheWitness » Fri May 18, 2007 9:52 pm

Between these releases there is no significant database changes. Therefore, you should be just fine.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

ddouma
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 1:02 pm

#69 Post by ddouma » Sat May 19, 2007 8:19 am

ok thanks I will try, I keep you posted :)

ddouma
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 1:02 pm

#70 Post by ddouma » Sun May 20, 2007 5:41 pm

Updated :) and works... thanks!

Mika2006
Cacti User
Posts: 165
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 2:25 am

#71 Post by Mika2006 » Mon May 21, 2007 3:05 am

i don't understand what exaclty make this plugin please someon can explain funtion?
|Cacti Version - 0.8.6j||Plugin Architecture - 1.1||Poller Type - CMD.php|
|os - Red hat 4es | |Web Server - Apache/2.0.52 (Red Hat)|
|PHP - 4.3.9| |MySQL - 4.1.20| |RRDTool - 1.2.13||SNMP - 5.1.2|
|Plugins| Host Info (hostinfo - v0.1)

ddouma
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 1:02 pm

#72 Post by ddouma » Mon May 21, 2007 3:34 am

What don't you understand?

neal860
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 1:16 pm

#73 Post by neal860 » Tue May 22, 2007 1:21 pm

I cannot seem to get this to work. I have read everything I could find and still cant get any SNMP data out of my windows box.

Running cacti 0.8.6j on Fedora Core 4.
Getting snmp data for interfaces and disk usage but nothing for windows services on windows 2003 server.

this is all I get

+ Running data query [10].
+ Found type = '6 '[script query].
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/html/resource/script_server/win_services.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ Executing script for list of indexes '/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/html/scripts/win_services.php w2k3host public 2 2 index'
+ Executing script query '/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/html/scripts/win_services.php w2k3host public 2 2 query index'
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/html/resource/script_server/win_services.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/html/resource/script_server/win_services.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/html/resource/script_server/win_services.xml'

phantom_rgs
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 7:44 am
Location: Brasil
Contact:

#74 Post by phantom_rgs » Mon Jun 04, 2007 8:50 am

Hi, I'm installing the new version of cacti J.

I have the problem of service started shows 0 = stopped. what specific changes i have to made it?

i read posts and not understand.

help please.

thanks
Flavio Humberto Barcellos Dietze
MCP - MCDST - MCTS:SQL 2005 - CCA - MCSA - MCSE: Messaging & Security

metroplex
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:04 am

#75 Post by metroplex » Wed Jun 27, 2007 3:11 am

Guys please excuse my ignorance, I cant get this to graph!

I am getting

Code: Select all

+ Running data query [10].
+ Found type = '6 '[script query].
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/cacti/resource/script_server/win_services.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ Executing script for list of indexes '/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/cacti/scripts/win_services.php (INFO OMITTED) 2 10 index'
+ Executing script query '/usr/bin/php -q /var/www/cacti/scripts/win_services.php (INFO OMITTED) 2 10 query index'
+ Found item [ServiceIndex='MySQL'] index: 5.77.121.83.81.76 
+ Found item [ServiceIndex='Server'] index: 6.83.101.114.118.101.114 
+ Found item [ServiceIndex='HTTP SSL'] index: 8.72.84.84.80.32.83.83.76 
+ Found item [ServiceIndex='Event Log'] index: 9.69.118.101.110.116.32.76.111.103 
+ Found item [ServiceIndex='DNS Client'] index: 10.68.78.83.32.67.108.105.101.110.116 
+ Found item [ServiceIndex='DNS Server'] index: 10.68.78.83.32.83.101.114.118.101.114 
+ Found item [ServiceIndex='DHCP Client'] index: 11.68.72.67.80.32.67.108.105.101.110.116 
+ Found item [ServiceIndex='Workstation'] index: 11.87.111.114.107.115.116.97.116.105.111.110 
+ Found item [ServiceIndex='SNMP Service'] index: 12.83.78.77.80.32.83.101.114.118.105.99.101 
+ Found item [ServiceIndex='Windows Time'] index: 12.87.105.110.100.111.119.115.32.84.105.109.101 
But I don't know what to do from here!!

how do I make the graph???

I tried 'create graphs for this host' I get all the services showing up, i select all of them, but it tries to make a graph for each service!

I am doing something terribly wrong, can someone please help me? :)

Thanks!!

Post Reply