Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 10:30 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: WxGoose Climate Monitor
PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2004 2:13 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 1:59 pm
Posts: 166
Location: Oregon
WxGoose (also named WeatherGoose) by the guys at I.T. Watchdogs is a server room climate monitor.

I've written a perl script to return it's data. I return the temperature in fahrenheit, everything else is raw data from the device. I've only returned the default sensors for the device which are: Temperature, Relative Humidity, Air Flow, Light Level, Sound Level.

Perl script takes two parameters, <hostname> and <snmp_community>


Attachments:
File comment: Perl script
wxgoose.pl.txt [1.29 KiB]
Downloaded 1498 times
File comment: Graph screenshot
wxgoose.gif
wxgoose.gif [ 13.05 KiB | Viewed 30652 times ]
File comment: Host template
cacti_host_template_wxgoose.xml [22.06 KiB]
Downloaded 1642 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004 7:46 am 
I seem to be having problems with this (Then again, I am a rookie at cacti!). Anyway, I set it up and if it doesn't pull back any info. If I go into verbose debugging I get:

Notice: Undefined index: script_path in E:\www\lib\data_query.php on line 72

Notice: Undefined index: arg_index in E:\www\lib\data_query.php on line 82

Notice: Undefined index: arg_index in E:\www\lib\data_query.php on line 84

Warning: Variable passed to each() is not an array or object in E:\www\lib\data_query.php on line 88


Any ideas?


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2004 7:47 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 1:59 pm
Posts: 166
Location: Oregon
Run the script in perl to see if you get any data back or if your parameters are wrong.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Receive XML Parse Error:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 11:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 11:28 am
Posts: 3
DevilSun....love your scripts. I want to get Cacti graphing my Weathergoose but am having problems getting the XLM file to import into Cacti. I receive the following error after I choose Import:

Error: XML parse error.

Any ideas? I've tried importing text only as well. I'm running Cacti 0.8.6b. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2005 1:56 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 1:59 pm
Posts: 166
Location: Oregon
Hmmm, dunno what to tell ya there, plus I'm now running 0.8.6c so I don't think this will help, but here's an export I Just did.


Attachments:
cacti_graph_template_wxgoose.xml [13.83 KiB]
Downloaded 1206 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2005 10:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2005 10:48 am
Posts: 1
How are you getting decimal values returned from the snmp-get? When I try to obtain the temperature, it only returns an integer.

Also, we have more than one temperature monitor on our floor. Do I need to create a seperate Host in cacti for each monitor, even though their stats are all returned by the snmp-get that I do against the wxgoos?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 3:22 pm
Posts: 8
Any ideas as to what is causing the characters showing up after the temperature? I thought it might be the "%" sign since it does not show up, but it does on the others. Not sure where to check that though.

Great script and any help would be greatly appreciated.


Attachments:
btr_wxgoose.png
btr_wxgoose.png [ 27.58 KiB | Viewed 27986 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 6:48 pm 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2004 1:59 pm
Posts: 166
Location: Oregon
That's the "degree" symbol, probably your character set/codepage, i.e. possibly an older computer or OS?

You can remove it by editing the GPRINT called "Degrees" and removing that character.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2006 10:03 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 10:11 am
Posts: 66
Are there also Data Templates that need to be imported with this? When importing the host template I get the following:



Code:
Graph Template
[success] WxGoose [new]
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Found Dependency: (GPRINT Preset) Normal
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Found Dependency: (GPRINT Preset) Degrees
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Found Dependency: (GPRINT Preset) Percentage
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Found Dependency: (GPRINT Preset) Exact Numbers
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
   + Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 1:05 am
Posts: 34
Does anyone have any updated script for the latest version of cacti (J) ?

I am running this and it seems to be working ok, however it only works with CMD.PHP for some reason.
The moment I switch on CACTID, I get no results.

Code:
SCRIPT: perl.exe E:/wwwroot/cacti/scripts/wxgoose.pl <ipaddr> <Comm>, output: U 
WARNING: Result from SCRIPT not valid. Partial Result: ... 
ERROR: Empty result [<ipaddr>]: 'perl.exe E:/wwwroot/cacti/scripts/wxgoose.pl <ipaddr> <Comm>' 


Where ipaddr and comm is the ip and community of my Wxgoose device.

Running the script from CLI produces the output correctly:
Code:
int-Temp:80.6 int-Hum:32 int-Flow:44 int-Light:44 int-Sound:34


Any ideas?

Thanks
jacauc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 3:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 1:07 am
Posts: 19
Location: Coral Gables, FL
I'm running j and cactid, but I took DevilSun's original work and modified it to remove the perl script and do via direct snmp query instead, since I poll about a hundred of these units. I still do C to F conversion, but its done in a CDEF instead. I also modified the colors to match the ones on the web page that the unit displays.

Mine is also modified to work with RacSense instead of WxGoose. Both are made by Geist and are identical in hardware, (you can run RacSense firmware on a WxGoose), however the OIDs are different between RacSense and WxGoose, but otherwise they are the same unit. You'll need to either change the OIDs in my template or change the firmware, but since it doesn't need perl, it may help you.

Good luck!

-Tom


Attachments:
File comment: Place in cacti/resource/snmp_queries
racsense.xml [1.44 KiB]
Downloaded 942 times
File comment: Sample Graph
graph_image.php.png
graph_image.php.png [ 59.89 KiB | Viewed 26167 times ]
File comment: Import via Cacti
cacti_graph_template_racsense_internal_sensors.xml [32.82 KiB]
Downloaded 1108 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 4:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 1:05 am
Posts: 34
Thanks, this works well.
Looks good so far.

However, your "Exact Numbers +2 space pad" GPRINT, does not really work... The spaces are not saved.
I'm gonna try to replace the spaces with an "alt+255" now and see if that works.

Thanks again
cheers
jacauc


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 4:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 1:05 am
Posts: 34
"alt 255" works like a charm!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 4:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 1:07 am
Posts: 19
Location: Coral Gables, FL
The spaces worked fine for me. Maybe a FreeBSD vs. Windows thing. Btw, did my version help your polling time at all? I never really used it the other way, so I wasn't sure how much benefit I received by redoing it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:16 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 1:05 am
Posts: 34
Well, I don't really know if it improved it as it's obviously much faster now that I'm using CACTID again.

I had to switch off CACTID due to the problems, so when I installed this, I re-enabled CACTID.

I am polling quite a few hosts (and a lot of them over slow WAN links) and the process completes in 30s. Not too bad I think.
Code:
SYSTEM STATS: Time:29.1374 Method:cactid Processes:2 Threads:10 Hosts:171 HostsPerProcess:86 DataSources:1062 RRDsProcessed:0
[/code]


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group