Cacti (home)ForumsDocumentation
Cacti: offical forums and support
It is currently Fri Jul 19, 2019 4:30 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.
PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:58 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:41 pm
Posts: 125
hey guys,

at the moment, I have two cacti systems. One system is cacti 0.8.8f, the other system is cacti 1.1.17.

I have cycle installed on both systems.

but there is a huge difference in the view.

The first pictures shows cycle on cacti 1.1.7. The setting is 150x500 and the windows and legends are very small and hard to read.

The second picture shows cycle on cacti 0.8.8f. Everything is fine here. The setting is 150x500 and the windows and legends are big and good to read.

The third picture shows cycle on 1.1.17. The setting is 300x700, and the graphs are as big as in 0.8.8f 150x500. But they are still very unclear and fuzzy.

I hope you can see that.

I'm also missing the possibility to choose a tree. It's there in 0.8.8f, but not in 1.1.17

Can someone help me?


Attachments:
cycle2.JPG
cycle2.JPG [ 81.86 KiB | Viewed 970 times ]
cycle1.JPG
cycle1.JPG [ 114.14 KiB | Viewed 971 times ]
cycle0.JPG
cycle0.JPG [ 161.84 KiB | Viewed 971 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:43 am 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am
Posts: 794
Settings > Cycle

_________________
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 4:42 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:41 pm
Posts: 125
oh yeah, thank you!

But what can I do about the fuzzy view?

Respectively why is it so bad in comparison to 0.8.8?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:13 am 
Offline
Cacti Pro User
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am
Posts: 794
I'm not entirely certain.

_________________
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 01, 2017 5:15 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:41 pm
Posts: 125
Does someone use cycle on cacti1 and can tell me his experiences?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 4:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:00 am
Posts: 9
Did you find a solution to the fuzzy graphs?

I have the exact same problem.

I first installed Cycle on 1.1.17 and noticed the fuzzy graphs (which look perfect under Graphs - > Tree View / List View etc)
No matter what size i set the graphs to in cycle they look awful.

I've since upgraded to 1.1.19 (using EPEL7 repo) and the graphs still look really bad.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:03 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Posts: 2710
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Sure, it's a design issue where the developer assumes that setting the Image width/height of the rrd image correlates with the actual size of the image returned. But setting the height/width for the rrd is actually just setting the graph area. So the image is then squezed into the defined width, effectively bluring it due to the downsizing ...

So edit cycle_ajax.php and remove the style statement from line 125:

Original:
Code:
. "<img style='width:" . $width . "px;height:" . $height . "px' "
New:
Code:
. "<img "



You can check this behaviour by using your posted images as well. The complete graph for the 1.1.17 cycle should exactly fit into just the graph area of the 0.8.8 cycle. See the attached file as confirmation

-- I've created a pull request for that change : https://github.com/Cacti/plugin_cycle/pull/5


Attachments:
cycle1_check.JPG
cycle1_check.JPG [ 115.81 KiB | Viewed 863 times ]

_________________
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code:
CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:00 am
Posts: 9
phalek wrote:
Sure, it's a design issue where the developer assumes that setting the Image width/height of the rrd image correlates with the actual size of the image returned. But setting the height/width for the rrd is actually just setting the graph area. So the image is then squezed into the defined width, effectively bluring it due to the downsizing ...

So edit cycle_ajax.php and remove the style statement from line 125:

Original:
Code:
. "<img style='width:" . $width . "px;height:" . $height . "px' "
New:
Code:
. "<img "



You can check this behaviour by using your posted images as well. The complete graph for the 1.1.17 cycle should exactly fit into just the graph area of the 0.8.8 cycle. See the attached file as confirmation

-- I've created a pull request for that change : https://github.com/Cacti/plugin_cycle/pull/5



Thanks Phalek, that worked a treat, much more pleasing to the eye and much easier to read.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:44 am 
Offline
Cacti Guru User
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Posts: 2710
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Now keep in mind that when you show the legend, the graphs are not common in size as the height varies by graph then.

I fixed that Legend issue as well ( Issue #3 in github: https://github.com/Cacti/plugin_cycle/issues/3 )

_________________
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code:
CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:41 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:41 pm
Posts: 125
Hey phalek,

I'm confused.

I finally got an update to cacti version 1.1.25, so I was able to install the newest cycle version.

But I do still have the same problem.

And there isn't a file called cycle_ajax.php

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.
PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:13 am 
Offline
Cacti User

Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:41 pm
Posts: 125
that's what it looks like:


Attachments:
cacti.JPG
cacti.JPG [ 94.2 KiB | Viewed 678 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Protected by Anti-Spam ACP Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group