zond plug-in v0.34c released

General discussion about Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
User avatar
johnrembo
Cacti User
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:33 am

Re: zond plug-in v0.34b released

#76 Post by johnrembo » Mon Mar 03, 2008 6:25 am

aleu wrote: johnrembo, what are the specific settings of the snmp daemon on Debian that need to be changed for this plugin to work correctly on Debian distribution? Is it even possible?
I do not have to say that I would really love it to work on my platform, but I am getting graphs as the 3rd one described by you.
here it is:

Code: Select all

snmpset -v 2c -c readwrite 127.0.0.1 NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.34 = 0
this will disable data caching and can kick down you performance greatly ;)

there are plenty of other cache settings (dominating 60 secs) - haven't tired them yet:

Code: Select all

# snmpwalk -v 2c -c readwrite 127.0.0.1 1.3.6.1.4.1.8072.1|grep ache
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsModuleName."".10.1.3.6.1.4.1.8072.1.5.1.127 = STRING: nsCacheTimeout
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsModuleName."".10.1.3.6.1.4.1.8072.1.5.2.127 = STRING: nsCacheEnabled
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsModuleName."".10.1.3.6.1.4.1.8072.1.5.3.127 = STRING: tzCacheTable
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheDefaultTimeout.0 = INTEGER: 5
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheEnabled.0 = INTEGER: false(2)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2 = INTEGER: 15
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.4 = INTEGER: 5
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.24.4 = INTEGER: 60
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.24.7 = INTEGER: 60
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.31.1 = INTEGER: 60
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.34 = INTEGER: 0
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.35 = INTEGER: 60
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.5 = INTEGER: 5
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.6 = INTEGER: 5
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.6.13 = INTEGER: 5
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.6.19 = INTEGER: 60
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.6.20 = INTEGER: 60
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.7 = INTEGER: 5
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.7.5 = INTEGER: 5
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.7.7 = INTEGER: 60
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2 = INTEGER: cached(4)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.4 = INTEGER: expired(5)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.24.4 = INTEGER: expired(5)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.24.7 = INTEGER: expired(5)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.31.1 = INTEGER: cached(4)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.34 = INTEGER: expired(5)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.35 = INTEGER: expired(5)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.5 = INTEGER: expired(5)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.6 = INTEGER: expired(5)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.6.13 = INTEGER: expired(5)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.6.19 = INTEGER: expired(5)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.6.20 = INTEGER: expired(5)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.7 = INTEGER: empty(3)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.7.5 = INTEGER: empty(3)
NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheStatus.1.3.6.1.2.1.7.7 = INTEGER: empty(3)

aleu
Cacti User
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:17 am

Re: zond plug-in v0.34b released

#77 Post by aleu » Mon Mar 03, 2008 8:48 pm

johnrembo wrote:

Code: Select all

snmpset -v 2c -c readwrite 127.0.0.1 NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.34 = 0
this will disable data caching and can kick down you performance greatly ;)
Hmm, that is not cool. Do you have any estimates of how much perfromance degradation I can expect? (I do not want to monkey with this if the performance impact is huge). Thanks.

User avatar
johnrembo
Cacti User
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:33 am

Re: zond plug-in v0.34b released

#78 Post by johnrembo » Tue Mar 04, 2008 3:07 am

aleu wrote:
johnrembo wrote:

Code: Select all

snmpset -v 2c -c readwrite 127.0.0.1 NET-SNMP-AGENT-MIB::nsCacheTimeout.1.3.6.1.2.1.4.34 = 0
this will disable data caching and can kick down you performance greatly ;)
Hmm, that is not cool. Do you have any estimates of how much performance degradation I can expect? (I do not want to monkey with this if the performance impact is huge). Thanks.
it depends on lots of factors:
  • ¤server type,
    ¤physical/logical interfaces count,
    ¤snmpd usage,
if a linux machine you're monitoring runs just a simple cacti environment and you're monitoring 1 physical interface with zond - you should not notice any performance loss at all.

if a linux machine represents core router with two 10Gbit interfaces and 20K vlans, and you're counting per-vlan traffic walking 1000 oids at once - then snmpd might finish with 99% system load and even "core dumped".

