ucd/net snmp Device (Disk) I/O templates - Updated - v3.1

Templates, scripts for templates, scripts and requests for templates.

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply

Would you or your company pay someone to create more graph templates?

Poll ended at Wed Nov 02, 2005 7:01 pm

Yes
14
17%
No
28
33%
Maybe
23
27%
You suck for even asking
19
23%
 
Total votes: 84

Author
Message
alexei.lexx
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:48 am

#106 Post by alexei.lexx » Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:51 am

mvip wrote:Did anyone manage to get this working on any recent version of Cacti?

I followed the steps in the initial instructions, but can only manage to get "Bytes Read/Written" to work. I'm running on a FreeBSD 6.2 machine and I can successfully manage top pull the information with snmptable and snmpwalk
I did the same and only graph "Bytes Read/Written" is working. I don't see any errors in logs. Has somebody solution? I realy need this disk information.

ssabchew
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2009 7:27 am

#107 Post by ssabchew » Wed Mar 04, 2009 7:04 am

[quote="alexei.lexx"]
I did the same and only graph "Bytes Read/Written" is working. I don't see any errors in logs. Has somebody solution? I realy need this disk information.[/quote]


I've changed the Graph Template 'Device I/O - Load Averages'
Go to:[b]Graph Templates[/b] ->[b] ucd/net - Device I/O - Load Averages[/b] and cnag following 'CF Type' to AVERAGE:

AREA -> from LAST to AVERAGE
STACK -> from LAST to AVERAGE
STACK -> from LAST to AVERAGE
And it worked.

About the last template - 'Device I/O - Reads/Writes':
I've changed every 'CF Types' that was LAST to AVERAGE and it works.

I've also got the Graph Template 'ucd/net - Device I/O - ALL', which after changing all 'CF Type's from LAST to AVERAGE worked.

Are the graphs accurate after this changes?



OS: CentOS 5.2
Cacti v 0.8.7d[b][/b]

alexei.lexx
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:48 am

#108 Post by alexei.lexx » Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:39 am

Are the graphs accurate after this changes?
No.

I did this

Image

and

Image

Results are

Image

Two charts are still not working.

OS: Ubuntu 8.10
Cacti: 0.8.7b

alexei.lexx
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 5:48 am

#109 Post by alexei.lexx » Thu Mar 05, 2009 4:33 am

Go to:Graph Templates -> ucd/net - Device I/O - Load Averages and cnag following 'CF Type' to AVERAGE:
You are right. Problem is if CF = Last. I recreated charts. Now they work. Thx.

Heiko
Cacti User
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:03 am

#110 Post by Heiko » Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:31 am

Hello,

it seems I have the same problem like some others.

THe Reads/Writes graphs are not drawn.
I read this post, but couldnt find where something is wrong,
the snmpwalks on this post work all fine. Also all the other graphs in this script.
Can someone help to debug this?

Code: Select all

# /usr/bin/rrdtool graph - \
> --imgformat=PNG \
> --start=1236781263 \
> --end=1236867663 \
> --title="D1Blade1 - Device I/O - Reads/Writes sda1" \
> --base=1000 \
> --height=120 \
> --width=500 \
> --alt-autoscale-max \
> --lower-limit=0 \
> COMMENT:"From 2009/03/11 14\:21\:03 To 2009/03/12 14\:21\:03\c" \
> COMMENT:"  \n" \
> --vertical-label="Reads/Writes" \
> --slope-mode \
> --font TITLE:12: \
> --font AXIS:8: \
> --font LEGEND:10: \
> --font UNIT:8: \
> DEF:a="/var/www/cacti/rra/d1blade1_15min_loadavg_3626.rrd":Device_Reads:LAST \
> DEF:b="/var/www/cacti/rra/d1blade1_15min_loadavg_3626.rrd":Device_Writes:LAST \
> LINE1:a#0000FFFF:"Device Reads\:"  \
> GPRINT:a:LAST:" Last\:%8.0lf"  \
> GPRINT:a:MIN:"Minimum\:%8.0lf"  \
> GPRINT:a:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.0lf"  \
> GPRINT:a:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.0lf\n"  \
> LINE1:b#FF0000FF:"Device Writes\:"  \
> GPRINT:b:LAST:"Last\:%8.0lf"  \
> GPRINT:b:MIN:"Minumum\:%8.0lf"  \
> GPRINT:b:AVERAGE:"Average\:%8.0lf"  \
> GPRINT:b:MAX:"Maximum\:%8.0lf\n" 
ERROR: the RRD does not contain an RRA matching the chosen CF
cheers

kido
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:56 am
Location: Bucharest

#111 Post by kido » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:36 am

Hello,

I noticed the same behavior as other users: only Bytes Read/Written are displayed....and the same kind of errors:
ERROR: the RRD does not contain an RRA matching the chosen CF


