Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

General discussion about Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
laarocho
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:54 am
Location: SJ, Puerto Rico

#46 Post by laarocho » Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:01 pm

Thanks Marcelo!!!

Worked like a charm... On Windows 2k3 Server with IIS 6

:lol:
_________________
|Cacti 0.8.6h|
|MySQL 5 | PHP 5.1.2 | Zend Optimizer 3.0.0 | IIS 6 | RRDtool 1.2.12 | Cygwin x |
| Windows 2k3 Sp1 | Dual P Xeon 2.4Ghz W/HT | 4GB Ram |

Marcelo
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 4:46 pm

#47 Post by Marcelo » Tue Jun 06, 2006 1:59 pm

Marcelo wrote: Anyway...the uptime counter is still in 0d 0h 0m...checking....gilles...any clue?
Ok, auto-answer activated ;)

I realized that manage-check.php script, does not run automatically. Should I add it to the crontab?
"cactid" is selected as poller type (In Settings --> Poller) and "Cacti poller" in Misc tab (also in settings).

PS: If i run manually: php manage-check.php, works fine.

Marcelo
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 4:46 pm

#48 Post by Marcelo » Tue Jun 06, 2006 2:18 pm

laarocho wrote:Thanks Marcelo!!!

Worked like a charm... On Windows 2k3 Server with IIS 6

:lol:
Great! :D

User avatar
gilles
Cacti User
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:16 pm

#49 Post by gilles » Tue Jun 06, 2006 2:51 pm

Marcelo wrote: I realized that manage-check.php script, does not run automatically. Should I add it to the crontab?
"cactid" is selected as poller type (In Settings --> Poller) and "Cacti poller" in Misc tab (also in settings).

PS: If i run manually: php manage-check.php, works fine.
if you use cacti poller, you must wait the time you scheduled it.
(if it doesn't work, try to stop your cacti scheduled job, recache and rerun it)
in cacti.log, if it work, you will find this : MANAGE: Poller[0] Checking Manage

if you use manage poller, you must schedule another job with check-manage.php

Marcelo
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 4:46 pm

#50 Post by Marcelo » Tue Jun 06, 2006 3:14 pm

gilles wrote:
if you use cacti poller, you must wait the time you scheduled it.
(if it doesn't work, try to stop your cacti scheduled job, recache and rerun it)
in cacti.log, if it work, you will find this : MANAGE: Poller[0] Checking Manage

if you use manage poller, you must schedule another job with check-manage.php
gilles: Thx for reply so fast.
I try to stop cactid, clear poller cache, reactivate cactid and nothing...no update on Uptime (0d0h0m).

laarocho
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 9:54 am
Location: SJ, Puerto Rico

#51 Post by laarocho » Tue Jun 06, 2006 3:18 pm

Marcelo wrote:

Anyway...the uptime counter is still in 0d 0h 0m...checking....gilles...any clue?
The uptime is working on my servers. Change the following and test.
Method to test connexion with host= ICMP

The plugin recommends SNMP.
_________________
|Cacti 0.8.6h|
|MySQL 5 | PHP 5.1.2 | Zend Optimizer 3.0.0 | IIS 6 | RRDtool 1.2.12 | Cygwin x |
| Windows 2k3 Sp1 | Dual P Xeon 2.4Ghz W/HT | 4GB Ram |

Marcelo
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 4:46 pm

#52 Post by Marcelo » Tue Jun 06, 2006 3:53 pm

laarocho wrote:
The uptime is working on my servers. Change the following and test.
Method to test connexion with host= ICMP

The plugin recommends SNMP.
Thx, but the real problem is the manage-check.php script (not run automatically). Maybe some conf. of my cacti server is wrong.


btw...already try it, just for testing.

Marcelo
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 4:46 pm

#53 Post by Marcelo » Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:56 pm

Another bug in my linux box:
Notice: Undefined index: manage_templates.php:actions in /usr/local/share/cacti/lib/functions.php on line 1357
This ocurr when i try to add new template. The template is created, but the error appear.

PS: Sorry for not to mention it before...GREAT Tool!!
PS2: Sorry for my english.

torstentfk
Cacti User
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2005 9:52 am
Location: Munich, Germany

#54 Post by torstentfk » Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:21 am

Hi,

Porblems:
- Template selections in device view are not saved
- Adding new template:
Notice: Undefined index: manage_templates.php:actions in /var/www/html/cacti/lib/functions.php on line 1364
- after adding/changeing device unmanaged -> managed and editing this device the heading line display not the host name:
"Configuration for host () :"
-correct guest hosts (cisco router) are not displayed correct: the uptime is not updated (N/A), after changing the host device type from router to router the device works correct
- after some fast clicking (where...I dcould not remember) the updtime format gets wrong: "89d 17h 40m89d 17h 40m"...

Nice to have:
- possibility to change the host type for many switches
- how do you guess the hosttype? Cisco switch (catos) is guested as winnt???
- the mouse-over effect of the monitor-plugin
- getting the list of last reboots in the tabed view instead of the console view
(View reboots and then the symbols)
- display of the last 10 events and not haveing to select a specific device
(event view not in the console)
- new setting view as used by thold (not subsection under MISC)
- possibility to select email-alert of all 3 events: down/up/reboot (or make a checkbox selection at the new setting view)
- possibility to play a sound if an alert occurs (as in plugin monitor)
- possibility to check UDP ports

?? which email adress is used to send emails? I changed the address from the thold plugin, but this did not work?

Then you can disable the monitor and uptime plugin.

