F5 BigIP Virtual Server Query

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Author
Message
gkuchera
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 5:01 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN

#16 Post by gkuchera » Tue Mar 08, 2005 5:56 pm

The fields I'm having an issue with come up as the final step to creating the device when it askes for:

Index Type:
Index Value:
Output Type ID:

I'm not quite sure what to put in the blanks for each. I believe there are several iterations of the same question on the page, like for additional vips, etc.. Not sure..

Any help would be greatly appreciated


Thanks,
Geoff Kuchera
Geoff Kuchera
MLT Vacations, Inc.

firozrangwala
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2005 4:00 pm

#17 Post by firozrangwala » Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:23 am

might be...

now i am having trouble with adding devices or graphs in general, so i'm trying to troubleshoot that issue.

But if you could send me the snippet with the oid, that would be great.

[email protected]
Firoz Rangwala

jake_pollmann
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:52 pm

#18 Post by jake_pollmann » Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:56 pm

I am only seeing a subset of my virtual servers. I have 50 or so VIPs with a 209.x.y.z address and about 50 more with 63.a.b.c addresses. Right now I'm only able to see the 209.x.y.z VIPs.

Is this a limitation of the templates or am I doing something wrong?

Thanks,

Jake

mozingod
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 5:46 pm
Location: Ohio

#19 Post by mozingod » Wed Mar 16, 2005 4:18 pm

I'm thinking a Perl/PHP script would be needed to get the Pool name information. It'd make having to parse those odd sized ASCII valued OID's much easier than trying it with Regular Expressions (if that's even possible).

Unfortunately, I found a quicker way around having to do this for my setup, otherwise I'd have written one and given it out. I don't think it'd be too difficult (famous last words, eh?).

ktr
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:02 am

Gathering with 9.0.x

#20 Post by ktr » Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:08 am

Hi,

just a question: did anyone have success with an adaption of the query to Software Version 9.0.x like it is used in the BIGIP 6400?

Best regards,

Klaus

jlehman
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 5:05 pm
Location: hawyard ca

F5 BigIP V 9.0.x

#21 Post by jlehman » Fri May 20, 2005 3:38 pm

I am having all the same problems posted here. I have modified the script.xml to reflect the newer OIDs, and end up with
gkuchera s problem ..

The fields I'm having an issue with come up as the final step to creating the device when it askes for:

Index Type:
Index Value:
Output Type ID:

any luck on an external script to collect the data?

lordb
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:50 am

#22 Post by lordb » Wed Jul 06, 2005 10:51 am

Has any one gotten this to wrok with bigib 9.x ???

Byron

User avatar
rickmccl
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:29 am

Re: Thanks Jamie

#23 Post by rickmccl » Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:38 am

rcariddi wrote:Hey I got your templates working for BigIP Virtual Statistics. They look great, I had to change the OID due to my older version of code for traffic in/out, after that, it was perfect. [8<]
Rich Cariddi
Rich -- I'm trying to learn how to figure this out, my traffic graphs are all NaN. What was the change you made? I'm using BigIP v3.3 if that helps anyone..

Thanks,
Rick McClinton

User avatar
rickmccl
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:29 am

#24 Post by rickmccl » Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:46 pm

I think I got it, edit the XML and change this section

Code: Select all

                <vsBytesIn>
                        <name>Bytes In</name>
                        <method>walk</method>
                        <source>value</source>
                        <direction>output</direction>
                        <oid>1.3.6.1.4.1.3375.1.1.3.2.1.38</oid>
                </vsBytesIn>
                <vsBytesOut>
                        <name>Bytes Out</name>
                        <method>walk</method>
                        <source>value</source>
                        <direction>output</direction>
                        <oid>1.3.6.1.4.1.3375.1.1.3.2.1.39</oid>
                </vsBytesOut>
          
change .38 and .39 to .13 and .14 respectively.

This goes from "bytes" to "octets" but this should still be correct for the graph, which is labeled "bits per second", yes?

