Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:19 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Linux: Next Generation CPU Graph - ANY number of CPU Cor
PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:40 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 7:48 am
Posts: 68
b0fh wrote:
Template looks nice, but same problem here with two Xeon 6 core CPUs: User/system times are wrong, idle is "nan".
Did anyone fix this or know any other nice scalable Linux-Multi-CPU template?

Edit: The template seems to work when most of the cores are under load. "calculated logical CPUs" and usage/idle percent are shown correctly. It seems to be a problem when most of the available cores are not loaded in the given interval.


Hello.
I'm having exactly the same issue on all machines.
The machines have 24 cores but the Calculated Logical CPUs are being reported as 2, 3 or 4. So the graph is really wrong.
Is there any known fix for this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux: Next Generation CPU Graph - ANY number of CPU Cor
PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2013 2:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2013 2:33 am
Posts: 1
The Fridh scripts are awesome, we are using it on our Cacti installation, graphing 4 hosts, let's call them A, B, C and D.

Cacti runs on host C, graphing itself using SNMP on localhost.

But I ran into a problem. On two hosts, A and B, it is graphing the CPU usage and IO stats correctly. These are A: a Centos 6.4 (NET-SNMP 5.5, 3 cores) and B: a Ubuntu 10.04 (NET-SNMP 5.4.2.1, 6 cores) installations. The machine C, on which Cacti is running on, is a Ubuntu 12.04 machine with NET-SNMP 5.4.3, and 1 core.

Machine D is another Ubuntu 12.04 machine with 2 cores. C can not graph the Fridh datasources on C and D. I tried running the poller script with --force, to see if the corresponding .RRD files would be created, but no. Any idea why? What can I do to debug this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux: Next Generation CPU Graph - ANY number of CPU Cor
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:20 pm
Posts: 1
FYI, there is a max value of 2000 set on some of the values stored in the RRD. I think this translates to 20*100% so that causes the graphs to stop working for any systems with more than 20 CPUs. To fix it, just change the 9 instances of
Code:
<rrd_maximum>2000</rrd_maximum>
starting around line 1080 to
Code:
<rrd_maximum></rrd_maximum>
and reimport the template. I don't think I've seen any adverse effects from this change.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux: Next Generation CPU Graph - ANY number of CPU Cor
PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2014 12:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2014 2:40 pm
Posts: 1
chuonthis:

I had installed this and have been getting wrong information for a while. I wasn't able to get your fix to work in my environment, however, I used rrdtool to update the associated RRD files using your discovery.

This will update all files containing _sscpurawsystem_ for each ds with a new upper bound limit of NaN. Setting the maximum value of these ds's to NaN means there is no upper bound.
Code:
ls /usr/share/cacti/rra/*_sscpurawsystem_*.rrd | xargs -I '{}' rrdtool tune {} -a ssCpuRawNice:NaN
ls /usr/share/cacti/rra/*_sscpurawsystem_*.rrd | xargs -I '{}' rrdtool tune {} -a ssCpuRawIdle:NaN
ls /usr/share/cacti/rra/*_sscpurawsystem_*.rrd | xargs -I '{}' rrdtool tune {} -a ssCpuRawWait:NaN
ls /usr/share/cacti/rra/*_sscpurawsystem_*.rrd | xargs -I '{}' rrdtool tune {} -a ssCpuRawSystem:NaN
ls /usr/share/cacti/rra/*_sscpurawsystem_*.rrd | xargs -I '{}' rrdtool tune {} -a ssCpuRawKernel:NaN
ls /usr/share/cacti/rra/*_sscpurawsystem_*.rrd | xargs -I '{}' rrdtool tune {} -a ssCpuRawSoftIRQ:NaN
ls /usr/share/cacti/rra/*_sscpurawsystem_*.rrd | xargs -I '{}' rrdtool tune {} -a ssCpuRawUser:NaN
ls /usr/share/cacti/rra/*_sscpurawsystem_*.rrd | xargs -I '{}' rrdtool tune {} -a ssCpuRawInterrupt:NaN


Thanks again, I've been banging my head against the wall for a while on this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux: Next Generation CPU Graph - ANY number of CPU Cor
PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2015 5:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 5:47 am
Posts: 1
hello,
Awesome work from the author. Working template for up to 70 cores attached.


Attachments:
cacti_data_query_fridh_-_ucdnet_-_systemstats.xml [61.52 KiB]
Downloaded 345 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux: Next Generation CPU Graph - ANY number of CPU Cor
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2015 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 3:04 pm
Posts: 2
Hi,

Has anyone tried to create a threshold on the total CPU usage at all? Trying to wrap my head around this as you can only create thresholds on the actual data source. The current template uses the CDEF function to find the total. Anyone know a way to grab the value of that CDEF?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux: Next Generation CPU Graph - ANY number of CPU Cor
PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2016 5:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:12 am
Posts: 10
Hi,
My CPU localhost graph was worked correctly, but when I changed RRD's setting, it didn't work anymore!!! :( :( :(
I have memory usage, logged in user and etc localhost graph but in CPU I see nan value.
How to fix it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux: Next Generation CPU Graph - ANY number of CPU Cor
PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 11:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 11:17 pm
Posts: 2
edward1234 wrote:
Hi Everyone,

Bump for catchvjay's question. I'm having the exact same issue with dual Intel Xeons with 6 cores giving me 24 threads. My graph looks exactly like his wrt the values being inaccurate and the CPU count being 0. Fridh's graph works for my other boxes (thanks), which have dual Xeons with 4 cores (16 threads). Maybe we're exceeding some threshold?

Cacti version is 0.8.7b

I verified the OIDs are correct for systemstats.xml and verified via Graph Management with debugging turned on.

Thanks


Hi,
This works fine for my 64 cores CPU servers.
Attachment:
px5.png
px5.png [ 60 KiB | Viewed 106 times ]


But I just realized that one of them only shows 63 CPUs
Attachment:
px6.png
px6.png [ 60.71 KiB | Viewed 106 times ]


On the other side, this doesn't work for my 128 cores CPU servers.
One is showing 12 CPUs
Attachment:
px7.png
px7.png [ 41.08 KiB | Viewed 106 times ]


The other one is showing 3 CPUs
Attachment:
px8.png
px8.png [ 39.17 KiB | Viewed 106 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux: Next Generation CPU Graph - ANY number of CPU Cor
PostPosted: Mon Oct 09, 2017 11:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 11:17 pm
Posts: 2
chuonthis wrote:
FYI, there is a max value of 2000 set on some of the values stored in the RRD. I think this translates to 20*100% so that causes the graphs to stop working for any systems with more than 20 CPUs. To fix it, just change the 9 instances of
Code:
<rrd_maximum>2000</rrd_maximum>
starting around line 1080 to
Code:
<rrd_maximum></rrd_maximum>
and reimport the template. I don't think I've seen any adverse effects from this change.


My bad, I missed this.

I'll update mine.
Thanks a lot.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group