Torsten

SteveIs4Cacti
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:09 am
Location: South Carolina

Plugin additions

#55 Post by SteveIs4Cacti » Wed Jun 14, 2006 1:25 pm

gilles,
Nice job plugin. It is running well on W2K3 box with Cacti 0.8.6h monitoring approx 60+ devices. A cool thing to add maybe a text field where you can add circuit ID's for routers or any phone info that will get e-mailed with the down\reboot notification. If I get some time, I may start working on a plugin that encorporates some custom text info for each device that can be sent with the notifications from manage and thold. Keep up the great work.

User avatar
gilles
Cacti User
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:16 pm

#56 Post by gilles » Wed Jun 14, 2006 1:43 pm

torstentfk wrote: - Template selections in device view are not saved
Torsten
if i save the template, i will need to write code to prevent you to delete a used template, etc...
so i choose to not save it
torstentfk wrote: - Adding new template:
Notice: Undefined index: manage_templates.php:actions in /var/www/html/cacti/lib/functions.php on line 1364
Torsten
fixed with 0.3
thanks for all who reports this
torstentfk wrote: - after adding/changeing device unmanaged -> managed and editing this device the heading line display not the host name:
"Configuration for host () :"
Torsten
fixed with 0.3
torstentfk wrote: - after some fast clicking (where...I dcould not remember) the updtime format gets wrong: "89d 17h 40m89d 17h 40m"...
Torsten
i don't know where is this bug at the moment
torstentfk wrote: Nice to have:
- possibility to change the host type for many switches
Torsten
added in 0.3
torstentfk wrote: - how do you guess the hosttype? Cisco switch (catos) is guested as winnt???
Torsten
i use index "id" in cacti table "host_template"
for all of us, 5 is "Cisco Router", 7 is "Windows 2000/XP Host", 8 is "Local Linux Machine" etc
the id's after 8 depends of what templates you have imported
for me, the id 9 is "Windows NT Host"
for you you, it will be different, this is why is use the term "trying"
torstentfk wrote: -correct guest hosts (cisco router) are not displayed correct: the uptime is not updated (N/A), after changing the host device type from router to router the device works correct
Torsten
from router to router ?
i'm don't have this bug
torstentfk wrote: - the mouse-over effect of the monitor-plugin
Torsten
i don't know what to display (and i don't want to deal with multiple browsers)
torstentfk wrote: - getting the list of last reboots in the tabed view instead of the console view
(View reboots and then the symbols)
Torsten
where ? in another tab ? on mouse over ?
torstentfk wrote: - display of the last 10 events and not haveing to select a specific device
(event view not in the console)
Torsten
why not
torstentfk wrote: - new setting view as used by thold (not subsection under MISC)
Torsten
others plugins use MISC, so i use MISC too (btw, it's right THOLD have is own tab but this is because it have much options)
torstentfk wrote: - possibility to select email-alert of all 3 events: down/up/reboot (or make a checkbox selection at the new setting view)
Torsten
why not
torstentfk wrote: - possibility to play a sound if an alert occurs (as in plugin monitor)
Torsten
i don't see the utility of this since i can close my browser
but i'm going to include an option to alert by "net send" for windows box
torstentfk wrote: - possibility to check UDP ports
Torsten
i'm going to include windows services check before this but yes, it is planned
torstentfk wrote: ?? which email adress is used to send emails? I changed the address from the thold plugin, but this did not work?
Torsten
i use the email in the top of the tab Alerting/Thold

thanks for your feeback
Last edited by gilles on Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gilles
Cacti User
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:16 pm

#57 Post by gilles » Wed Jun 14, 2006 2:04 pm

new in 0.3 is the ability to apply settings to multiple hosts

first, you still need to enable manage for hosts

then, choose your settings
Image

choose your hosts

then, choose apply
Image

do it in this order or you will loose your selected hosts

jherrinike
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 2:46 pm
Location: Memphis, TN USA

#58 Post by jherrinike » Wed Jun 14, 2006 3:00 pm

In the latest version I am getting to error messages but the parts still work.

This is on the manage groups screen: Notice: Undefined variable: url_page2_select in /usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/plugins/manage/groups.php on line 174

I get this one at the top of the webpage after I have added a device to a group. The device does show up in the group.
Notice: Undefined variable: s in /usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/plugins/manage/listmanage2.php on line 977

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/plugins/manage/listmanage2.php on line 977

Other than that so far so good.

SteveIs4Cacti
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 10:09 am
Location: South Carolina

#59 Post by SteveIs4Cacti » Wed Jun 14, 2006 3:51 pm

I am getting the same error messages in the latest version as jherrinike. Also the uptime counters for every device reset to 0 for every device. Other than this, new version is working well.

I am running W2K3 with 0.8.6h.

User avatar
gilles
Cacti User
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:16 pm

#60 Post by gilles » Wed Jun 14, 2006 5:32 pm

jherrinike wrote:In the latest version I am getting to error messages but the parts still work.

This is on the manage groups screen: Notice: Undefined variable: url_page2_select in /usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/plugins/manage/groups.php on line 174

I get this one at the top of the webpage after I have added a device to a group. The device does show up in the group.
Notice: Undefined variable: s in /usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/plugins/manage/listmanage2.php on line 977

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /usr/local/apache2/htdocs/cacti/plugins/manage/listmanage2.php on line 977

Other than that so far so good.

try these 2 patched files

THESE 2 PATCHS ARE IN 0.3.1
Attachments
listmanage2.php.txt
listmanage2.php
(29.69 KiB) Downloaded 324 times
groups.php.txt
groups.php
(8.14 KiB) Downloaded 375 times
Last edited by gilles on Wed Jun 14, 2006 7:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply