Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Fri Jul 21, 2017 11:51 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Extreme Networks XOS CPU & Memory Templates
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:22 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 390
Location: Bristol, England
Hi

EDIT: I realised that I forgot to add the xml data query template to the ZIP files. I have now added these.

I have attached templates to allow you to monitor CPU and Memory usage on Extreme Networks XOS based switches. I have used a data query so that Cacti can pick up the correct index as this changes depending on what device you are monitoring.

Put the 2 data querys in C:\Apache2\htdocs\cacti\resource\snmp_queries or wherever your resource\snmp_queries folder is located. Import the data and graph templates and away you go.

This has been tested on BD8810 and X4540's running XOS 12.0.1.11, 11.6.2.9, 11.4.4.7 and also 11.4.3.4.

Thanks to tl1997 for help in using the correct OID's. ( http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=22644 )

Any questions let me know.

Regards

Jay


Attachments:
XOS_MEMORY.zip [9.24 KiB]
Downloaded 2483 times
XOS_CPU.zip [7.43 KiB]
Downloaded 2592 times

_________________
Cacti Version 0.8.7e, Spine 0.8.7e, Apache 2.2.15, Mysql 5.0.88, PHP 5.2.13, RRDTool 1.2.30, NET-SNMP 5.5
Quad Core AMD Opteron Processor 2384, 2.70Ghz, 2GB RAM , 1 CPU used
Windows Server 2003 (X64), VMWARE ESX
Plugins: Aggregate 0.75

SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5140 Method:spine Processes:2 Threads:15 Hosts:400 HostsPerProcess:200 DataSources:2909 RRDsProcessed:1384


Last edited by jay on Thu Nov 15, 2007 11:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 4:29 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 390
Location: Bristol, England
See screenshot of memory usage


Attachments:
BD8810_memory_usage.jpg
BD8810_memory_usage.jpg [ 32.45 KiB | Viewed 35797 times ]

_________________
Cacti Version 0.8.7e, Spine 0.8.7e, Apache 2.2.15, Mysql 5.0.88, PHP 5.2.13, RRDTool 1.2.30, NET-SNMP 5.5
Quad Core AMD Opteron Processor 2384, 2.70Ghz, 2GB RAM , 1 CPU used
Windows Server 2003 (X64), VMWARE ESX
Plugins: Aggregate 0.75

SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5140 Method:spine Processes:2 Threads:15 Hosts:400 HostsPerProcess:200 DataSources:2909 RRDsProcessed:1384
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2007 4:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2005 1:10 pm
Posts: 43
Do I have to add OID or anything to make these works? The querys don't work for me. Tried on 12.0.1.11.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2007 6:19 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 390
Location: Bristol, England
Hi

Sorry for the late reply but I have been on holiday. Give me a few days to settle back and I will reply back to you.

Jay

_________________
Cacti Version 0.8.7e, Spine 0.8.7e, Apache 2.2.15, Mysql 5.0.88, PHP 5.2.13, RRDTool 1.2.30, NET-SNMP 5.5
Quad Core AMD Opteron Processor 2384, 2.70Ghz, 2GB RAM , 1 CPU used
Windows Server 2003 (X64), VMWARE ESX
Plugins: Aggregate 0.75

SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5140 Method:spine Processes:2 Threads:15 Hosts:400 HostsPerProcess:200 DataSources:2909 RRDsProcessed:1384


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:02 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 390
Location: Bristol, England
Hi

Are you still having problems with this??

What do you get when you do an snmpwalk??

C:\net-snmp\bin>snmpwalk.exe -v2c -c public <ip add> .1.3.6.1.4.1.1916.1.3
2.2.2.1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.1916.1.32.2.2.1.1.1 = Gauge32: 1
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.1916.1.32.2.2.1.2.1 = STRING: "262144"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.1916.1.32.2.2.1.3.1 = STRING: "116856"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.1916.1.32.2.2.1.4.1 = STRING: "25464"
SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.1916.1.32.2.2.1.5.1 = STRING: "119824"

Jay

_________________
Cacti Version 0.8.7e, Spine 0.8.7e, Apache 2.2.15, Mysql 5.0.88, PHP 5.2.13, RRDTool 1.2.30, NET-SNMP 5.5
Quad Core AMD Opteron Processor 2384, 2.70Ghz, 2GB RAM , 1 CPU used
Windows Server 2003 (X64), VMWARE ESX
Plugins: Aggregate 0.75

SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5140 Method:spine Processes:2 Threads:15 Hosts:400 HostsPerProcess:200 DataSources:2909 RRDsProcessed:1384


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 8:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 3:07 pm
Posts: 44
hi there !

Same problem here....

