Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sat Feb 23, 2019 12:40 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 239 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 16  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: graph free
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 7:42 am
Posts: 40
mhtrim wrote:
But graph debug says:
Code:
ERROR: opening '/usr/share/cacti-0.8.6j/rra/esx1_esxdisk_kbread_3185.rrd':

Any ideas?


It sounds like a file permission issue (not related to ESX template).
Check that the user running your Apache server (httpd, apache or www-data) has permissions to write into the directory /usr/share/cacti-0.8.6j/rra/ and the crontab entry use the same user to invoke the poller.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 3:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 7:42 am
Posts: 40
TheWitness wrote:
Have you overcome issues with reindexing? My guess is that the wrong field is being used as the index field, which would cause the issues that you experienced.
TheWitness


No, I still have troubles with re-indexing. To sum-up, even "Verify all fields" has no effect when MIB tree changes on the ESX server, I need to force re-index manually and clear the poller cache.

The 4 ESX templates I have written use a string description - for instance VM name for CPU - as index to keep track of CPU even if the index in MIB tree or the VM ID (like a process ID for ESX) changes. That is important because the index in tree (or the VM ID) effectively changes often when a VM is added, started or stopped or after a host reboot. By the way, the VM ID changes not so often compared to the MIB index.

May you please have a look to the following files delivered here in the latest zip ?
Only "script_server/vmware_cpu.xml" and "scripts/ss_vmware_cpu.php" will be enough for you to understand and check my implementation.
I mainly got inspiration from "host_disk.xml" and "ss_host_disk.php"

So you think this part should be corrected ?
Code:
<index_order>vmDisplayName:vmID:vmIndex</index_order>
<index_order_type>numeric</index_order_type>

Thank you in advance for your help


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 9:42 am
Posts: 16
Not working for me either.

This was previously working under Linux cacti but not under Windows cacti. Not changed anything on the ESX host.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 7:42 am
Posts: 40
thechicco wrote:
This was previously working under Linux cacti but not under Windows cacti. Not changed anything on the ESX host.


What is the output of verbose query ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 9:42 am
Posts: 16
It's weird because the ESX host memory usage works, just none of the VM stuff.

Data Query Debug Information
+ Running data query [14].
+ Found type = '6 '[script query].
+ Found data query XML file at 'c:/Inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_net.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ Executing script for list of indexes 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] index'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query index'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query netreference'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query netname'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query ifaddr'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query displayname'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query vmid'
+ Found data query XML file at 'c:/Inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_net.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at 'c:/Inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_net.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at 'c:/Inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_net.xml'


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: graph free
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 1:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 12:23 pm
Posts: 2
ymartin59 wrote:
mhtrim wrote:
But graph debug says:
Code:
ERROR: opening '/usr/share/cacti-0.8.6j/rra/esx1_esxdisk_kbread_3185.rrd':

Any ideas?


It sounds like a file permission issue (not related to ESX template).
Check that the user running your Apache server (httpd, apache or www-data) has permissions to write into the directory /usr/share/cacti-0.8.6j/rra/ and the crontab entry use the same user to invoke the poller.


Directory has the right permissions, (770 www-data:www-data). Poller runs as www-data in crontab.

Aside from that, permissions don't really seem to be the issue. I'm monitoring around 70 servers with cacti and all the other graphs work, including all the new graphs for the esx server except for the VM graphs.

Still stumped.

It looks like it's getting the snmp data properly, but it just can't build the graphs. This is using cacti-0.8.6j, btw.


Attachments:
cacti2.jpg
cacti2.jpg [ 97.49 KiB | Viewed 21538 times ]
cacti1.jpg
cacti1.jpg [ 57.29 KiB | Viewed 21538 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: ESX 3.0
PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:46 am
Posts: 11
Hello everyone,

I've read that this template ist for ESX 2.5? Is it also usable for ESX 3.0?

Thanks in advance,
regards,
Johannes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:58 am
Posts: 24
Are you sure that you can access your file (right management problem) ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:58 am
Posts: 24
thechicco wrote:
It's weird because the ESX host memory usage works, just none of the VM stuff.

