Host Template for AKCP Devices

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
eschoeller
Cacti User
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:03 pm

Host Template for AKCP Devices

#1 Post by eschoeller » Tue Nov 05, 2013 4:15 am

I have created a host template for trending statistics from various AKCP devices. Please see the following URL for the template homepage and more information:

http://docs.cacti.net/usertemplate:host ... ensorprobe

Please keep all discussions and troubleshooting questions related to this template here, in this thread. I hope you find this template useful, I sure did!

Thanks!

putrageass
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 11:22 pm

Re: Host Template for AKCP Devices

#2 Post by putrageass » Sun Apr 05, 2015 11:35 pm

Hello I use your template and I got error like this while trying to debug query:
+ Running data query [10].
+ Found type = '3' [SNMP Query].
+ Found data query XML file at 'C:/xampp/htdocs/cacti/resource/script_queries/query-akcp-temperature.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ <oid_num_indexes> missing in XML file, 'Index Count Changed' emulated by counting oid_index entries
+ Executing SNMP walk for list of indexes @ '' Index Count: 0
+ No SNMP data returned

can you tell me what's wrong?

eschoeller
Cacti User
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:03 pm

Re: Host Template for AKCP Devices

#3 Post by eschoeller » Mon Apr 06, 2015 6:39 pm

It appears that you have an SNMP error, or you cannot communicate with the AKCP device due to a network problem. What kind of AKCP device are you using? Can you ping it and run snmpwalk commands against it from the command line?

putrageass
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 11:22 pm

Re: Host Template for AKCP Devices

#4 Post by putrageass » Mon Apr 06, 2015 10:35 pm

thanks for your respond, I am using AKCP SensorProbe 8 V.2

and apparently there's no network error because I can either ping it and run snmpwalk comman from command line, I think it has something to do with the xml file, and I am still not get it.. I have contacted AKCP for OID number and they give me this list of OIDs , can you help me, I really appreciate it, because I need it for my final project..
Attachments
AKCP OID LIST.rar
(10.44 KiB) Downloaded 70 times

eschoeller
Cacti User
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:03 pm

Re: Host Template for AKCP Devices

#5 Post by eschoeller » Tue Apr 07, 2015 12:13 am

It should really look like this:

Code: Select all

+ Running data query [55].
+ Found type = '6' [Script Query - Script Server].
+ Found data query XML file at '/cacti/cacti-0.8.8b-prod/resource/script_queries/query-akcp-temperature.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ <arg_num_indexes> missing in XML file, 'Index Count Changed' emulated by counting arg_index entries
+ Executing script for list of indexes '/usr/local/php/bin/php -q /cacti/cacti-0.8.8b-prod/scripts/query_akcp_temperature.php HOST.DOMAIN.COM SNMPCOMMUNITY 1 161 1500 1 "" "" "" "" "" "" index' Index Count: 5
+ Found index: 0
+ Found index: 1
+ Found index: 2
+ Found index: 3
+ Found index: 4
+ Executing script query '/usr/local/php/bin/php -q /cacti/cacti-0.8.8b-prod/scripts/query_akcp_temperature.php HOST.DOMAIN.COM SNMPCOMMUNITY 1 161 1500 1 "" "" "" "" "" "" query index'
+ Found item [index='0'] index: 0
+ Found item [index='1'] index: 1
+ Found item [index='2'] index: 2
+ Found item [index='3'] index: 3
+ Found item [index='4'] index: 4
I re-uploaded my entire template set to the docs.cacti.net as version 1.1. Try downloading it again and re-install it. I took a quick look and I might have made some changes at one point, but wasn't really sure it was worthy of a release. I don't believe it will fix your problem, but we might as well get on the same version to make troubleshooting easier.

Now that I think about it some more ...

For some reason it looks like your version is using an SNMP query and mine is using a Script Query - Script Server query. I think I ran into some serious problems trying to use a standard SNMP query and had to resort to using a script query instead. That would be a significant change and likely break any existing installations running out there with the version 1.0 set. Maybe that's why I didn't release it. My memory is foggy on it. My suggestion to you: since it's not working, delete ALL of it, then install version 1.1. Don't try to re-import ontop of the other version. I have a sinking feeling it will break. Let me know how it goes.

putrageass
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 11:22 pm

Re: Host Template for AKCP Devices

#6 Post by putrageass » Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:13 am

I tried the newer version and it's getting worse honestly, because it caused errorr when I tried to debug the query and resulting on error associated with functions.php on cacti lib..
I have delete all the previous data, and install new one, but still, no data query
I have put the php files on scripts and xml on /resource/script_queries and still I can't connect it, btw thanks for update it though it can't help me

eschoeller
Cacti User
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:03 pm

Re: Host Template for AKCP Devices

#7 Post by eschoeller » Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:46 am

what version of Cacti are you using? Can you post any text of the errors you are getting? Can you tell me how you have configured the AKCP in the devices section?

putrageass
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 11:22 pm

Re: Host Template for AKCP Devices

#8 Post by putrageass » Tue Apr 07, 2015 3:34 am

I am using cacti version 0.8.8c , at first creating new device it gets error said : Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in C:\xampp\htdocs\cacti\lib\functions.php on line 1618
and when I reload it, there's already new device I made when getting that error, after that I set device with this setting:
Host template: AKCP device
Number Collection Thread: 1
Downed Device Detection : SNMP Uptime
Ping Timeout Value : 400
Ping Retry count : 1
SNMP Version : Version 1
SNMP Community : Public
SNMP Port : 161
SNMP Timeout : 500
MAX OID per guest : 10

another error that I get is when trying to debug the data query, it's loading and display this error:
Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in C:\xampp\htdocs\cacti\lib\functions.php on line 1618

this is the screenshoot that I take on device menu, I attached it
Attachments
CACTI.rar
(58.37 KiB) Downloaded 68 times

eschoeller
Cacti User
Posts: 234
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:03 pm

Re: Host Template for AKCP Devices

#9 Post by eschoeller » Tue Apr 07, 2015 1:43 pm

Ah-ha. That's a helpful error. You need to jump over to the command line and run the script manually to see what the problem could be with your system. Or look through the Cacti logs. There might be more there.

You'll need to run something like this:

Code: Select all

php -q /cacti/cacti-0.8.8b-prod/scripts/query_akcp_temperature.php HOST.DOMAIN.COM SNMPCOMMUNITY 1 161 1500 1 "" "" "" "" "" "" query index
Except you appear to be a on a windows system, so you'll have to tweak a lot of that to make it work, and obviously fill in your HOST and COMMUNITY appropriately.

Post Reply