Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

General discussion about Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
TheWitness
Developer
Posts: 14804
Joined: Tue May 14, 2002 5:08 pm
Location: MI, USA
Contact:

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#901 Post by TheWitness » Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:03 am

In addition, granting all those rights to the guest account is bad mojo. Might as well turn off access control.
True understanding begins only when we realize how little we truly understand...

Life is an adventure, let yours begin with Cacti!

Author of MacTrack, Boost, CLog, SpikeKill, Platform RTM, DSStats, maintainer of Spine, lot's of unpublished work and most of Cacti's bugs.
_________________
Official Cacti Documentation
GitHub Repository with Supported Plugins
Central Plugin Repository
Central Templates Repository


I'm still out there people. Getting excited for Cacti 1.2. I think it will be a great release.

donwalrus
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 6:23 pm

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#902 Post by donwalrus » Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:54 am

thanks....that did the trick

4erka
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:31 am

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#903 Post by 4erka » Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:17 am

Dear Gilles. Thanks for great pluging. I'm running Cacti 0.8.7h and experiencing issues with Windows Services templates and this doesnt allow use all features of your plugin. Please see page #10 of this thread for more details - http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?f ... 99#p222299 . TheWitness recommended contact you and see if its possible to make changes in the pluging to use HMIB to get services information so we get fully functional pluging in 0.8.7h Cacti version.
Thank you for your efforts and time.

dimm
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 2:53 am

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#904 Post by dimm » Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:36 pm

hi,

I have a lot of errors in cacti log every 5 minutes:

Code: Select all

01/30/2012 04:25:52 AM - MANAGE: Poller[0] Checking Manage
01/30/2012 04:25:53 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] ERROR: SQL Assoc Failed!, Error:'1242', SQL:"select data_input_data.value, data_local.snmp_index from data_input_data, data_template_data, data_local, data_template where data_input_data.data_input_field_id=(SELECT distinct(data_input_fields.id) FROM data_input, data_input_fields where data_input.type_id = 6 and data_input_fields.data_input_id=data_input.id and data_input_fields.name='Index Value') and data_input_data.data_template_data_id=data_template_data.id and data_template_data.local_data_id=data_local.id and data_template_data.data_template_id=data_template.id and data_template.name='Win Services' and data_local.host_id='34'"
01/30/2012 04:25:53 AM - CMDPHP: Poller[0] ERROR: SQL Assoc Failed!, Error:'1242', SQL:"select data_input_data.value, data_local.snmp_index from data_input_data, data_template_data, data_local, data_template where data_input_data.data_input_field_id=(SELECT distinct(data_input_fields.id) FROM data_input, data_input_fields where data_input.type_id = 6 and data_input_fields.data_input_id=data_input.id and data_input_fields.name='Index Value') and data_input_data.data_template_data_id=data_template_data.id and data_template_data.local_data_id=data_local.id and data_template_data.data_template_id=data_template.id and data_template.name='Win Services' and data_local.host_id='13'"
manage_debug:

Code: Select all

Current version : 0.6.2
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Upgrade needed : none
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Table 'manage_host' :   OK   (0.1)
Column 'manage' from table 'host' :   OK   (0.1)
Table 'manage_alerts' :   OK   (0.1)
Column 'force' from table 'manage_host' :   OK (not here)   (0.2/0.5.2)
Table 'manage_templates' :   OK   (0.2)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Column 'group' from table 'manage_host' :   OK   (0.3)
Table 'manage_groups' :   OK   (0.3)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Column 'oid' from table 'manage_alerts' :   OK   (0.4)
Table 'manage_process' :   OK   (0.4)
Table 'manage_services' :   OK   (0.4)
Setting 'manage_poller_hosts' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.4)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Table 'manage_sites' :   OK   (0.5)
Table 'manage_tcp' :   OK   (0.5)
Table 'manage_host_services' :   OK (not here)   (0.1/0.5)
Table 'manage_poller_output' :   OK   (0.5)
Column 'thresold_ref' from table 'manage_host' :   OK   (0.5)
Column 'thresold' from table 'manage_host' :   OK   (0.5)
Column 'mail' from table 'manage_host' :   OK   (0.5)
Column 'site_id' from table 'manage_groups' :   OK   (0.5)
Setting 'manage_global_email' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.5)
Setting 'manage_double_email' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.5)
Setting 'manage_poller_plus' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.5)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Column 'type' from table 'manage_host' :   OK   (0.5.2)
Column 'services' from table 'manage_host' :   OK (not here)   (???/0.5.2)
Setting 'manage_accounts_tab' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.5.2)
Setting 'manage_accounts_settings' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.5.2)
Setting 'manage_accounts_reporting' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.5.2)
Setting 'manage_accounts_sites' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.5.2)
Setting 'manage_accounts_groups' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.5.2)
Table 'manage_device_type' :   OK (not here)   (0.2/0.5.2)
Setting 'manage_enable' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.5.2)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Table 'manage_uptime_method' :   OK   (0.6)
Table 'manage_admin_link' :   OK   (0.6)
Setting 'manage_uptime_method' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.6)
Setting 'manage_uptime_cisco' from table 'settings' :   OK   (0.6)
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Setting 'Use Windows PHP Patch' :   OK   Don't use. Select 'No'.
Plugin Thold :   OK   
Concurrent Manage Pollers :   OK   
Devices :   OK   
User settings :   NOK   Save your settings (0).
Cacti version 0.8.7g
Manage version 0.6.2
Weathermap version 0.97a
mysql-5.0.77-4.el5_4.2

