Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:33 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 239 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 16  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:39 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2005 10:01 am
Posts: 142
i am also looking for esx 3.5 scripts. snmp appears to be fairly dumbed down on 3.5.

what i would really like is to find out where esx is storing the data in the performance tab and rip that into cacti. i'll be looking into that once my migration is complete.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:50 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 199
Location: Esslingen, Germany
So, does this template work with VMware ESX 3.5? And which template file (post number?) + patches do I need?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:39 am 
Offline
Cacti User
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 10:08 am
Posts: 199
Location: Esslingen, Germany
I've now imported the templates, but I don't get any query results for the VMware oids. I'm running ESX 3.5, snmp is enabled and I've changed config.php -> global.php in the script files. Version 0.8.7b on debian etch.


Attachments:
cacti-vmware-esx-35.jpg
cacti-vmware-esx-35.jpg [ 76.53 KiB | Viewed 19917 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 27, 2008 10:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 4:18 am
Posts: 4
zeki wrote:
i'm trying to get the network traffic on the VMs and i'm getting bogus data.
like 200G 100G. I set the maximum for Data Source Item Fields [traffic_in]
and traffic_out to 100000000 during the creation of the rra, yet i'm still getting this bogus data.

Any ideas what is going on?


ds[traffic_in].max = 1.0000000000e+08

ds[traffic_out].max = 1.0000000000e+08


Same problem here, anybody with a solution??

Thnx in advanced.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:32 am
Posts: 1
Can someone tell me what templates we need to use to monitor our esx 3.5 environment with Cacti?
I don't see any templates here which are marked as working for 3.5

Thx

David


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 3:49 pm
Posts: 1
trap oids for ESX changed in esx 3.5, at least for virtual center traps
So I had to update my mibs, then reload mibs, reloaded new traps for other
snmp systems, now all is fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:05 am
Posts: 13
David1975 wrote:
Can someone tell me what templates we need to use to monitor our esx 3.5 environment with Cacti?
I don't see any templates here which are marked as working for 3.5

Thx

David


The templates here work fine on 3.5, but the SNMP configuration on ESX 3.5 is a little different..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 12
Location: Manchester, UK
what needs to be done to the snmp configuration to get a working result? im running 3.5 and get 0 response from the esx template


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Create Cacti or op5 Statistics graphs with op5 ESX3 plugin
PostPosted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:31 am
Posts: 5
Location: Sweden
Hi

I have created a howto to graph Vmware ESX IO by using a nagios plugin developed by op5.
Take a look at http://www.it-slav.net/blogs/?p=262

Regards
Peter Andersson
[email protected]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 6:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 12
Location: Manchester, UK
Hi, the graphs are great and ive got VS IO Load working fine however with VM when running the script I get the following response

./esxiograph.sh io_vm vmware-stockholm demo.op5.com -p xxxx -u yyyy

usage:to read:at write:Login

any ideas?

Aceg3905


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2008 3:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 3:31 am
Posts: 5
Location: Sweden
Ouups it is a typo in my description try:
./esxiograph.sh io_vm vmware-stockholm demo.op5.com <user> <password>

If you run the command without any parameters:
[[email protected] custom]# ./esxiograph.sh
Usage: esxiograph.sh <Command> <VS Host> <VM Name> <Username> <Password>
Command can be any of either: io_vm, io_vs
When using a *_vs command you cannot specify a VM Name

so you can se the syntax

I will update my instructions

Thanks and it makes me happy to see that somebody actually uses my stuff :-)
Check it out at http://www.it-slav.net/blogs/?p=262

/[email protected]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: disk and nics pb
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 10:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:48 am
Posts: 12
Hello,

I have imported the templates successfully.
I can generate graphs for CPU and memory ==> OK
But I have problems with disk and net graphs.
Ex for disk at import :
Cacti has imported the following items:

GPRINT Preset

[success] Normal [update]

Data Input Method

[success] Get Script Server Data (Indexed) [update]

Data Template

[success] VMware ESX - VM disk read/write operations [new]
[success] VMware ESX - VM disk read/write (kB) [new]

Graph Template

[success] VMware ESX - VM disk read/write operations [new]
[success] VMware ESX - VM disk read/write (kB) [new]

Data Query

[success] VMware ESX - Get VM disk statistics [new]


And I obtain :


Attachments:
1.JPG
1.JPG [ 22.81 KiB | Viewed 17771 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 10:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:48 am
Posts: 12
I just want to precise that I have no pb with CPU and MEM.
It's only for nic and disk that I have 0 Item, 0 Row.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:29 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 12
Location: Manchester, UK
scpetand wrote:
Ouups it is a typo in my description try:
./esxiograph.sh io_vm vmware-stockholm demo.op5.com <user> <password>

If you run the command without any parameters:
[[email protected] custom]# ./esxiograph.sh
Usage: esxiograph.sh <Command> <VS Host> <VM Name> <Username> <Password>
Command can be any of either: io_vm, io_vs
When using a *_vs command you cannot specify a VM Name

so you can se the syntax

I will update my instructions

Thanks and it makes me happy to see that somebody actually uses my stuff :-)
Check it out at http://www.it-slav.net/blogs/?p=262

/[email protected]


its working great ill try this and let you know, the script is great keep up the good work ;)

Okay im still getting an issue just with io_vm so I understand it the synatx should be check_esx3.pl <Virtual Machine Host> <Virtual machine> <Username> <Password>

with this i still get

usage:Unknown read: write:

any ideas? im using the virtual machine name is identified in VIC and from the list generate from

check_esx3.pl -H -u xxxxx -p yyyyyy
-l runtime -s list

im kinda stuck now


Last edited by aceg3905 on Thu Dec 04, 2008 7:06 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:09 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Posts: 2707
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Hi,

For ESX 3.5 you need to check the following:

in /etc/hosts there must be (!) an entry for localhost:
Code:
127.0.0.1  localhost



Here's my snmpd.conf file:

Code:
###########################################################################
#
# snmpd.conf
#
#   - created by the snmpconf configuration program
#
###########################################################################
# SECTION: Access Control Setup
#
#   This section defines who is allowed to talk to your running
#   snmp agent.

# rocommunity: a SNMPv1/SNMPv2c read-only access community name
#   arguments:  community [default|hostname|network/bits] [oid]

rocommunity public

###########################################################################
# SECTION: Extending the Agent
#
#   You can extend the snmp agent to have it return information
#   that you yourself define.

# dlmod: dynamically extend the agent using a shared-object
#   arguments:  module-name module-path

dlmod SNMPESX /usr/lib/vmware/snmp/libSNMPESX.so
dlmod cmaX /usr/lib/libcmaX.so.1

#
# Unknown directives read in from other files by snmpconf
#
smuxpeer .1.3.6.1.4.1.674.10892.1
smuxpeer .1.3.6.1.4.1.6876.1



to start the snmp dameon
Code:
# to enable snmpd thorugh the firewall
esxcfg-firewall -e snmpd
# to start snmpd
service snmpd restart
# to start snmpd automatically after reboot
chkconfig snmpd on



After that, cacti is able to get the snmp data.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 239 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 16  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group