Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Tue Feb 19, 2019 12:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: UPS Smart APC templates
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 9:20 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:35 am
Posts: 240
Location: Timisoara, Romania
here the graphs for APC Smart ups...


Attachments:
apc_runtime.png
apc_runtime.png [ 28.51 KiB | Viewed 52195 times ]
apc_load.png
apc_load.png [ 21.12 KiB | Viewed 52195 times ]
apc_frq.png
apc_frq.png [ 22.22 KiB | Viewed 52195 times ]
apc_batt_temp.png
apc_batt_temp.png [ 18.15 KiB | Viewed 52195 times ]
apc_amps.png
apc_amps.png [ 18.65 KiB | Viewed 52195 times ]


Last edited by timi on Fri Aug 12, 2011 3:20 am, edited 2 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 06, 2006 9:20 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2005 8:35 am
Posts: 240
Location: Timisoara, Romania
download templates from http://docs.cacti.net/usertemplate:host:ups:apc


Last edited by timi on Fri Dec 02, 2011 3:16 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:27 am
Posts: 3
What I have to do before install this template?

A have a APC Smart. Do I need to install the APC UPSD in my Linux? How I have to setup my apcupsd conf?

Thanks,

Vinicius


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 10:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:58 am
Posts: 1
I made my own version of voltage monitoring using the APC ups. We're experiencing quite low voltages during the day as you can see....


Attachments:
File comment: The php goes in the scripts/ dir, the xml can be imported
cacti_ups_voltage_monitor.zip [4.82 KiB]
Downloaded 7685 times
File comment: The white spaces were me messing around with the script.
graph_image.png
graph_image.png [ 51.91 KiB | Viewed 107777 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:04 am 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Posts: 711
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator
I've also done some APC Stuff.

http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t ... highlight=


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 9:27 am
Posts: 3
streaker69 wrote:


streaker69,

This is for Windows. I used apcupsd for Linux, but what I have to do to monitor my APC with Cacti...

Thanks,

Vinicius


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 2:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 1:49 am
Posts: 6
Sorry but can you explain step by step what i have to do to get such great stuff...
I did in apcupsd.conf
DEVICE myhost:161:APC:private
the restart - OK
in .bash_profile
MIBS=+PowerNet-MIB
export MIBS
then relogin and restart snmpd

so when i type
snmptranslate -On PowerNet-MIB::ups
i see
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1
so it seems normal, but when i try to do next:
snmpget -v2c -c private localhost .1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1
I got such message
PowerNet-MIB::ups = No Such Object available on this agent at this OID

what's wrong???

PS: and believe i digged inet all across...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 25, 2007 8:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 3:47 pm
Posts: 9
Location: FR -- Sophia-antipolis - Valence
works fine with
Smart-UPS 2200 and Network management Card

and Battery runtime
http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?p ... ght=#61000

thx a lot !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 9:20 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:13 am
Posts: 12
hommer wrote:
I made my own version of voltage monitoring using the APC ups. We're experiencing quite low voltages during the day as you can see....


I've imported the templates and .php per your instructions, but the graph remains blank with "nan" information.

Debugging the graph returns this:

RRDTool Command:
c:/rrdtool/rrdtool.exe graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-86400 \
--end=-300 \
--title="AH2 UPS1 MDF - Line voltages" \
--rigid \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=500 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=200 \
--vertical-label="Vac" \
--slope-mode \
DEF:a="C\:/Inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/rra/ah2_ups1_mdf_max_voltage_1295.rrd":outp_voltage:AVERAGE \
DEF:b="C\:/Inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/rra/ah2_ups1_mdf_max_voltage_1295.rrd":line_voltage:AVERAGE \
DEF:c="C\:/Inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/rra/ah2_ups1_mdf_max_voltage_1295.rrd":max_voltage:AVERAGE \
DEF:d="C\:/Inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/rra/ah2_ups1_mdf_max_voltage_1295.rrd":min_voltage:AVERAGE \
AREA:a#00FF00:"Output voltage" \
GPRINT:a:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:a:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:a:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
AREA:b#35962B:"Line voltage" \
GPRINT:b:LAST:" Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:b:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:b:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE1:c#6DC8FE:"Maximum voltage" \
GPRINT:c:LAST:"Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:c:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:c:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
LINE1:d#FFF200:"Minimum voltage" \
GPRINT:d:LAST:"Current\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:d:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.2lf %s" \
GPRINT:d:MIN:"Minimum\:%8.2lf %s\n" \
HRULE:204#FFC73B:"Low transfer voltage" \
HRULE:252#FFC73B:"High transfer voltage"
RRDTool Says:
OK