quote from mysql docs about this error message:

Code: Select all

Incorrect number of rows from subquery:

ERROR 1242 (ER_SUBSELECT_NO_1_ROW)
SQLSTATE = 21000
Message = "Subquery returns more than 1 row"
This error occurs for statements where the subquery must return at most one row but returns multiple rows. Consider the following example:

SELECT * FROM t1 WHERE column1 = (SELECT column1 FROM t2);
If SELECT column1 FROM t2 returns just one row, the previous query will work. If the subquery returns more than one row, error 1242 will occur. In that case, the query should be rewritten as:

SELECT * FROM t1 WHERE column1 = ANY (SELECT column1 FROM t2);
Please help me to fix this error.

lorenplak
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:53 am

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#905 Post by lorenplak » Wed Feb 15, 2012 4:27 am

gilles wrote:
prospero63 wrote:Basically when the graph gets created by the manage plugin for TCP port monitoring, once the polling cycle has completed and the RRD files get created, etc. I get the following error:

ERROR: the RRD does not contain an RRA matching the chosen CF

If I go in and edit the graph template and change the CF to last, then back to average, the graph starts working. What sucks is I have to do this for every single graph. It seems like there is a bug, maybe in the TCP template, that is causing the graphs to be created with incompatible consolidation functions.

Ideas?

for people having this problem, i need to know if this is the TCP template which fail or manage


you can use manually the TCP template, to do so :
- select a device
- in associated data queries, add TCP
- save
- edit cacti\scripts\ports.inc
- run a verbose query
- Data Query Debug Information, watch for some lines like "+ Found item [ServiceIndex='23'] index: 2"
- go to "Create Graphs for this Host"
- select ports you want to graph
then go to graph and tell me if it's ok
wait for some poller cycle


for manage, i need a cacti.log with full debug
hy, i think that manage tcp port is not OK when TCP templates are present.

on a device, i have tcp data query and graph OK,
but if i add a tcp port in the "PHP Network Managing Options - Current host status : " bloc
i've this error in the graph debug :

RRDTool Command:

D:/programs/rrdtool/rrdtool.exe graph - \
--imgformat=PNG \
--start=-86400 \
--end=-300 \
--title="Apache QUALIF - TCP State - 8100" \
--base=1000 \
--height=120 \
--width=500 \
--alt-autoscale-max \
--lower-limit=0 \
--vertical-label="" \
--slope-mode \
--font TITLE:10: \
--font AXIS:7: \
--font LEGEND:8: \
--font UNIT:7: \
DEF:a="D\:/programs/www/cacti/rra/290_tcp_8100.rrd":TCP:LAST \
AREA:a#EA8F00FF:"TCP" \
GPRINT:a:LAST:"%8.0lf\n" \
COMMENT:"(1 = Running, 0 = Stopped)"

RRDTool Says:

ERROR: the RRD does not contain an RRA matching the chosen CF
Cacti 0.8.7g - Windows - poller type : spine
php 5.2.14 - MySQL 5.1.47

lorenplak
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 11:53 am

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#906 Post by lorenplak » Wed Feb 15, 2012 6:41 am

i think that the RRD file created by the manage port template doesn't create the LAST CF.
Here is the RRDinfo of my file :

DS last_ds max min minimal_heartbeat type unknown_sec value
TCP 1 0 600 GAUGE 0 126

rra cf cur_row pdp_per_row rows xff
0 AVERAGE 508 1 600 0.5
1 AVERAGE 449 6 700 0.5
2 AVERAGE 491 24 775 0.5
3 AVERAGE 285 288 797 0.5
4 MAX 449 1 600 0.5
5 MAX 531 6 700 0.5
6 MAX 687 24 775 0.5
7 MAX 696 288 797 0.5

what is the difference of a RRD file created by the manage tcp port template and RRD file created by the TCP data query ?
Cacti 0.8.7g - Windows - poller type : spine
php 5.2.14 - MySQL 5.1.47

cksrealm
Cacti User
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 5:45 pm
Location: Sydney,Australia
Contact:

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#907 Post by cksrealm » Wed Feb 15, 2012 10:44 pm

First of all what an amazing plugin. Just a couple of questions that I have following an issue I am having.

