Routerconfigs Plugin HP Support

General discussion about Plugins for Cacti

Moderators: Moderators, Developers

Post Reply
Author
Message
serverprotect
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:08 am

Routerconfigs Plugin HP Support

#1 Post by serverprotect » Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:18 am

What would it take to get Router Config Backups to work for HP Switches ?

I am using Cacti Version 1.1.38 and Routerconfigs plugin development version

I can take backup cisco devices but cant take HP switches.

I added the table

mysql> insert into plugin_routerconfigs_devicetypes (id, name, username, password, copytftp, version, confirm, forceconfirm) values ('', 'HP', 'sername', 'assword', 'copy running-config tftp x.x.x.x', 'sh ver', '', '');

what I need addition ?

Thanks,

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2795
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Routerconfigs Plugin HP Support

#2 Post by netniV » Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:42 am

Can you provide a full listing of prompts/commands that need to be entered to perform the copy? (obviously hide any credentials).

Different HP switches require different things as they are not all equal. Some come from the Aruba, some H3C, etc and depending on the model, getting SSH or Telnet access can be restricted to.

serverprotect
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:08 am

Re: Routerconfigs Plugin HP Support

#3 Post by serverprotect » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:24 am

which command you mean? I want to backup hp procurve switches from routerconfigs plugin. I dont understand excacly. which information you need?

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2795
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Routerconfigs Plugin HP Support

#4 Post by netniV » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:33 am

The commands that you would have to manually do on the switch.

serverprotect
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2018 2:08 am

Re: Routerconfigs Plugin HP Support

#5 Post by serverprotect » Thu Dec 06, 2018 8:39 am

telnet x.x.x.x
username:
password:
copy running-config tftp x.x.x.x

netniV
Cacti Guru User
Posts: 2795
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:05 am

Re: Routerconfigs Plugin HP Support

#6 Post by netniV » Fri Dec 07, 2018 5:18 am

Those look like Cisco commands, are you sure they work the same on the HP? If so, can you run the backup with detailed debugging enabled so that we can see what the script sees?

Post Reply