Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:47 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Description Bug
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 9:27 am
Posts: 16
Hi,
I think I found out why the CPU description is not working any more:
Code:
change line 277 from:
$oid[1][1] . $cmdoutput[$cmdoutputcount][1],
to:
$oid[1][1] . "." . $cmdoutput[$cmdoutputcount][1],

Then for me Interface Description works fine again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 20, 2009 8:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:47 am
Posts: 21
I've just recently upgraded to 8.0.7d and now get the following error:

Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in /srv/www/htdocs/cacti/scripts/cisco_cpu_util.php on line 174

Prior to the upgrade I was running 8.0.7b and all was working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 12:20 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
smilerza wrote:
I've just recently upgraded to 8.0.7d and now get the following error:

Notice: Undefined offset: 0 in /srv/www/htdocs/cacti/scripts/cisco_cpu_util.php on line 174

Prior to the upgrade I was running 8.0.7b and all was working.

I just tried 0.8.7d and while my scripts all seem to get called and work the RRD files all store NaN values. It works fine with 0.8.7c though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 3:37 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
New versions of the plugins were just uploaded. Also note the new instructions in the original message.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 11:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 9:47 am
Posts: 21
Thanks for the updated scripts... I'm in the process of testing to see if the problem is resolved however I did come across an issue.

I'm getting an error with the CPU description and had to modify the file as per an earlier post

Change the following:

$oid[1][1] . $cmdoutput[$cmdoutputcount][1],
to:
$oid[1][1] . "." . $cmdoutput[$cmdoutputcount][1],

I should know in the next day or so if the problems have been resolved.

Thanks again for a great script!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 9:43 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
Thanks for the reminder. I fixed the code and uploaded a new script.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 5:46 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:44 pm
Posts: 54
Location: Houston
Does this script get around the problems I experienced previously with reboots... it looks like the cisco 6500 routers would move the indexes around as to which cpu was for which card etc. My graphs for card "3" would be for card "5" after an IOS upgrade.

Still trying to work around this with some kind of poll of serial #'s for cards or card types in the module slots.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:50 am
Posts: 16
Anyone succesfully added this on cacti running on windows ?
I put the script in the right location, imported the template and everything seemed fine.

I could then add the template to a device and retrive the cpu to graph but then when cacti gets the value (using spine) i get this error:

unable to find/open c:inetpubwwwrootcactiscriptsblablabla.php
somewhere it seems to loose the / between the folders but i cant find anywhere to edit this....

Thanks.
/N


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:18 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12160
Location: USA
Word of the wise to all who use this Cisco CPU script -- it's very inefficient! I had it running against 25 routers using the cmd.php poller.
My poller stats at that time:
SYSTEM STATS: Time:107.0256 Method:cmd.php Processes:8 Threads:N/A Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:2 DataSources:815 RRDsProcessed:418

I removed the cisco cpu script/template and the data sources. Imported a script server cisco cpu script/template, re-created all the cpus for all the devices, PLUS I added a bunch of other snmp only queries for various routers. My system stats now:
SYSTEM STATS: Time:17.6975 Method:cmd.php Processes:8 Threads:N/A Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:2 DataSources:1164 RRDsProcessed:601

That's a 600% speed improvement! Just imagine if I was polling dozens of devices, how big the performance impact would be. This cacti server isn't any wimp either: Dell 8-way 3.16Ghz Xeon, 16GB mem, etc.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:31 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
I uploaded a new version of the cisco CPU kit which addresses two small bugs in the script.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 6:07 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
I posted a new version of the CPU script with many significant enhancements. The biggest change is a switch from the expensive and slow script query interface to the persistent and fast script server interface. I also dropped the comma-separated parameters and switched to a colon-separated "bundle" for SNMP arguments, tightened up the array and variable management, added a lot more error checking, and otherwise did a complete rewrite of the script.

Due to the changes, the script and resource xml files need to be reinstalled and any data queries need to be reimported. However the existing graphs and data sources should continue to operate afterwards.

I've also moved the files to this page on my web server so that I can more easily maintain them. The memory files are located at this page.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 10:45 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 9:02 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Massachusetts, USA
ehall wrote:
I've also moved the files to this page on my web server so that I can more easily maintain them. The memory files are located at this page.


Eric,

The link to download the memory template is broken.

_________________
Thanks,
nebj00la


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 11:59 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 3:42 pm
Posts: 246
I just fixed it thanks for the note


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 12:11 pm 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 9:02 pm
Posts: 112
Location: Massachusetts, USA
ehall wrote:
I just fixed it thanks for the note


No problem! I'm going to give the template a try shortly.

_________________
Thanks,
nebj00la


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Cisco cpus and memory pools -- update April 26 2009
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 1:03 am
Posts: 1
CPU query fall in cisco ASR1004 and 12406 on cpu index>1
Code:
php ss_cisco_cpu_usage.php asr1004:2:*****:::::::: query cpudesc
2:cpu 0/0

Notice: Undefined index:  desc in /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts.old/ss_cisco_cpu_usage.php on line 675
3:

php ss_cisco_cpu_usage.php c12406:2:*****:::::::: query cpudesc
1:0/5/CPU0

Notice: Undefined index:  desc in /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts.old/ss_cisco_cpu_usage.php on line 675
17:

Notice: Undefined index:  desc in /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts.old/ss_cisco_cpu_usage.php on line 675
33:

Notice: Undefined index:  desc in /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts.old/ss_cisco_cpu_usage.php on line 675
65:

Notice: Undefined index:  desc in /usr/share/cacti/site/scripts.old/ss_cisco_cpu_usage.php on line 675
81:

Code:
--- scripts.old/ss_cisco_cpu_usage.php   2009-06-27 21:13:41.000000000 +0400
+++ scripts/ss_cisco_cpu_usage.php   2009-07-27 10:16:25.352481017 +0400
@@ -627,11 +627,11 @@

               break;

-            #
-            # increment the cpu counter
-            #
-            $cpu_count++;
         }
+         #
+         # increment the cpu counter
+         #
+         $cpu_count++;
      }
   }


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 79 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group