APC UPii Monitoring via Windows from *nix Cacti

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
User avatar
streaker69
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 711
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:35 am
Location: Psychic Amish Network Administrator

#16 Post by streaker69 » Mon Jul 09, 2007 3:07 pm

zkenton wrote:sorry but I'm very new to cacti...i went to import templates page and tried importing this APC template you've developed and when i save it and import it says Hash version does not exist...do I have to edit this file somehow
What version of Cacti are you using?

zver
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 2:15 am

#17 Post by zver » Mon Nov 19, 2007 11:24 pm

i can't import cacti_graph_template_apc_stats.xml in 0.8.7... :(

zver
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 2:15 am

#18 Post by zver » Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:02 am

I find Error - <text_format>Battery Temp (C). You need html encoding for C graduade symbol :D

zver
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2007 2:15 am

#19 Post by zver » Tue Nov 20, 2007 1:11 am

Thank you!!! Very good temlate!!!

ABX
Cacti User
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:55 am

#20 Post by ABX » Wed Nov 28, 2007 7:28 am

Thank you for pointing out the problem with the ° sign.

Here is a fixed version that works with 0.8.7.
Attachments
cacti_graph_template_apc_stats.xml
(48 KiB) Downloaded 1860 times

sjturner66
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 4:06 pm
Location: Santa Clara CA
Contact:

UPS Monitoring

#21 Post by sjturner66 » Thu Jul 23, 2009 12:48 pm

I have used ABX's template for our UPS. The battery output is in celcus. It appears to me that it is being conferted to Fahrenheit with the following CDEF.

Do I need to do something to get it to display in the graph?

Steve
Attachments
c to f.JPG
c to f.JPG (133.24 KiB) Viewed 5873 times

jeremeguenther
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 3:04 pm

Re: APC UPii Monitoring via Windows from *nix Cacti

#22 Post by jeremeguenther » Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:51 pm

I have been having trouble getting this to work. For some reason the powerchute agent I installed on my windows 2003 servers does not respond to snmp get requests correctly. I have detailed the error at the following link:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1859 ... mber-issue

Due to this error I am looking for a php or shell script that can work around the error. Has anyone already encountered and solved this issue?


The above post is replicated below:
I recently hooked up an APC battery backup to one of my servers, I installed the powerchute agent on the server and have verified that I can remotely access the agent and the APC through the agent.

I am trying to get my Cacti install to retrieve my APC data, and everything is working except that it is returning "Result from SNMP not valid. Partial Result: U" and I suspect it is do to the SNMP problem I am having. How can I fix it so the MIB works with the instance number?

From the command line I can successfully GET other OIDs.

Code: Select all

----WORKS----
$ snmpget -v1 -cpublic 192.168.1.2 .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0
iso.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0 = Timeticks: (140629508) 16 days, 6:38:15.08
From the command line I can snmpwalk the powerchute MIB as long as I do not add the final instance number. Adding the instance number causes nothing to be returned.

Code: Select all

----WORKS----
$ snmpwalk -v1 -cpublic 192.168.1.2 .1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.3
iso.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.3.0 = Timeticks: (72000) 0:12:00.00

Code: Select all

----FAILS----
$ snmpwalk -v1 -cpublic 192.168.1.2 .1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.3.0
$
However I can not snmpget any of the powerchute OIDs with or without the instance number.

Code: Select all

----FAILS----
$ snmpget -v1 -cpublic 192.168.1.2 .1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.3.0
Error in packet
Reason: (noSuchName) There is no such variable name in this MIB.
Failed object: iso.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.3.0

Code: Select all

----FAILS----
$ snmpget -v1 -cpublic 192.168.1.2 .1.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.3
Error in packet
Reason: (noSuchName) There is no such variable name in this MIB.
Failed object: iso.3.6.1.4.1.318.1.1.1.2.2.3
EDIT: I just went to write my own shell script, and I discovered that after letting the servers sit for a couple of weeks the SNMP get is working correctly now. They have gone through a reboot in that time which might have been the trigger that started them all working.

aes222ripn
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2015 8:07 am

Re: APC UPii Monitoring via Windows from *nix Cacti

#23 Post by aes222ripn » Thu Mar 17, 2016 4:56 am

Please add a graph battery Charge and Voltage, as implemented in PowerWare

UPS-MIB::upsEstimatedChargeRemaining.0 (.1.3.6.1.2.1.33.1.2.4.0)
UPS-MIB::upsBatteryVoltage.0 (.1.3.6.1.2.1.33.1.2.5.0)
Attachments
cacti_host_template_apc_smart_ups_with_charge_and_batt_voltage.zip
(19.49 KiB) Downloaded 129 times

Post Reply