Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Tue Apr 23, 2019 11:11 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 07, 2006 7:08 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12158
Location: USA
I might play around with it over spring break with my parents cable modem on Comcast (they block snmp).

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Economising on script execution
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 2:10 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2005 2:38 am
Posts: 8
Location: Oslo
Thans for the this "Coocking book" in how to set up polling via the script server.
I am have been implementing this on one of my modems also, which now is easy :D

One thing I have seen is that when I run two different templates from the same script, it seems like (poller cache and log file) that the script is runned twice during one 5 min. cycle.
Does cacti and its script server understand that it only needs to run this script once, or will it run the script twice on the same host when the two graph templates utilised ?

So does Cacti, like MRTG, economise on the polling?

Best regards,
Mees


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:18 am 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12158
Location: USA
The script should only be run once per data source its set on...

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Dont have data in my grpahs
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 1:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:45 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Colombia
My CM's support SNMP but when the cacti create graphs for signal levels and Stat Counters, thats not take datas, the graph dont have data, is empty, without data.

Any can help me...My grpahs are same that jadam's graph,

This is a example in debug mode in data source:

/usr/local/rrdtool-1.2.12/bin/rrdtool create \
/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_997.rrd \
--step 300 \
DS:DownChannelPower:GAUGE:600:-80:80 \
DS:CmStatusT4Timeouts:GAUGE:600:0:U \
DS:CmStatusT3Timeouts:GAUGE:600:0:U \
DS:SigQSignalNoise:GAUGE:600:0:U \
DS:SigQMicroreflection:GAUGE:600:0:100 \
DS:CmStatusTxPower:GAUGE:600:0:1000 \
DS:CmRangingTimeout:GAUGE:600:0:U \
DS:CmStatusResets:GAUGE:600:0:U \
DS:CmStatusLostSyncs:GAUGE:600:0:U \
DS:CmStatusT1Timeouts:GAUGE:600:0:U \
DS:CmStatusT2Timeouts:GAUGE:600:0:U \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:288:797 \

Now in graph Management:

/usr/local/rrdtool-1.2.12/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-86400 \
--end=-300 \
--title="Andres Casa - DOCSIS Stat Counters" \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=500 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=0 \
--vertical-label="" \
--slope-mode \
DEF:a="/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_998.rrd":CmStatusLostSyncs:AVERAGE \
DEF:b="/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_998.rrd":CmRangingTimeout:AVERAGE \
DEF:c="/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_998.rrd":CmStatusResets:AVERAGE \
DEF:d="/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_998.rrd":CmStatusT1Timeouts:AVERAGE \
DEF:e="/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_998.rrd":CmStatusT2Timeouts:AVERAGE \
DEF:f="/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_998.rrd":CmStatusT3Timeouts:AVERAGE \
DEF:g="/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_998.rrd":CmStatusT4Timeouts:AVERAGE \
LINE2:a#0000FF:"Lost Syncs" \
GPRINT:a:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:a:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:a:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:b#00BF47:"Ranging Timeouts\:" \
GPRINT:b:LAST:"Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:b:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:b:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:c#FF5700:"Resets\:" \
GPRINT:c:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:c:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:c:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:d#EAAF00:"T1 Timeouts\:" \
GPRINT:d:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:d:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:d:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:e#D8ACE0:"T2 Timeouts\:" \
GPRINT:e:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:e:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:e:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:f#B1441E:"T3 Timeouts\:" \
GPRINT:f:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:f:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:f:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:g#8D00BA:"T4 Timeouts\:" \
GPRINT:g:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:g:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:g:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n"
RRDTool Says:
OK



usr/local/rrdtool-1.2.12/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-86400 \
--end=-300 \
--title="Andres Casa - DOCSIS Signal Levels" \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=500 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=-10 \
--vertical-label="" \
--slope-mode \
DEF:a="/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_997.rrd":DownChannelPower:AVERAGE \
DEF:b="/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_997.rrd":CmStatusTxPower:AVERAGE \
DEF:c="/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_997.rrd":SigQMicroreflection:AVERAGE \
DEF:d="/usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/rra/andres_casa_cmstatust2timeouts_997.rrd":SigQSignalNoise:AVERAGE \
CDEF:cdefa=a,10,/ \
CDEF:cdefe=b,10,/ \
CDEF:cdefbc=d,10,/ \
LINE2:cdefa#0000FF:"Downstream Power (dBmV)" \
GPRINT:cdefa:LAST:"Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefa:MIN:"Min\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefa:MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:cdefe#FF5700:"Upstream Power (dBmV)" \
GPRINT:cdefe:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefe:MIN:"Min\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefe:MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:c#837C04:"Microreflections (dBc)" \
GPRINT:c:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:c:MIN:"Min\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:c:MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:cdefbc#6EA100:"Signal/Noise ratio (dB)" \
GPRINT:cdefbc:LAST:"Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefbc:MIN:"Min\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefbc:MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf %s\n"
RRDTool Says:
OK