Error in data query

tryed to fetch from a x450 switch.

totaly clean cacti just the templates installed and 2 switches.
x450 - ExtremeWare XOS version 11.5.2.8
x450 - ExtremeXOS version 12.0.1.11

=================
SNMP Walk Results for x.x.x.x
.1.3.6.1.4.1.1916.1.32.2.2.1.1.1 1
.1.3.6.1.4.1.1916.1.32.2.2.1.2.1 262144
.1.3.6.1.4.1.1916.1.32.2.2.1.3.1 142384
.1.3.6.1.4.1.1916.1.32.2.2.1.4.1 25408
.1.3.6.1.4.1.1916.1.32.2.2.1.5.1 94352

_________________
if you can patch it to day, why dont whait util 2morrow


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:13 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 390
Location: Bristol, England
Hi

Can you confirm that you have the following

graph templates:-
Extreme Networks - XOS CPU Utilization
Extreme Networks - XOS Memory

data templates:-
Extreme Networks - XOS CPU Utilization
Extreme Networks - XOS Memory

data queries
Extreme Networks - XOS CPU
Extreme Networks - XOS Memory

Have you put the extreme_xos_cpu.xml and extreme_xos_memory.xml into your resource/snmp_queries folder?


Have you added the 2 data queries to the device in question?? Can you do a verbose query on both the data queries for that device and post the output.

Jay

_________________
Cacti Version 0.8.7e, Spine 0.8.7e, Apache 2.2.15, Mysql 5.0.88, PHP 5.2.13, RRDTool 1.2.30, NET-SNMP 5.5
Quad Core AMD Opteron Processor 2384, 2.70Ghz, 2GB RAM , 1 CPU used
Windows Server 2003 (X64), VMWARE ESX
Plugins: Aggregate 0.75

SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5140 Method:spine Processes:2 Threads:15 Hosts:400 HostsPerProcess:200 DataSources:2909 RRDsProcessed:1384


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 11:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2005 3:07 pm
Posts: 44
tested some of the hints, and allsow saw that I had to rename the files etc.

now most works but when trying to link a graph to the data query I get this error:
Warning: Variable passed to each() is not an array or object in /var/www/cacti/data_queries.php on line 356

so it the poller is seems to be working now, but now the graph wierd

_________________
if you can patch it to day, why dont whait util 2morrow


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 6:33 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 390
Location: Bristol, England
Can you do a verbose query on both the data queries for that device and post the output.


You should see something like this

Running data query [32].
+ Found type = '3' [snmp query].
+ Found data query XML file at 'C:/Apache2/htdocs/cacti/resource/snmp_queries/extreme_xos_cpu.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ Executing SNMP walk for list of indexes @ '.1.3.6.1.4.1.1916.1.32.1.4.1.1'
+ Located input field 'SlotID' [walk]
+ Executing SNMP walk for data @ '.1.3.6.1.4.1.1916.1.32.1.4.1.1'
+ Found item [SlotID='1'] index: 1 [from value]
+ Found data query XML file at 'C:/Apache2/htdocs/cacti/resource/snmp_queries/extreme_xos_cpu.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at 'C:/Apache2/htdocs/cacti/resource/snmp_queries/extreme_xos_cpu.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at 'C:/Apache2/htdocs/cacti/resource/snmp_queries/extreme_xos_cpu.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at 'C:/Apache2/htdocs/cacti/resource/snmp_queries/extreme_xos_cpu.xml'

_________________
Cacti Version 0.8.7e, Spine 0.8.7e, Apache 2.2.15, Mysql 5.0.88, PHP 5.2.13, RRDTool 1.2.30, NET-SNMP 5.5
Quad Core AMD Opteron Processor 2384, 2.70Ghz, 2GB RAM , 1 CPU used
Windows Server 2003 (X64), VMWARE ESX
Plugins: Aggregate 0.75

SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5140 Method:spine Processes:2 Threads:15 Hosts:400 HostsPerProcess:200 DataSources:2909 RRDsProcessed:1384


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: problems...
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:10 am
Posts: 5
Hi,

I also have trouble with this.
I have only tested the "cpu templates"
First of all I couldn't import the templates. But that’s no problem
I have created them manually by viewing your xmlfiles.
So now I have both Data & Graph templates and they seems to
be right.

But when I’m going to create a I Data Queries Iget an error.
"Could not locate XML file".
Must I create a new extreme_xos_cpu.xml?
If so how do I know the OIDs I must use?

Or do I something completely wrong here...

/Roger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 8:17 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 390
Location: Bristol, England
Hi Roger

Did you put the extreme_xos_cpu.xml into your snmp_queries folder??

