Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

General discussion about Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

#871 Post by TheWitness » Thu Aug 12, 2010 8:06 am

Gilles needs to release an update for 6.1. You might want to try to connect with him. Last time we discussed this, he was working on a new release anyway.

TheWitness
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

User avatar
JorisFRST
Cacti User
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Oct 02, 2006 1:22 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

#872 Post by JorisFRST » Wed Sep 08, 2010 10:12 am

JorisFRST wrote:I'm seeing a weird issue lately.

When devices reboot, they go "down" in manage and all their services,
wich is normal.

But when the device is back up, and the services are reporting "1" again, manage does not bring the device back nor the services.

When I go to the device config in cacti, disable manage, save, enable manage, save again. Then the device is "online" and all services also.

Joris.
OK,

changed it now to use the cacti poller instead of the manage poller,
and it's fixed.

The logs show with manage poller wich is set in cron to run every 5 mins like the cacti poller that it actually runs manage_poller before the cacti poller has finished.

09/07/2010 06:05:40 PM - WEATHERMAP: Poller[0] Weathermap 0.97a starting - Normal logging mode. Turn on DEBUG in Cacti for more information
09/07/2010 06:05:40 PM - SYSTEM THOLD STATS: Time:0.0957 Tholds:16 Hosts:0
09/07/2010 06:05:40 PM - SYSTEM STATS: Time:38.7450 Method:cmd.php Processes:15 Threads:N/A Hosts:128 HostsPerProcess:9 DataSources:2248 RRDsProcessed:967
09/07/2010 06:05:11 PM - MANAGE: Poller[0] Checking Manage

Joris.

User avatar
bmarofsky
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 8:35 am
Location: Southington, CT

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#873 Post by bmarofsky » Thu Sep 09, 2010 1:31 pm

A little guidance please. I see the following under CONSOLE>SETTINGS>Manage Tab.

Security Options
<a href='javascript:manage_popup2("plugins/manage/manage_accounts.php?dest=settings")'>Settings accounts</a>
This is a listing of accounts that can configure Manage.
These accounts will be known as Manage Administrators.
Only these accounts can update database when a new version is installed.
Users will always have access to users settings. -1
<a href='javascript:manage_popup2("plugins/manage/manage_accounts.php?dest=tab")'>Tab accounts</a>
This is a listing of accounts that can access tab Manage. -1
<a href='javascript:manage_popup2("plugins/manage/manage_accounts.php?dest=reporting")'>Reporting accounts</a>
This is a listing of accounts that can access Device Managing / Event Reporting. -1
<a href='javascript:manage_popup2("plugins/manage/manage_accounts.php?dest=sites")'>Sites accounts</a>
This is a listing of accounts that can access Device Managing / Sites. -1
<a href='javascript:manage_popup2("plugins/manage/manage_accounts.php?dest=groups")'>Groups accounts</a>
This is a listing of accounts that can access Device Managing / Groups. -1


Is this some sort of permissions issue?
Brian

Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Plugin Architecture 2.8
Poller Type Cactid v
Server Info Linux 2.6.9-89.29.1.plus.c4
Web Server Apache/2.0.63 (CentOS)
PHP Version 5.1.6
MySQL Version 5.0.82sp1
RRDTool Version 1.2.23
SNMP Version 5.1.2
Plugins:
Global Plugin Settings (settings - v0.7)
Cycle Graphs (Cycle Graphs - v0.7+)
Thresholds (thold - v0.4.2)
Create Aggregate Graphs (aggregate - v0.75)
Device Monitoring (monitor - v1.2)
Network Tools (tools - v0.3)
Update Checker (update - v0.4)
Host Info (hostinfo - v0.2)
Error Images (errorimage - v0.1)
Cacti-ReportIt (reportit - v0.7.2)
WMI Query (wmi - v0.1)
Realtime Graph Viewer (realtime - v0.42)
Watermark (watermark - v0.1)

mcutting
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 5:57 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#874 Post by mcutting » Thu Sep 09, 2010 2:01 pm

bmarofsky wrote:A little guidance please. I see the following under CONSOLE>SETTINGS>Manage Tab.