This is my log file:
04/18/2006 02:41:00 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[170] DS[890] SNMP: v2: 10.1.57.213, dsname: traffic_out, oid: .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.16.2, output: 7614017
04/18/2006 02:41:00 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[170] DS[890] SNMP: v2: 10.1.57.213, dsname: traffic_in, oid: .1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.10.2, output: 250347304
04/18/2006 02:41:00 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[170] DS[997] SERVER: /usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php ss_docsis_stats 10.1.57.213community2161500, output: U
04/18/2006 02:41:00 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[170] DS[997] WARNING: Result from SERVER not valid. Partial Result: docsIfDownChannelPow
04/18/2006 02:41:00 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[170] DS[998] SERVER: /usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php ss_docsis_stats 10.1.57.213community2161500, output: U
04/18/2006 02:41:00 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[170] DS[998] WARNING: Result from SERVER not valid. Partial Result: docsIfDownChannelPow


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 3:12 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12158
Location: USA
doesn't look like your modem supports all the fields that are being queried.

snmpwalk .1.3.6.1.2.1.10.127.1.1.1.1.6 and post the results.

Also manually run the script under the php script server and see what the results are.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: My post
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 5:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2006 3:45 pm
Posts: 46
Location: Colombia
Hi.

This are my result for u mib:

SNMPv2-SMI::transmission.127.1.1.1.1.6.3 = INTEGER: 0

Thanks a lot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:49 pm 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12158
Location: USA
hmm, ok. So what happens when you manually run the script under the script server?

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 4:47 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 12:51 pm
Posts: 137
Hmm.. i have one problem when i load this script. Cacti in debug mode tell me:

ERROR: Not enough arguments

I clean load this script, so i don't understand.

Bay the way, when i made from console:
php scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php 10.80.4.7 public 2 161 500

i get answer:

docsIfDownChannelPower:141 docsIfSigQSignalNoise:378 docsIfSigQMicroreflections:36 docsIfCmRangingTimeout:5 docsIfCmStatusTxPower:393 docsIfCmStatusResets:0 docsIfCmStatusLostSyncs:0 docsIfCmStatusT1Timeouts:0 docsIfCmStatusT2Timeouts:0 docsIfCmStatusT3Timeouts:0 docsIfCmStatusT4

& rrd begin make graphs, but without results.

any ideas? Thanks..

Greetz,

Alexander.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:05 am 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12158
Location: USA
Are you using cmd.php or cactid poller?

Clear your poller cache. Post the section of cacti log where the script runs.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 2:47 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 12:51 pm
Posts: 137
BSOD2600 wrote:
Are you using cmd.php or cactid poller?

Clear your poller cache. Post the section of cacti log where the script runs.


I test it on cmd/cactid poller, on both rrd made graphs without results.

Older problem was solved (in script was no spaces between parameters, maybe someone will be repair that?)

Now all its ok.

Many Thanks && Greetz,

Alexander


Last edited by kanada on Mon Jun 05, 2006 4:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:24 am 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12158
Location: USA
Space between the parameters in the Data Input Method? Sounds like it wasn't properly imported or something.... the default script has spaces.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 24, 2006 12:29 pm
Posts: 6
also be sure you have these mibs in your snmp/mibs directory.

docs-baseline-privacy.mib
docs-cable-device.mib
docs-cable-if.mib

without these mibs, some docsis devices will not report the correct information OID, or it will say that the OID is not supported on X device.

The scripts use the DOCSIS standard v2 SNMP MIB, which is globally uniform for ALL docsis devices... if the modem does not answer the above mibs, its not fully DOCSIS compliant and should be beaten, burned, shot, blown up and trashed.

I have yet to find a Docsis Device that does not answer any of the above mib's.