but these are only thoughts from my personal experience. you should ask at net-snmp mailing lists for details, because caching can be enabled/disabled for apropriate mibs(tables), you can as well use 1,10,15 secons instead of 0(disable) etc...

aleu
Cacti User
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:17 am

Re: zond plug-in v0.34b released

#79 Post by aleu » Tue Mar 04, 2008 10:09 pm

johnrembo wrote: it depends on lots of factors:
  • ¤server type,
    ¤physical/logical interfaces count,
    ¤snmpd usage,
if a linux machine you're monitoring runs just a simple cacti environment and you're monitoring 1 physical interface with zond - you should not notice any performance loss at all.

if a linux machine represents core router with two 10Gbit interfaces and 20K vlans, and you're counting per-vlan traffic walking 1000 oids at once - then snmpd might finish with 99% system load and even "core dumped".

but these are only thoughts from my personal experience. you should ask at net-snmp mailing lists for details, because caching can be enabled/disabled for apropriate mibs(tables), you can as well use 1,10,15 secons instead of 0(disable) etc...
Thanks, I will. If I find some more useful information, I will post it on the forum.

AL

User avatar
johnrembo
Cacti User
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:33 am

Re: zond plug-in v0.34b released

#80 Post by johnrembo » Wed Mar 05, 2008 2:23 am

aleu wrote:
johnrembo wrote: it depends on lots of factors:
  • ¤server type,
    ¤physical/logical interfaces count,
    ¤snmpd usage,
if a linux machine you're monitoring runs just a simple cacti environment and you're monitoring 1 physical interface with zond - you should not notice any performance loss at all.

if a linux machine represents core router with two 10Gbit interfaces and 20K vlans, and you're counting per-vlan traffic walking 1000 oids at once - then snmpd might finish with 99% system load and even "core dumped".

but these are only thoughts from my personal experience. you should ask at net-snmp mailing lists for details, because caching can be enabled/disabled for apropriate mibs(tables), you can as well use 1,10,15 secons instead of 0(disable) etc...
Thanks, I will. If I find some more useful information, I will post it on the forum.

AL
K, i'm interested in this to as well as many others I think...

User avatar
TFC
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 722
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 2:17 am
Location: Izmir/Turkey

#81 Post by TFC » Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:45 am

Hi,
I ınstalled Zond my cacti (0.8.7b)
Zond works but i thin something wrong. If you look at the screenshot you see that cacti 5 min. graph inbound traffic 3.8 Mbps and outbound traffic reaches. But zond values very different. Zond inbound traffic only 50 bps and outbound is 1.5 Mbps.
Can anybody tells me difference between zond and cacti graphic. I know zond real time but although zond show realtime i think this difference is huge.
Thnx
Attachments
cacti.jpg
cacti
cacti.jpg (35.24 KiB) Viewed 7012 times
zond.jpg
zond
zond.jpg (42.85 KiB) Viewed 7012 times

User avatar
johnrembo
Cacti User
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:33 am

#82 Post by johnrembo » Thu Mar 27, 2008 10:32 am

TFC wrote:Hi,
(...)
Can anybody tells me difference between zond and cacti graphic. I know zond real time but although zond show realtime i think this difference is huge.
Thnx
are you using some cdefs on current graph template?
try monitoring apropriate oids (you can find them i cacti's snmp poller cache)
with something like STG (snmp traffic grapher) http://leonidvm.chat.ru

I allways use this tool to determine zond problems against cacti problems.

User avatar
TFC
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 722
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 2:17 am
Location: Izmir/Turkey

#83 Post by TFC » Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:42 am

Hi, I check zond by using STG. Same problem occurs. STG shows traffik Megabit/sec levels . But Zond shows bits levels. STG values are rgiht because they cacti values and line's behaviour.
As you see below there is two graphic. Both are run ans observe at the same time .One of them is taken from STG other one is from Zond. I circled inbound and outbound max values. Both graphics's shape are similar. But values are different.
I think some mutiplier or measuring problem exist. Right?
Attachments
1.jpg
ZOND
1.jpg (46.08 KiB) Viewed 6956 times
2.jpg
STG
2.jpg (45.84 KiB) Viewed 6956 times

User avatar
TFC
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 722
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 2:17 am
Location: Izmir/Turkey

#84 Post by TFC » Tue Apr 01, 2008 1:55 am

Any comment about that?