Any help would be appreciated.

kido
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 3:56 am
Location: Bucharest

#112 Post by kido » Tue Apr 07, 2009 3:39 am

forgot to mention that I'm using the last version of cacti:

Cacti Version 0.8.7d
Cacti OS unix
SNMP Version NET-SNMP version: 5.3.2.2
RRDTool Version RRDTool 1.2.x
Hosts 28
Graphs 559
Data Sources Script/Command: 15
SNMP: 270
SNMP Query: 84
Script Query - Script Server: 359
Total: 728

jnojr
Cacti User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:16 am
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

#113 Post by jnojr » Wed Apr 15, 2009 6:36 pm

dS_Jeffrey wrote:I figured this out. I was too used to using the script method for getting input.

For others who might need assistance this is the way i added it:

Management -> Devices -> <Machine> -> Associated Data Queries -> ucd/net - Device I/O -> *ADD*
I do not see "ucd/net - Device I/O" there. I see Karlnet, two Netware, two SNMP, and a Unix. I did import the XML files, but I never saw any definitive message about if that was successful or not. How would I find out? They do show up under Export Templates.

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#114 Post by gandalf » Thu Apr 16, 2009 2:02 pm

Here's a new approach (but only for Bytes/Transactions) featuring Peak Usage and some nice optical layout: http://docs.cacti.net/usertemplate:grap ... disk_usage

jbooks
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Seattle WA
Contact:

#115 Post by jbooks » Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:02 pm

gandalf wrote:Here's a new approach (but only for Bytes/Transactions) featuring Peak Usage and some nice optical layout: http://docs.cacti.net/usertemplate:grap ... disk_usage
I move diskio.xml for the resources/snmp_queries.

When I then import the transaction xml I get.

CDEF
[success] Make Stack Negative [update]

GPRINT Preset
[success] Normal [update]

Data Input Method
[success] Get SNMP Data (Indexed) [update]

Data Template
[success] Host MIB - Disk IO Transactions [update]

Graph Template
[success] Host MIB - Disk IO - Transactions per Second [update]
+ Found Dependency: (Data Template Item) disk_read_trans
+ Found Dependency: (GPRINT Preset) Normal
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
+ Found Dependency: (CDEF) Make Stack Negative
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)
+ Unmet Dependency: (Data Template Item)

Any advice?

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#116 Post by gandalf » Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:23 pm

You installed over an existing DISK IO template set?
That's bad. I did not try that. Will require some thinking ...
Reinhard

jbooks
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 2:54 pm
Location: Seattle WA
Contact:

#117 Post by jbooks » Fri Apr 17, 2009 4:41 pm

gandalf wrote:You installed over an existing DISK IO template set?
That's bad. I did not try that. Will require some thinking ...
Reinhard
I thought I had everything cleaned out. I guess not. It would be nice if there was a way to clean out an import. I will try to get all the old disk io stuff out and see if I can get it to work this time.

jnojr
Cacti User
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 11:16 am
Location: San Diego, CA
Contact:

Re: solved and new howto

#118 Post by jnojr » Mon Apr 20, 2009 1:43 pm

gruad23 wrote:I finally resolved my problems and made DISK I/O working on my cacti.

For those who will come here later and seek help: I put my experience in the following small "mini-howto"

http://www.goldfisch.at/knowwiki/howtos/cacti#disk_io
I found that page and got a little farther.

When I imported cacti_data_query_ucdnet_device_io.xml my "Associated Data Queries" section was empty, and there was a link to run it in debug mode. That resulted in an error about .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.9.1.1 (an snmpwalk of that tree doesn't turn anything up, I need to back out to .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021 to see things). Now, that I/O template has disappeared and re-importing it doesn't make it appear. So, I guess I need help making that .9 branch appear (FWIW, .1.3.6.1.4.1.2021.13.15.1.1.1 does return ~24 values), and then figuring out where the template went and how to make it reappear.

penszo
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:15 am

#119 Post by penszo » Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:17 am

jbooks wrote:
gandalf wrote:You installed over an existing DISK IO template set?
That's bad. I did not try that. Will require some thinking ...
Reinhard
I thought I had everything cleaned out. I guess not. It would be nice if there was a way to clean out an import. I will try to get all the old disk io stuff out and see if I can get it to work this time.
i've got the same problem. even if i clean out all previous disk i/o templates i see the same message and i'm not able to make graphs from it.

User avatar
gandalf
Developer
Posts: 22375
Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:46 am
Location: Muenster, Germany
Contact:

#120 Post by gandalf » Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:46 am

I just realized that the export is pehaps incomplete. Give me some time to fix it. Will publish again to the repository
Reinhard

Post Reply