BES (BlackBerry Enterprise Server) template using WMI

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
slay
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:55 pm

#16 Post by slay » Sat Nov 11, 2006 9:26 pm

Hi

I am trying to convert this to work on linux. My cacti runs on linux but BES on windows.

So I am trying this using the check_nt / NSClient route and I am not sure I am doing it right.

I have tried this:

Code: Select all

[[email protected] ~]# /usr/local/nagios/libexec/check_nt -H $HOST -p 1248 -v COUNTER -l '"winmgmts:\\" & strComputer & "\root\cimv2"'
With this reply but I am not sure I am getting a proper reply:

Code: Select all

strComputer  = 0.00  "\root\cimv2" | ' strComputer '=0.000000 "\root\cimv2";0.000000;0.000000;
Can anyone help me out. Let me know if I am on the right path?


Thanks....

--

Daniel.S
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:57 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia

#17 Post by Daniel.S » Mon Dec 04, 2006 7:33 pm

mrh wrote:Please everyone make sure the polling account for the schedule task has administrator privileges on the target machine (or at least the same as when you're succeed on the command-line).

Thanks :)
I wish I read that earlier... I ended up figuring it out on my own.

Thanks for the script/templates.

vizzor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:46 pm

Multiple Returns on the VB script

#18 Post by vizzor » Fri Jan 12, 2007 4:24 pm

I've got BES 4.1 service pack 2 and when I run the script I get the entry below.

My Message queue graph registered once then never again.

Any way to tell the vbs script to only output one line?

MessagesExpired:36 MessagesFiltered:7661 MessagesQueuedForDelivery:2075 MessagesReceived:672270 MessagesSent:36993
MessagesExpired:36 MessagesFiltered:7661 MessagesQueuedForDelivery:2075 MessagesReceived:672270 MessagesSent:36993
MessagesExpired:36 MessagesFiltered:7661 MessagesQueuedForDelivery:0 MessagesReceived:672040 MessagesSent:36987

slay
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 9:55 pm

#19 Post by slay » Thu Feb 15, 2007 6:33 pm

So when calling this from linux, did you have to change the path for the data input method to the path on the windows machine? Or does it run from the linux box?

--


Daniel.S wrote:
mrh wrote:Please everyone make sure the polling account for the schedule task has administrator privileges on the target machine (or at least the same as when you're succeed on the command-line).

Thanks :)
I wish I read that earlier... I ended up figuring it out on my own.

Thanks for the script/templates.

zlynt
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 4:33 pm

no data in script

#20 Post by zlynt » Fri Feb 16, 2007 11:35 am

When I run this script against my bes, i don't get any data returned. I fired up scriptomatic and it didn't see the source Win32_PerfRawData_BlackBerryEnterpriseServer_BlackBerryServer, is there something which needs to be installed on the BES to add that field to WMI?

simon

vizzor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:46 pm

Re: no data in script

#21 Post by vizzor » Mon Feb 19, 2007 2:04 pm

When I had problems seeing it in Script-o-matic I had to refresh the WMI tables. I had the problem with my clustered Exchange servers.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/820847

zlynt wrote:When I run this script against my bes, i don't get any data returned. I fired up scriptomatic and it didn't see the source Win32_PerfRawData_BlackBerryEnterpriseServer_BlackBerryServer, is there something which needs to be installed on the BES to add that field to WMI?

simon

zlynt
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2005 4:33 pm

#22 Post by zlynt » Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:48 am

vizzor,

thanks for the reply. I checked out that article and refreshed the tables. The odd thing is, at the bottom of that article, it references using wbemtest to query against the wmi db. I tried that and it looks like the Win32_PerfRawData_BlackBerryEnterpriseServer_BlackBerryServer is present from wbemtest, but when i run the script both locally and remotely, i don't get any data. Also, even after refreshing the table I don't see that information in scriptomatic.

:-?

tia

generic_user
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:46 pm

Data Input Methods Missing

#23 Post by generic_user » Thu Jun 21, 2007 1:25 pm

Gents-
I imported the graphs and host template and I am missing the data input methods. Can someone export or tell me how to define. I am still new at this. :roll:

superdave913
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 7:10 pm
Contact:

Linux Templates and Script

#24 Post by superdave913 » Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:31 pm

_JPL_ wrote:You can do the same thing in linux using the nsclient in windows (or similar client) by polling the perfmon values with check_nt.
I have created a Linux compatible script/template which uses check_nt. The graphs look identical to the original poster. You will need to modify the perl script to point to the check_nt location... and change "BLACKBERRY1" to the name of your BlackBerry Enterprise Server name (not necessarily the hostname). Please try it out and let me know if it works for you.

Thanks,
Dave
Attachments
bes_linux.zip
Script and modified templates for Blackberry Monitoring with Linux
(6.17 KiB) Downloaded 740 times

generic_user
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 12:46 pm

Great!

#25 Post by generic_user » Thu Jul 26, 2007 12:56 pm

Great! Thanks for the assistance!

slesdog
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 12:33 pm

Re: Linux Templates and Script

#26 Post by slesdog » Fri Aug 03, 2007 2:34 pm

superdave913 wrote:
_JPL_ wrote:You can do the same thing in linux using the nsclient in windows (or similar client) by polling the perfmon values with check_nt.
I have created a Linux compatible script/template which uses check_nt. The graphs look identical to the original poster. You will need to modify the perl script to point to the check_nt location... and change "BLACKBERRY1" to the name of your BlackBerry Enterprise Server name (not necessarily the hostname). Please try it out and let me know if it works for you.

Thanks,
Dave
Cool. Works great for me with one major problem.

Things will graph fine for a while then report a value something like 880,956,823.75 for messages sent or received. It seems to be a related to the counter values going backwards.

Obviously, this is not a problem with your script but the data being provided by the BES counters.

rtyler778
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:17 am

#27 Post by rtyler778 » Fri Jul 11, 2008 2:32 pm

edit..

permissions issues ftl.

wozzyke
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:14 am

#28 Post by wozzyke » Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:17 am

thanks alot for the great script
We are using it for a pretty long time without problems now, but we have some issues since we migrated to the last version of our BES server.
Since we migrated to version 4.1.6 the WMI does not longer return any data
Has anyone else noticed this and does anyone have a solution for this?

thanks in advance

raykain
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 4:16 pm

#29 Post by raykain » Thu Nov 13, 2008 4:17 pm

I got this script working but I am getting all Zeros anything I should look into?

guitou
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 4:13 am

#30 Post by guitou » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:40 am

Hi all,

my BES4 2003 R2 server is not on the domain. So the cacti poller account did not work on it.

I get this error twice on each cycle: ERROR: Empty result [besserver]: 'cscript /nologo C:/Apache2/htdocs/cacti/scripts/BES_Stats.vbs besserver'

How do i get the vbs scipt working in this case ?

Cacti server 0.8.7e on windows2003 R2

Thanks

Post Reply