Thanks,
Rick McClinton

enelson
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 5:00 pm
Location: Sacto
Contact:

#25 Post by enelson » Thu Aug 04, 2005 6:16 pm

What version of bigip are you guys all running? It appears that the mibs have completely changed on my newish bigip's here, and on the ones from my prior employer. Both were running 9.x...

ours here are
BIG-IP 9.0.4 Build 118.5

any queries for 1.3.6.1.4.1.3375.1 fail on these units, and it appears they've gone to a whole new mib since everythings now on the 1.3.6.1.4.1.3375.2 tree.

Maybe I'm doing something wrong?


Eric

elebel
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 7:49 pm
Location: Canada

Query didn't seem to work from the GUI

#26 Post by elebel » Sat Aug 13, 2005 10:50 pm

Hi All,

I just install cacti 0.8.6f and the the F5 Virtual server query never return any information in the GUI. When I run a snmpwalk from the cacti host to my F5 unit it work well.

snmpwalk -v1 -c my_cs my_host_ip .1.3.6.1.4.1.3375.1.1.3.2.1.1
.iso.3.6.1.4.1.3375.1.1.3.2.1.1.x.y.z.w.53 = IpAddress: x.y.z.w
.iso.3.6.1.4.1.3375.1.1.3.2.1.1.x.y.z.u.123 = IpAddress: x.y.z.u
...

here is the output of the queries in the GUI

+ Running data query [10].
+ Found type = '3' [snmp query].
+ Found data query XML file at '/opt/htdocs/cacti-0.8.6f/resource/snmp_queries/f5_bigip_vs.xml'
+ XML file parsed ok.
+ Executing SNMP walk for list of indexes @ '1.3.6.1.4.1.3375.1.1.3.2.1.1'
+ No SNMP data returned
+ Found data query XML file at '/opt/htdocs/cacti-0.8.6f/resource/snmp_queries/f5_bigip_vs.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at '/opt/htdocs/cacti-0.8.6f/resource/snmp_queries/f5_bigip_vs.xml'
+ Found data query XML file at '/opt/htdocs/cacti-0.8.6f/resource/snmp_queries/f5_bigip_vs.xml'

Does anyone have any idea ?

thanks
Etienne

elebel
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 7:49 pm
Location: Canada

I found my problem

#27 Post by elebel » Sun Aug 14, 2005 9:31 pm

I found my problem,

the xml query file didn't have a leading dot for each oid. This is maybe because I use an old version of snmp. I got ucd-snmp 4.2.4 running on an old RH 7.3. But with the modif everything works well.

thanks for this cool template.

brett_olah
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 3:11 pm
Location: MV Ca
Contact:

F5 Template Graph Creation

#28 Post by brett_olah » Mon Sep 12, 2005 3:54 pm

Previously in this thread it was asked:

The fields I'm having an issue with come up as the final step to creating the device when it askes for:

Index Type:
Index Value:
Output Type ID:

I Followed this thread all the way & never saw a responce... I'm having the same issue. Just wondering if there is something fundamental I'm missing?
"Programing today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots...
...So far the universe is winning".

-Rich Cook

43Percent
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:54 am

Re:

#29 Post by 43Percent » Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:44 am

I'd also like to ask the same question. I've implemented these templates but I'm totally at a loss as to what's expected of me. Can someone please shed some light onto what we're supposed to input for successful monitoring?

Thanks!

User avatar
N3NCY
Cacti User
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2005 7:50 pm
Location: Landenberg, PA
Contact:

F5 Template Graph Creatiom

#30 Post by N3NCY » Sat Oct 29, 2005 12:47 am

um, bump?

Still same question:
The fields I'm having an issue with come up as the final step to creating the device when it askes for:

Index Type:
Index Value:
Output Type ID:

I Followed this thread all the way & never saw a responce... I'm having the same issue. Just wondering if there is something fundamental I'm missing?

Post Reply