Attachments:
File comment: DOCSIS Mibs, just put them into your ../snmp/mibs folder. (AFTER you unzip them of course)
docsis-cm-mibs.zip [35.58 KiB]
Downloaded 967 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:20 am
Posts: 30
Location: Somewhere in EU
Hi. Have a problem. Docsis signal & stats dont appear. Modem is answering my SNMP queries, cause i can see the modem traffic information. Please show me where to dig?
thanx in advance

i think this is the problem logs
10/04/2006 12:05:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[6] DS[76] WARNING: Result from SERVER not valid. Partial Result: docsIfDownChannelPow
10/04/2006 12:05:03 PM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] Host[6] DS[75] WARNING: Result from SERVER not valid. Partial Result: docsIfDownChannelPow

and this is the graph debug, here seems everything is OK, the image appears well but it contains no data
RRDTool Command:

/usr/local/rrdtool-1.2.15/bin/rrdtool graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-86400 \
--end=-300 \
--title="modem - DOCSIS Signal Levels" \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=500 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=-10 \
--vertical-label="" \
DEF:a="/var/www/html/cacti/rra/modem_downchannelpower_104.rrd":DownChannelPower:AVERAGE \
DEF:b="/var/www/html/cacti/rra/modem_downchannelpower_104.rrd":CmStatusTxPower:AVERAGE \
DEF:c="/var/www/html/cacti/rra/modem_downchannelpower_104.rrd":SigQMicroreflection:AVERAGE \
DEF:d="/var/www/html/cacti/rra/modem_downchannelpower_104.rrd":SigQSignalNoise:AVERAGE \
CDEF:cdefa=a,10,/ \
CDEF:cdefe=b,10,/ \
CDEF:cdefbc=d,10,/ \
LINE2:cdefa#0000FF:"Downstream Power (dBmV)" \
GPRINT:cdefa:LAST:"Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefa:MIN:"Min\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefa:MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:cdefe#FF5700:"Upstream Power (dBmV)" \
GPRINT:cdefe:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefe:MIN:"Min\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefe:MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:c#837C04:"Microreflections (dBc)" \
GPRINT:c:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:c:MIN:"Min\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:c:MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE2:cdefbc#6EA100:"Signal/Noise ratio (dB)" \
GPRINT:cdefbc:LAST:"Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefbc:MIN:"Min\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:cdefbc:MAX:"Max\:%8.2lf %s\n"

RRDTool Says:

OK


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:12 am 
Offline
Cacti Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 12:44 pm
Posts: 12158
Location: USA
Please manually run the script under the script server and see what it reports back. It's possible your modem doesn't report all the snmp data.

_________________

| Scripts: Monitor processes | RFC1213 MIB | DOCSIS Stats | Dell PowerEdge | Speedfan | APC UPS | DOCSIS CMTS | 3ware | Motorola Canopy |
| Guides: Windows Install | [HOWTO] Debug Windows NTFS permission problems |
| Tools: Windows All-in-one Installer |


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 1:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:20 am
Posts: 30
Location: Somewhere in EU
[[email protected] scripts]# php ss_docsis_stats.php
PHP Warning: Missing argument 1 for ss_docsis_stats() in /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php on line 15
PHP Warning: Missing argument 2 for ss_docsis_stats() in /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php on line 15
PHP Warning: Missing argument 3 for ss_docsis_stats() in /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php on line 15
PHP Warning: Missing argument 4 for ss_docsis_stats() in /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php on line 15
PHP Warning: Missing argument 5 for ss_docsis_stats() in /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php on line 15
PHP Warning: Missing argument 6 for ss_docsis_stats() in /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php on line 15
PHP Warning: Missing argument 7 for ss_docsis_stats() in /var/www/html/cacti/scripts/ss_docsis_stats.php on line 15
Content-type: text/html
X-Powered-By: PHP/4.3.9

docsIfDownChannelPower:NaN docsIfSigQSignalNoise:NaN docsIfSigQMicroreflections:NaN docsIfCmRangingTimeout:NaN docsIfCmStatusTxPower:NaN docsIfCmStatusResets:NaN docsIfCmStatusLostSyncs:NaN docsIfCmStatusT1Timeouts:NaN docsIfCmStatusT2Timeouts:NaN docsIfCmStatusT3Timeouts:NaN docsIfCmStatusT4Timeouts:NaN[[email protected] scripts]#


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 73 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group