Your XML path will look something like this

<path_cacti>/resource/snmp_queries/extreme_xos_cpu.xml

Jay

_________________
Cacti Version 0.8.7e, Spine 0.8.7e, Apache 2.2.15, Mysql 5.0.88, PHP 5.2.13, RRDTool 1.2.30, NET-SNMP 5.5
Quad Core AMD Opteron Processor 2384, 2.70Ghz, 2GB RAM , 1 CPU used
Windows Server 2003 (X64), VMWARE ESX
Plugins: Aggregate 0.75

SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5140 Method:spine Processes:2 Threads:15 Hosts:400 HostsPerProcess:200 DataSources:2909 RRDsProcessed:1384


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 10:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:10 am
Posts: 5
I can't see that file in the zip only
cacti_data_query_extreme_networks_xos_cpu.xml
cacti_data_template_extreme_networks_xos_cpu_utilization.xml
cacti_graph_template_extreme_networks_xos_cpu_utilization.xml

However I created a xml fil with this inside

<interface>
<name>Get Extreme Networks - XOS CPU Information</name>
<description>Get SNMP based Partition Information out of Extreme Networks - XOS CPU</description>
<index_order_type>numeric</index_order_type>
<oid_index>.1.3.6.1.4.1.1916.1.32.1.4.1.1</oid_index>

<fields>
<hrStorageIndex>
<name>Index</name>
<method>walk</method>
<source>value</source>
<direction>input</direction>
<oid>.1.3.6.1.4.1.1916.1.32.1.4.1.1</oid>
</hrStorageIndex>
</fields>
</interface>

but now I get this error in "Graph Management"
ERROR: opening '/var/www/html/rra/elit450_5mincpu_135.rrd': No such file or directory

I have a couples rrd files from other working interfaces in that directory,
but not that file.
"5mincpu" in the filename is from Data Templates [edit: Extreme Networks - XOS CPU Utilization] - Data Source Item [5minCPU] I think.


I´m an unversed in the "Cacti world". My experience is only 2 weeks in this "world" and haven't got the logics behind the process of Templates,Collection methods,device Tracking and management. But I have succeed to create 2 own HP graphs.
:D

/Roger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:27 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 390
Location: Bristol, England
HI

Not entirely sure about your rrd error.

I have just realised that I didn't post the xml query's which need to be added to your resource/snmp_query folder. I have now edited the post and added the xml query's into the zip files.

With regards importing the files I normally download the files onto my PC. I then use Architag Xray XML editor to check for any errors within the XML files. The errors that you normally see are a - before the < within the XML files e.g removing the - before <cacti> below will resolve the problem of importing the xml files within your cacti installation. I would then just copy the text within the file and paste it back into the import box within Cacti. This should get rid of any errors.

- <cacti>
<hash_040013890baeaa6120a5f19a6a5414058aa2a1>
<name>Extreme Networks - XOS CPU</name>


Maybe its worth deleting these templates and re - importing them again and add the following xml files into your resource/snmp_query folder
extreme_xos_cpu.xml
extreme_xos_memory.xml

Then click on your device you want to add the graphs too and add the following data query's to the device
Extreme Networks - XOS CPU
Extreme Networks - XOS Memory

You should see a success of Success [1 Item, 1 Row] then click on create graphs and create the graphs for these 2 templates.

Hope this helps.

Jay

_________________
Cacti Version 0.8.7e, Spine 0.8.7e, Apache 2.2.15, Mysql 5.0.88, PHP 5.2.13, RRDTool 1.2.30, NET-SNMP 5.5
Quad Core AMD Opteron Processor 2384, 2.70Ghz, 2GB RAM , 1 CPU used
Windows Server 2003 (X64), VMWARE ESX
Plugins: Aggregate 0.75

SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5140 Method:spine Processes:2 Threads:15 Hosts:400 HostsPerProcess:200 DataSources:2909 RRDsProcessed:1384


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 11:10 am
Posts: 5
Thanks for your answers,

The trouble with the import are in both ways
this error.

Error: XML: Hash version does not exist.

And I think it can be the version of my Cacti.
My verson are 0.8.6h

/Roger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 5:07 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 8:55 am
Posts: 390
Location: Bristol, England
Roger

I'm running J and the templates were exported in J. Might be worth upgrading to J, its the latest 0.8.6 version. This way you shouldn't get any hash error messages when importing script from the forums. I wouldn't upgrade to 0.8.7 as it looks like there are still a few issues with it.

Did you try what I said by removing the - from the files using the Xray xml editor??

Jay

_________________
Cacti Version 0.8.7e, Spine 0.8.7e, Apache 2.2.15, Mysql 5.0.88, PHP 5.2.13, RRDTool 1.2.30, NET-SNMP 5.5
Quad Core AMD Opteron Processor 2384, 2.70Ghz, 2GB RAM , 1 CPU used
Windows Server 2003 (X64), VMWARE ESX
Plugins: Aggregate 0.75

SYSTEM STATS: Time:12.5140 Method:spine Processes:2 Threads:15 Hosts:400 HostsPerProcess:200 DataSources:2909 RRDsProcessed:1384


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group