Security Options
<a href='javascript:manage_popup2("plugins/manage/manage_accounts.php?dest=settings")'>Settings accounts</a>
This is a listing of accounts that can configure Manage.
These accounts will be known as Manage Administrators.
Only these accounts can update database when a new version is installed.
Users will always have access to users settings. -1
<a href='javascript:manage_popup2("plugins/manage/manage_accounts.php?dest=tab")'>Tab accounts</a>
This is a listing of accounts that can access tab Manage. -1
<a href='javascript:manage_popup2("plugins/manage/manage_accounts.php?dest=reporting")'>Reporting accounts</a>
This is a listing of accounts that can access Device Managing / Event Reporting. -1
<a href='javascript:manage_popup2("plugins/manage/manage_accounts.php?dest=sites")'>Sites accounts</a>
This is a listing of accounts that can access Device Managing / Sites. -1
<a href='javascript:manage_popup2("plugins/manage/manage_accounts.php?dest=groups")'>Groups accounts</a>
This is a listing of accounts that can access Device Managing / Groups. -1


Is this some sort of permissions issue?
No - it's an issue with the PIA 2.8 - upgrade to the 2.9beta2 version to resolve this
Cacti Version 0.8.8b
Cacti OS Ubuntu LTS
RRDTool Version RRDTool 1.4.7
Poller Information
Type SPINE 0.8.8b

igorx1972
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:55 pm

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 Uptime 0d0h0m and manage_host.uptime

#875 Post by igorx1972 » Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:42 pm

Problem - no uptime. Always shown 0, and table row "uptime" in table "manage_host" always 0.
Output manage_check.php :
#php /usr/local/apache2/cacti/plugins/manage/manage_check.php

2010-10-22, at 9:15:43
Closing poller number

Errverything else works!
General Information
Date Fri, 22 Oct 2010 09:30:41 +0900
Cacti Version 0.8.7g
Cacti OS unix
SNMP Version NET-SNMP version: 5.5
RRDTool Version RRDTool 1.4.x
Hosts 33
Graphs 483
Data Sources Script/Command: 5
SNMP: 108
SNMP Query: 382
Script - Script Server (PHP): 31
Script Query - Script Server: 2
Total: 528

Poller Information
Interval 60
Type spine
Items Action[0]: 1188
Action[1]: 5
Action[2]: 33
Total: 1226
Concurrent Processes 5
Max Threads 1
PHP Servers 5
Script Timeout 25
Max OID 10
Last Run Statistics Time:16.9136 Method:spine Processes:5 Threads:1 Hosts:33 HostsPerProcess:7 DataSources:1220 RRDsProcessed:523

PHP Information
PHP Version 5.3.3
PHP OS FreeBSD
PHP uname FreeBSD nms.id.irkutskenergu.ru 8.1-RELEASE FreeBSD 8.1-RELEASE #0: Mon Jul 19 02:55:53 UTC 2010 [email protected]:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/GENERIC i386
PHP SNMP Installed
max_execution_time 30
memory_limit 1024M

Plugins:
Aggregate 0.75
Autom8 0.33
Boost 2.4
Camm 1.5.3
Clog 1.21
Cycle 0.7
Discovery 1.1
Docs 0.2
Dsstats 1.4
Fix64bit 0.2
Flowview 0.6
Gpsmap 1.5
Ipsubnet .4f
Loginmod 1.0
Mactrack 2.9
Manage 0.6.2
Mobile 0.1
Monitor 1.2
Nectar 0.26
NmidCreatePDF 0.85
Npc 2.0.4
Ntop 0.2
Quicktree 0.2
Realtime 0.43
Routerconfigs 0.3
Rrdclean 0.40
Settings 0.5
Spikekill 1.2
Superlinks 0.8
Syslog 1.05
Thold 0.4.1
Titlechanger 0.1
Weathermap 0.97a
Attachments
Untitled-1.jpg
Uptime 0d0h0m
Untitled-1.jpg (60.93 KiB) Viewed 4250 times

DimmON
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 3:05 am

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#876 Post by DimmON » Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:34 am

Problem - no uptime. Always shown 0, and table row "uptime" in table "manage_host" always 0.
What Downed Device Detection method do you use for this device?
I am using "Ping and SNMP" method and uptime shows good.

igorx1972
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 6:55 pm

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#877 Post by igorx1972 » Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:18 pm

I use Ping or SNMP. Ok, I correct to Ping and SNMP. Wait for result.....

Dammit, You absolutely right!! Ping and SNMP.

Thanx!!

Paul-S
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:11 am

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#878 Post by Paul-S » Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:50 am

First post. :-? Firstly, thanks to Giles for developing this plug-in - it's exactly what I'm looking for to replace some no-longer-supported open source monitoring sw.

I have Manage up and running but I'm unable to assign any TCP Ports Templates to any devices.

Cacti log shows the following error:
SQL Cell Failed!, Error:'1064', SQL:"SELECT count(id) FROM data_local where data_template_id = AND snmp_index = 23 AND host_id =6"

I've read through this thread and can see someone else with the same problem but I didn't see a solution (apologies now if I've missed this...).

I've uninstalled Manage, completely stripped out the associated tables using PHPMyAdmin and recreated the tables by hand using the .sql files but still no joy.

Can anyone suggest a fix for this? It's driving me nuts! Thanks!