When I add a service to a host its not appearing to get saved at all. When I add for example the webserve template to a host and save it its saying its saved but then there is nothing when I go back into the host, based on that it looks like it is not monitoring the service at all.

Cheers

Chris

Debian
Cacti 0.8.7g
Plugin Arch 2.9
Manage 0.6.2
Thold 0.4.2
Cacti - V0.8.7g
Plugin Arch - 2.9
Aggregate - 0.75
SuperLinks - 0.8
WeatherMap - 0.97a

computer_guru
Cacti User
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 6:52 pm

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#908 Post by computer_guru » Fri Mar 02, 2012 12:59 pm

I have a problem where everytime I select a TCP template for a host and click save, the tcp template drop down is undefined again. In other words, I cannot select a TCP template for a host.

version 0.6.2

i tried searching the forums for an answer, but no good results were returned.


this is the error from the cacti log:
CMDPHP: Poller[0] ERROR: SQL Cell Failed!, Error:'1064', SQL:"SELECT count(id) FROM data_local where data_template_id = AND snmp_index = 445 AND host_id =22"

any ideas?

computer_guru
Cacti User
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 6:52 pm

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#909 Post by computer_guru » Fri Mar 02, 2012 5:35 pm

so my cacti.log error was because I forgot to install the TCP template, but the behavior is still the same. When I select a Manage template and hit save it reverts to the default blank value with none of the drop down items selected.

cksrealm
Cacti User
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 5:45 pm
Location: Sydney,Australia
Contact:

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#910 Post by cksrealm » Fri Mar 02, 2012 11:36 pm

I get the exact same issue myself, anyone know the solution?
Cacti - V0.8.7g
Plugin Arch - 2.9
Aggregate - 0.75
SuperLinks - 0.8
WeatherMap - 0.97a

undeaddemon
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 2:07 am
Location: Philadelphia Area

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#911 Post by undeaddemon » Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:33 pm

4erka wrote:Dear Gilles. Thanks for great pluging. I'm running Cacti 0.8.7h and experiencing issues with Windows Services templates and this doesnt allow use all features of your plugin. Please see page #10 of this thread for more details - http://forums.cacti.net/viewtopic.php?f ... 99#p222299 . TheWitness recommended contact you and see if its possible to make changes in the pluging to use HMIB to get services information so we get fully functional pluging in 0.8.7h Cacti version.
Thank you for your efforts and time.
I am on 8.7h -> planning to goto 8.7i to get the calendar-time-search fixed - Does anyone know if this issue exists in 8.7i??

Thanks,
JD
| cacti 0.8.7h | PIA 3.0 | RRDTool 1.4.x |
| PHP 5.3.3 | mysql Ver 14.14 Distrib 5.1.52 |
| NET-SNMP 5.5 | RedHat el6 | Apache/2.2.15 |

computer_guru
Cacti User
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 6:52 pm

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#912 Post by computer_guru » Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:55 pm

manage version 0.6.2

I always appreciate the time and effort someone spends in creating a Cacti plugin. Thank you!

That being said.......

The code in the manage plugin is pretty messy and could use some improvement. I just changed a line of code to alphabetize the device drop down on the event reporting screen. It was driving me crazy to see it in random order!

Also, TCP monitoring and alerting works well, but not through the Manage plugin. I just use Thold + the TCP template. Works great!

kgulle
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:51 am

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#913 Post by kgulle » Tue Jun 12, 2012 4:49 am

not support CactiEZ version :(

steelli
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 10:17 am

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#914 Post by steelli » Sun Jul 29, 2012 5:29 am

Great!

There is a suggestion of mine for refenrence.

I test your Plugin,found that the poller only via SNMP.

If i delete SNMP configuration from my device,the device will show it is down.

But accutully.my device is pingable and alive.
---
So my suggestion is

is it possible for you that do a changes

1.do ping first to indetify if the swtich is not reachable,and show in Manage it is down or not
2.then do SNMP poll.

You can modify the status
(1)down,(2)Snmp_lost... so on.

That's my kindly opinion,Look forward to good news.

Thanks

hshaik
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 11:52 am

Re: Manage Plugin 0.6.2 for monitoring networks, servers...

#915 Post by hshaik » Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:38 pm

Hello,

I am hoping someone can help me. I have the manage plugin installed on cacti .8a on win2k3 x64 with apache. The problem I have is when I choose 'down and reboot' or 'reboot' from email alerts under manage settings, I keep getting alerts everytime my spine poller runs (5 mins). I have to either choose down event or none for it to stop.

Post Reply