Adding GPS maps plugin to Cacti

General discussion about Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
gswiney
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:11 pm

Adding GPS maps plugin to Cacti

#1 Post by gswiney » Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:10 pm

Is there a way to make the GPS plugin compatible with Cacti 1.1.21?

I downloaded the plugin from https://github.com/wixiweb/cacti-gpsmaps

Rno
Cacti User
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:19 am

Re: Adding GPS maps plugin to Cacti

#2 Post by Rno » Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:40 am

CentOS
Production
Cacti 0.8.8h
Spine 0.8.8h
PIA 3.1
Aggregate 0.75
Monitor 1.3
Settings 0.71
Weathermap 0.98
Thold 0.5
rrdclean 0.41

Own plugin: LinkDiscovery 0.45, Map 0.37

Test
Cacti 1.2.6
Spine 1.2.6
thold 1.0.6
monitor 2.3.5
php 7.2.11
mariadb 5.5.56
Own plugin:
ExtendDB 1.1.2
LinkDiscovery 1.2.6
Map 1.2.6

gswiney
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:11 pm

Re: Adding GPS maps plugin to Cacti

#3 Post by gswiney » Sun Dec 10, 2017 4:07 pm

Thanks for the reply. Your plugin does not give me the incompatible plugin error, but it does not let me install it either. I renamed the plugin directory gpsmaps. Should I be using something else?

Rno
Cacti User
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:19 am

Re: Adding GPS maps plugin to Cacti

#4 Post by Rno » Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:00 am

thew directory should renamed
map

that's all
CentOS
Production
Cacti 0.8.8h
Spine 0.8.8h
PIA 3.1
Aggregate 0.75
Monitor 1.3
Settings 0.71
Weathermap 0.98
Thold 0.5
rrdclean 0.41

Own plugin: LinkDiscovery 0.45, Map 0.37

Test
Cacti 1.2.6
Spine 1.2.6
thold 1.0.6
monitor 2.3.5
php 7.2.11
mariadb 5.5.56
Own plugin:
ExtendDB 1.1.2
LinkDiscovery 1.2.6
Map 1.2.6

gswiney
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 8:11 pm

Re: Adding GPS maps plugin to Cacti

#5 Post by gswiney » Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:22 am

Thanks. That enabled the plugin to be installed. I created a site with the address, latitude, and longitude information. I associated a device with the site. If I put in the Ip address in the Mps plugin nothing populates. Is there a specific place the plugin is looking for the address information?

Rno
Cacti User
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:19 am

Re: Adding GPS maps plugin to Cacti

#6 Post by Rno » Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:05 am

The plugin take the information on the cacti database, from the device and on the site, then it do a query to google map to have the coordinate, then to build the map.
You don't have to put anything in the MAP display, it's a option to display only some device, and the field is the hostname.

Do not forget to add a Map center (number,street,city,country) on the misc field. Ho by the way the openstreet map is not working right now

If you have nothing on the mpa, enable the debug process on the settings-misc and send it to me.
Also on the MAP display, right clik on the page and send me the source of that page. in PM, not on this thread
CentOS
Production
Cacti 0.8.8h
Spine 0.8.8h
PIA 3.1
Aggregate 0.75
Monitor 1.3
Settings 0.71
Weathermap 0.98
Thold 0.5
rrdclean 0.41

Own plugin: LinkDiscovery 0.45, Map 0.37

Test
Cacti 1.2.6
Spine 1.2.6
thold 1.0.6
monitor 2.3.5
php 7.2.11
mariadb 5.5.56
Own plugin:
ExtendDB 1.1.2
LinkDiscovery 1.2.6
Map 1.2.6

Post Reply