DOCSIS Stats

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

DOCSIS Stats

#1 Post by BSOD2600 » Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:41 pm

Below is a simple script which queries DOCSIS cable modems for various stats. It uses the Cacti PHP script server so it's pretty efficient. Not all modems report the downstream/upstream power levels.

Created on Cacti 0.8.6h + patches.

Installation
1) Place ss_docsis_stats.php in your ./cacti/scripts/ folder.
2) Import the templates
3) Create the date sources and graph templates.
Attachments
stat_counters.png
stat_counters.png (30.97 KiB) Viewed 64557 times
signal_levels.png
signal_levels.png (30.17 KiB) Viewed 64557 times
docsis-1.1.zip
templates and script
(9.98 KiB) Downloaded 3534 times
Last edited by BSOD2600 on Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

MGarner
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:55 pm

#2 Post by MGarner » Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:57 pm

This is my first attempt at importing but I get an error.

Error: XML: Cacti version does not exist.

Maybe someone can tell me what it means and how to correct it.

Thanks

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#3 Post by BSOD2600 » Mon Jan 30, 2006 4:55 am

Since I created/exported the template with Cacti 0.8.6h + patches, you must be running this minimum version too.

MGarner
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:55 pm

#4 Post by MGarner » Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:36 pm

Since it was a fresh install anyway, I wiped it and started over and it imported fine. Thanks for the reply.

nerdtalker
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2005 8:27 pm

#5 Post by nerdtalker » Sun Feb 05, 2006 5:30 pm

Looks good, but my ISP (Comcast) disables SNMP access for customers, so it won't work.

Is there any way to do it with lynx and essentially capture those same values from the cable modem configuration pages?

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#6 Post by BSOD2600 » Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:16 pm

Yea, it would be possible to do that... although, since I'm on Charter and found out the private SNMP community string AND they don't limit it to certain IP ranges like Comcast does (parents have it back home), it's not a top priority for me.

jadams
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:57 pm

#7 Post by jadams » Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:54 pm

Am I missing something? I set this up and for whatever reason it will generate the graphs but pass no information to it. I can actually manually run the ss_docsis.stats.php and it comes back with this:
docsIfDownChannelPower:-74 docsIfSigQSignalNoise:354 docsIfSigQMicroreflections:35 docsIfCmRangingTimeout:5 docsIfCmStatusTxPower:480 docsIfCmStatusResets:0 docsIfCmStatusLostSyncs:0 docsIfCmStatusT1Timeouts:0 docsIfCmStatusT2Timeouts:0 docsIfCmStatusT3Timeouts:2076 docsIfCmStatusT4Timeouts:0[[email protected] scripts]# php ss_docsis_stats.php 192.168.100.1 public 1 161 500

Yet the cacti.log comes back with this when its setup:
02/15/2006 12:50:02 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[2] DS[65] WARNING: Result from SERVER not valid. Partial Result: docsIfDownChannelPow

any ideas?

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#8 Post by BSOD2600 » Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:05 pm

Seems the scripts output is getting chopped when cacti runs it? Run cacti with debugging logging and see what it's trying to do.

You running cacti 0.8.6h + patches?
What version of everything are you running?
What is your max_execution_time and max_input_time for php?

jadams
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:57 pm

#9 Post by jadams » Wed Feb 15, 2006 2:37 pm

Here's the error message in debug mode:

02/15/2006 02:30:02 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] DEBUG: INCLUDE: '/var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php' SCRIPT: 'ss_docsis_stats' CMD: '192.168.100.1public116150000'
02/15/2006 02:30:02 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[2] DS[67] SERVER: /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php ss_docsis_stats 192.168.100.1public116150000, output: U
02/15/2006 02:30:02 PM - PHPSVR: Poller[0] SERVER: /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php ss_docsis_stats 192.168.100.1public116150000 output docsIfDownChannelPower:NaN docsIfSigQSignalNoise:NaN docsIfSigQMicroreflections:NaN docsIfCmRangingTimeout:NaN docsIfCmStatusTxPower:NaN docsIfCmStatusResets:NaN docsIfCmStatusLostSyncs:NaN docsIfCmStatusT1Timeouts:NaN docsIfCmStatusT2Timeouts:NaN docsIfCmStatusT3Timeouts:NaN docsIfCmStatusT4Timeouts:NaN

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#10 Post by BSOD2600 » Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:14 pm

There should be spaces between each set of variables that are passed to the script. Did you edit it or something?

jadams
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:57 pm

#11 Post by jadams » Wed Feb 15, 2006 6:58 pm

Nope, I have not touched the script in any way, shape, or form. When you suggested turning on debug that's the first thing that looked strange to me. Spaces. Although I have no idea how to force spaces in there at all.

User avatar
BSOD2600
Cacti Moderator
Posts: 12160
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Location: USA

#12 Post by BSOD2600 » Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:16 pm

Very odd. Take a look at the DOCSIS Stats data input method. Are there spaces between the variables in the Input String?

Try clearing your poller cache.

jadams
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 1:57 pm

#13 Post by jadams » Wed Feb 15, 2006 8:26 pm

And... there we go. Thank you. I tried putting the spaces in there earlier, but I didn't clear out the poller cache. That seemed to do the trick.
Attachments
untitled.jpg
untitled.jpg (131.89 KiB) Viewed 64145 times

ccsdnoc
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 1:35 pm
Location: Meadville, PA
Contact:

#14 Post by ccsdnoc » Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:19 pm

So, your modem doesn't support SNMP? No worries, this script will support alot of modems WITHOUT SNMP...w00t :lol: !! Now, getting it to work with cacti might be a little challenging. I did my part by getting all the files in a zip; so, lets work together and get this going...it's a great tool. :o

Files attached!
Attachments
cacti_modem.zip
(27.35 KiB) Downloaded 2191 times
Donald D. Quindardo
Computer Technician & Web Master
Crawford Central School District
11280 Mercer Pike
Meadville, PA 16335

ccsdnoc
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 1:35 pm
Location: Meadville, PA
Contact:

#15 Post by ccsdnoc » Tue Mar 07, 2006 4:50 pm

Well, I posted some files that might have helped getting the DOCSIS data off of the cable modems that do not support SNMP. It works perfectly when I queue my firewall to grab the data via crontab and with the files I posted. I was wondering if anyone has it working in CACTI yet? It definitely would be a great thing since many ISPs disable SNMP on the client end. :D
Donald D. Quindardo
Computer Technician & Web Master
Crawford Central School District
11280 Mercer Pike
Meadville, PA 16335

Post Reply