cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

General discussion about Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
Axel90
Cacti User
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:41 pm

cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

#1 Post by Axel90 » Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:58 am

hey guys,

at the moment, I have two cacti systems. One system is cacti 0.8.8f, the other system is cacti 1.1.17.

I have cycle installed on both systems.

but there is a huge difference in the view.

The first pictures shows cycle on cacti 1.1.7. The setting is 150x500 and the windows and legends are very small and hard to read.

The second picture shows cycle on cacti 0.8.8f. Everything is fine here. The setting is 150x500 and the windows and legends are big and good to read.

The third picture shows cycle on 1.1.17. The setting is 300x700, and the graphs are as big as in 0.8.8f 150x500. But they are still very unclear and fuzzy.

I hope you can see that.

I'm also missing the possibility to choose a tree. It's there in 0.8.8f, but not in 1.1.17

Can someone help me?
Attachments
cycle2.JPG
cycle2.JPG (81.86 KiB) Viewed 1079 times
cycle1.JPG
cycle1.JPG (114.14 KiB) Viewed 1080 times
cycle0.JPG
cycle0.JPG (161.84 KiB) Viewed 1080 times

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 863
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

#2 Post by Osiris » Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:43 am

Settings > Cycle
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

Axel90
Cacti User
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

#3 Post by Axel90 » Tue Aug 29, 2017 4:42 am

oh yeah, thank you!

But what can I do about the fuzzy view?

Respectively why is it so bad in comparison to 0.8.8?

User avatar
Osiris
Cacti Pro User
Posts: 863
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:10 am

Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

#4 Post by Osiris » Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:13 am

I'm not entirely certain.
Before history, there was a paradise, now dust.

Axel90
Cacti User
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

#5 Post by Axel90 » Fri Sep 01, 2017 5:15 am

Does someone use cycle on cacti1 and can tell me his experiences?

BigAl101
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:00 am

Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

#6 Post by BigAl101 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 4:32 am

Did you find a solution to the fuzzy graphs?

I have the exact same problem.

I first installed Cycle on 1.1.17 and noticed the fuzzy graphs (which look perfect under Graphs - > Tree View / List View etc)
No matter what size i set the graphs to in cycle they look awful.

I've since upgraded to 1.1.19 (using EPEL7 repo) and the graphs still look really bad.

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

#7 Post by phalek » Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:03 am

Sure, it's a design issue where the developer assumes that setting the Image width/height of the rrd image correlates with the actual size of the image returned. But setting the height/width for the rrd is actually just setting the graph area. So the image is then squezed into the defined width, effectively bluring it due to the downsizing ...

So edit cycle_ajax.php and remove the style statement from line 125:

Original:

Code: Select all

. "<img style='width:" . $width . "px;height:" . $height . "px' "
New:

Code: Select all

. "<img "

You can check this behaviour by using your posted images as well. The complete graph for the 1.1.17 cycle should exactly fit into just the graph area of the 0.8.8 cycle. See the attached file as confirmation

-- I've created a pull request for that change : https://github.com/Cacti/plugin_cycle/pull/5
Attachments
cycle1_check.JPG
cycle1_check.JPG (115.81 KiB) Viewed 972 times
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

BigAl101
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:00 am

Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

#8 Post by BigAl101 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:31 am

phalek wrote:Sure, it's a design issue where the developer assumes that setting the Image width/height of the rrd image correlates with the actual size of the image returned. But setting the height/width for the rrd is actually just setting the graph area. So the image is then squezed into the defined width, effectively bluring it due to the downsizing ...

So edit cycle_ajax.php and remove the style statement from line 125:

Original:

Code: Select all

. "<img style='width:" . $width . "px;height:" . $height . "px' "
New:

Code: Select all

. "<img "

You can check this behaviour by using your posted images as well. The complete graph for the 1.1.17 cycle should exactly fit into just the graph area of the 0.8.8 cycle. See the attached file as confirmation

-- I've created a pull request for that change : https://github.com/Cacti/plugin_cycle/pull/5

Thanks Phalek, that worked a treat, much more pleasing to the eye and much easier to read.

User avatar
phalek
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2711
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 6:39 am
Location: Kressbronn, Germany
Contact:

Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

#9 Post by phalek » Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:44 am

Now keep in mind that when you show the legend, the graphs are not common in size as the height varies by graph then.

I fixed that Legend issue as well ( Issue #3 in github: https://github.com/Cacti/plugin_cycle/issues/3 )
Greetings,
Phalek
---
Need more help ? Read the Cacti documentation or my new Cacti 1.x Book
Need on-site support ? Look here Cacti Workshop
Need professional Cacti support ? Look here CereusService
---
Plugins : CereusTransporter | CereusReporting | nmidWebService | nmidSmokeping | nmidWeb2 |

Code: Select all

CereusServer Master:  SYSTEM STATS: Time:2.5621 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:16 Hosts:446 HostsPerProcess:446 DataSources:14683 RRDsProcessed:7573
CereusServer Agent:   SYSTEM STATS: Time:27.4840 Method:spine Processes:1 Threads:8 Hosts:16 HostsPerProcess:16 DataSources:114576 RRDsProcessed:48061
[/size]

Axel90
Cacti User
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

#10 Post by Axel90 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 4:41 am

Hey phalek,

I'm confused.

I finally got an update to cacti version 1.1.25, so I was able to install the newest cycle version.

But I do still have the same problem.

And there isn't a file called cycle_ajax.php

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you!

Axel90
Cacti User
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:41 pm

Re: cycle on cacti 1.1.17 bad resolution.

#11 Post by Axel90 » Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:13 am

that's what it looks like:
Attachments
cacti.JPG
cacti.JPG (94.2 KiB) Viewed 787 times

Post Reply