Data Query Debug Information
+ Running data query [14].
+ Found type = '6 '[script query].
+ Found data query XML file at 'c:/Inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_net.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ Executing script for list of indexes 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] index'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query index'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query netreference'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query netname'
...


It looks typical for me. You don't have enabled the subagent snmp (see the webmanagement of your ESX).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Errors
PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 2:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 1:21 pm
Posts: 2
I'm having problems with this template. My cacti box is running on Windows Server 2003.

I'm not getting anything for any of the VM's. (See images below)

The queries seem to be finding something (see below)


But if I do a verbose query, I get the following errors:
Notice: Undefined index: script_function in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\utility.php on line 159

Notice: Undefined index: script_function in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\utility.php on line 159

Notice: Undefined index: script_function in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\utility.php on line 159

Notice: Undefined index: script_function in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\utility.php on line 159

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\utility.php:159) in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\host.php on line 77


Any idea what my problem might be?


Attachments:
queries.jpg
queries.jpg [ 60.26 KiB | Viewed 20842 times ]
vm_traffic.png
vm_traffic.png [ 18.58 KiB | Viewed 20842 times ]
vm_memory.png
vm_memory.png [ 16.29 KiB | Viewed 20842 times ]
vm_disk.png
vm_disk.png [ 19.09 KiB | Viewed 20842 times ]
vm_cpu_util.png
vm_cpu_util.png [ 16.68 KiB | Viewed 20842 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Errors
PostPosted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:56 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:58 am
Posts: 24
kevin79 wrote:
I'm having problems with this template. My cacti box is running on Windows Server 2003.

I'm not getting anything for any of the VM's. (See images below)

The queries seem to be finding something (see below)

Same answer than previously : are you sure you have enabled the subagent snmp (see the webmanagement of your ESX) ?.

Quote:
But if I do a verbose query, I get the following errors:
Notice: Undefined index: script_function in C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\lib\utility.php on line 159


I don't know exactly what is in utility.php, but you should have a template that use a function in this file. Perhaps you don't have a up-to-date version of cacti ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 2:19 am
Posts: 1
Location: Beijing, China
I only get this:

Running data query [10].
+ Found type = '6 '[script query].
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_cpu.xml'
+ Error parsing XML file into an array.
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_cpu.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_cpu.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at '/var/www/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_cpu.xml'

Error parsing.

The main ESX host memory query works fine.... I have copied the files twice to make sure if was not a binary/ascii upload issue...

Any ideas anyone?

RF.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Errors
PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 1:21 pm
Posts: 2
thierry.chich wrote:
Same answer than previously : are you sure you have enabled the subagent snmp (see the webmanagement of your ESX) ?.

I believe so. How do I check to be certain?

Quote:
I don't know exactly what is in utility.php, but you should have a template that use a function in this file. Perhaps you don't have a up-to-date version of cacti ?

Yes, I just upgraded to version 0.8.6j. I only get the utility.php error when I try to work with the ESX host. All of my other templates are fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 9:42 am
Posts: 16
thierry.chich wrote:
thechicco wrote:
It's weird because the ESX host memory usage works, just none of the VM stuff.

Data Query Debug Information
+ Running data query [14].
+ Found type = '6 '[script query].
+ Found data query XML file at 'c:/Inetpub/wwwroot/cacti/resource/script_server/vmware_net.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ Executing script for list of indexes 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] index'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query index'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query netreference'
+ Executing script query 'c:\php\php.exe -q c:\Inetpub\wwwroot\cacti\scripts\ss_vmware_net.php t2-esx-06.travel2.com 9 2:161:500:n0rmanb0b:::MD5::[None] query netname'
...


It looks typical for me. You don't have enabled the subagent snmp (see the webmanagement of your ESX).


I do have the snmpd agent started. No configuration has changed on the ESX server, I was monitoring VM's, etc with it previously with a Linux Cacti build and all I've done is move across to a Windows Cacti build (because of the WMI stuff) and it's ceased working. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: SNMPd Config
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 2:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 1:31 pm
Posts: 12
Location: San Antonio, TX
Would someone be so kind as to post a copy of their snmpd.conf file for reference?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 239 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 16  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group