Debug of Data Source:

Data Source Debug
c:/rrdtool/rrdtool.exe create \
C:/Inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/rra/ah2_ups1_mdf_max_voltage_1295.rrd \
--step 300 \
DS:line_voltage:GAUGE:600:0:260 \
DS:min_voltage:GAUGE:600:0:260 \
DS:outp_voltage:GAUGE:600:0:260 \
DS:max_voltage:GAUGE:600:0:260 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:AVERAGE:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:MIN:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:MAX:0.5:288:797 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:1:600 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:6:700 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:24:775 \
RRA:LAST:0.5:288:797 \


What am I doing wrong? Thanks...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 2:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 7:13 am
Posts: 12
UPDATE:

OK, I built my own from scratch using the HowTo tutorials. I created an Aggregate 4 of Input Voltage, Output Load %, Temperature and Battery Remaining. The only weirdness I'm getting now is that the Temperature is being reported as 288k (!) which of course is causing that to be at the top and everything else hugging the X-axis.

I'm using OID .1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.2.0. When I do an SNMPWALK of that OID, I get this:

c:\>snmpwalk -c community -v 1 10.1.1.2 .1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.2.0
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.318.1.1.1.2.2.2.0 = Gauge32: 28

... so it looks like perhaps it's getting inflated by 10^3? I've gone over and over the Data Template, but I can't see where this is happening... arg!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:19 am
Posts: 6
Hello.
First of all I want to thank everyone that contributed to cacti, it's an awesome program.

I'm quite new to cacti so I'm sorry if I'm asking noobish questions.
I downloaded the templates, however I couldnt find any quide on how to install them and get them working, did I download the wrong file?
I imported the templates into Cacti, but what do I do after that?
I've tried making a hosttemplate that uses the graph- and datatemplate but without luck so far.
Where can I find instructions on how to install the tempaltes to get them working?

I'm runnning the latest (0.4) of CactiEZ.

Thanks in advance,
General_Dark


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Graphs are working, but not retaining data
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 11:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 11:12 am
Posts: 1
So, I've got these APC graphs (the original ones up top) setup and working, but they are not retaining data. Every day when I check them, the graphs only show data for the last 12 hours.

Any ideas why the rra's aren't retaining the data?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 23, 2009 3:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2009 9:07 am
Posts: 25
Location: Germany
Here you can also find some templates for this hosts:

http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=34149


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:13 am
Posts: 1
I currently live in Tanzania, East Africa and our power is anything but consistent. I have a APC Smart UPS 750 and can not seem to get anything to work from these templates. RRdTool returns everything OK though so I am at a lost.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: APC UPS monitoring
PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:31 am
Posts: 5
If your cacti server is on Linux, you can use the following graph templates:
1. APC battery capacity
2. APC output load
3. APC runtime remaining (in minutes)
4. APC inline voltage and ups output voltage (in VAC)

1,2,4 use SNMP get for data input
3 gets data from a shell script due to the fact that runtime is in timeticks (not gauge) so require a little conversion to minutes, otherwise it's also getting the input data through snmpget.

For those who wants to do your own work from scratch, hope the following OIDs will be useful to you (they should be universal across _all_ APC USP):

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.1.0 upsAdvBatteryCapacity (gauge, in %)
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.4.2.3.0 upsAdvOutputLoad (gauge, in %)
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.4.2.1.0 upsAdvOutputVoltage (gauge, in VAC)
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.4.2.2.0 upsAdvOutputFrequency (gauge, in Hz)
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.3.2.1.0 upsAdvInputLineVoltage (gauge, in VAC)
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.3.2.4.0 upsAdvInputFrequency (gauge, in Hz)
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.3.0 upsAdvBatteryRunTimeRemaining (timeticks)

Output unit of these OIDs depends on how you configure your UPS (ie. if your UPS is configure to display temperature in Celcius, the the output value will be in Celcius). These are coming from APC9616 Network Management Card EM. Your mileage may vary.

.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.10.1.3.3.1.4.0 emStatusProbeCurrentTemp (gauge)
.1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.10.1.3.3.1.6.0 emStatusProbeCurrentHumid (guage)


Attachments:
File comment: APC battery capacity, output load, runtime remaining, and inline/output voltage monitoring.
cacti_apc_ups.tar.gz [5.06 KiB]
Downloaded 4023 times
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group