User avatar
gilles
Cacti User
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:16 pm

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#879 Post by gilles » Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:35 am

there is something missing
Paul-S wrote: SQL Cell Failed!, Error:'1064', SQL:"SELECT count(id) FROM data_local where data_template_id = AND snmp_index = 23 AND host_id =6"
here
Paul-S wrote: SQL Cell Failed!, Error:'1064', SQL:"SELECT count(id) FROM data_local where data_template_id = XXXXXXX AND snmp_index = 23 AND host_id =6"
XXXXXX is the index for the TCP port template
is this template installed ?

mcutting
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 1874
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 5:57 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#880 Post by mcutting » Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:59 am

Gilles,

The ZIP file for 0.62 is broken - could you post a replacement please ?

Thanks
Cacti Version 0.8.8b
Cacti OS Ubuntu LTS
RRDTool Version RRDTool 1.4.7
Poller Information
Type SPINE 0.8.8b

Paul-S
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 10:11 am

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#881 Post by Paul-S » Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:15 am

gilles wrote:there is something missing
Paul-S wrote: SQL Cell Failed!, Error:'1064', SQL:"SELECT count(id) FROM data_local where data_template_id = AND snmp_index = 23 AND host_id =6"
here
Paul-S wrote: SQL Cell Failed!, Error:'1064', SQL:"SELECT count(id) FROM data_local where data_template_id = XXXXXXX AND snmp_index = 23 AND host_id =6"
XXXXXX is the index for the TCP port template
is this template installed ?
I believe so. I have the default list of templates under /plugins/manage/manage_templates.php and can create/edit/delete them. This error occurs regardless of which template I choose in the drop-down list when I enable Manage for a particular device. I can see the manage_templates table in PHPMySQL.

Any idea what else I should check? Thanks.

MrRat
Cacti User
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:33 am

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#882 Post by MrRat » Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:28 am

I have the same problem.
12/17/2010 11:21:15 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] ERROR: SQL Cell Failed!, Error:'1064', SQL:"SELECT count(id) FROM data_local where data_template_id = AND snmp_index = 22 AND host_id =887"
for some reason the ".$t." isnt outputting the id from manage_lib.php

Code: Select all

$mz = db_fetch_cell("SELECT count(id) FROM data_local where data_template_id = ".$t." AND snmp_index = ".$voi." AND host_id =".$idd);

prospero63
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#883 Post by prospero63 » Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:13 pm

I've tried searching all 59 pages, and am having a hard time finding anything close to my problem.

Running Cacti Version: 0.8.7g, Plugin Architecture Version: 2.9, Manage 0.6.2 on a Windows box. Whenever I try to select any kind of TCP template and click save, it doesn't save the template type. I've tried it both directly editing the device as well as through the manage drop down. Everything else seems to get set correctly, but not the TCP template. Ideas?

EDIT - I'm redoing an RTFM. I'll update if that does/doesn't fix things...

EDIT 2 - Nah, I got nothing. I've installed the TCP port template as best as I can tell, follower the #INSTALL.txt as near as I can tell and nothing. I can enable/disable manage, but all the other options/drop downs don't work at all.

prospero63
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#884 Post by prospero63 » Wed Dec 29, 2010 7:55 pm

I noticed when I dropped back to the main cacti page I was seeing the error referenced in this thread. That made me think that the SQL DB was horked up, and sure enough it seemed like it was. So I ran the 9-uninstall.sql file against the DB and then ran the 1-7 manage/upgrade files. This appears to have gotten me back to where I was.

I can check/uncheck manage, change the icon image, select the site/group, and specify the private email to sending alerts.

I can NOT specify the template, change the enable host threshold (it shows 1 in the box but the text says it's currently 0) or define the administration link. I feel like there's something DB related missing here. Any ideas? TIA.

User avatar
gilles
Cacti User
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:16 pm

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.1 for monitoring networks, servers...

#885 Post by gilles » Mon Jan 03, 2011 8:03 am

Paul-S wrote:
gilles wrote:there is something missing
Paul-S wrote: SQL Cell Failed!, Error:'1064', SQL:"SELECT count(id) FROM data_local where data_template_id = AND snmp_index = 23 AND host_id =6"
here
Paul-S wrote: SQL Cell Failed!, Error:'1064', SQL:"SELECT count(id) FROM data_local where data_template_id = XXXXXXX AND snmp_index = 23 AND host_id =6"
XXXXXX is the index for the TCP port template
is this template installed ?
I believe so. I have the default list of templates under /plugins/manage/manage_templates.php and can create/edit/delete them. This error occurs regardless of which template I choose in the drop-down list when I enable Manage for a particular device. I can see the manage_templates table in PHPMySQL.

Any idea what else I should check? Thanks.
in install.txt :

Code: Select all

you need appropriates templates :
  - Services template is necessary to monitor windows services
  http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?t=11232&start=0&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight= (include in Cacti 0.8.7)
  - TCP Port template
  http://forums.cacti.net/about16477.html

Post Reply