User avatar
johnrembo
Cacti User
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:33 am

#85 Post by johnrembo » Tue Apr 01, 2008 2:33 pm

TFC wrote:Any comment about that?
can you please export graph template being used on that chart and upload it there, so I could check cdef calculation?

User avatar
TFC
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 722
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 2:17 am
Location: Izmir/Turkey

#86 Post by TFC » Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:42 am

Hi,
I use this "turn bytes into bits" as CDEF:
cdef=CURRENT_DATA_SOURCE,8,*
And here is the my graph template (shown picture)
And you can see inbound graph item detail (CURRENT-LAST)
Attachments
graph_template.jpg
Graph Template
graph_template.jpg (65.12 KiB) Viewed 6858 times
data_source.jpg
Graph Template Item (Current)
data_source.jpg (59.13 KiB) Viewed 6858 times

User avatar
johnrembo
Cacti User
Posts: 216
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 3:33 am

#87 Post by johnrembo » Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:59 am

TFC wrote:Hi,
I use this "turn bytes into bits" as CDEF:
cdef=CURRENT_DATA_SOURCE,8,*
And here is the my graph template (shown picture)
And you can see inbound graph item detail (CURRENT-LAST)
it would be better if you could export templates using "Console->Export Templates", because i'll have to perform deep debugging on this template.

you can upload it here or send within private message to me.

thanx

User avatar
TFC
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 722
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 2:17 am
Location: Izmir/Turkey

#88 Post by TFC » Thu Apr 03, 2008 4:25 am

Here is the template
Attachments
cacti_graph_template_interface_-_traffic_bitssec.xml
(22.17 KiB) Downloaded 275 times

claytonius
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:43 pm

Blank Zond windows

#89 Post by claytonius » Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:43 am

Regardless if I use IE or Firefox, I'm getting blank windows when I try to use the Zond button in my graphs. I've gone through the posts on this forum, and I've gone through the debugging found on the netzond site. When i run the debugging session, I get the following output. It looks to me like I'm getting a valid return:

sullivan:/usr/local/cacti-0.8.7/plugins/zond # php zond_process.php 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
24434.56
33930.32

I saw other posts where users were getting non-numeric results back, but I don't see any error here.

When I run the Java Console however, I see the following:

Java Plug-in 1.6.0_05
Using JRE version 1.6.0_05 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM
User home directory = C:\Documents and Settings\chawks.WESTBROOK
----------------------------------------------------
c: clear console window
f: finalize objects on finalization queue
g: garbage collect
h: display this help message
l: dump classloader list
m: print memory usage
o: trigger logging
p: reload proxy configuration
q: hide console
r: reload policy configuration
s: dump system and deployment properties
t: dump thread list
v: dump thread stack
x: clear classloader cache
0-5: set trace level to <n>
----------------------------------------------------
netZOND charting applet v 1.04
© www.netzond.com


netZOND comes as free java-applet for personal use. It also comes free for
personal and commercial use if being used as part of Cati ZOND plug-in. Otherwise,
please see www.netzond.com/licencing or contact [email protected] for pricing.

java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "<table width="100%" align="center">"
Script [http://net-graphs/cacti/plugins/zond/zo ... E6ImMiO319] returned incorrect data values count! (0 instead of 2 records)
java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "<table width="100%" align="center">"
Script [http://net-graphs/cacti/plugins/zond/zo ... E6ImMiO319] returned incorrect data values count! (0 instead of 2 records)
java.lang.NumberFormatException: For input string: "<table width="100%" align="center">"
Script [http://net-graphs/cacti/plugins/zond/zo ... E6ImMiO319] returned incorrect data values count! (0 instead of 2 records)


Any ideas out there?

User avatar
TFC
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 722
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2003 2:17 am
Location: Izmir/Turkey

#90 Post by TFC » Tue Apr 29, 2008 9:44 am

TFC wrote:Here is the template
any comment?

Post Reply